We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“part of the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Luxor
1 review
“part of the family”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

As long standing guests of The Sonesta we would like to express our appreciation of the excellent service we have received over the many years we have been staying here.
We cannot speak to highly of the friendliness and support we have received from all the staff, nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure we are having a trouble free holiday.
The food and cleanliness is second to none first class.
Thankyou to everyone involved in the running of this wonderful Hotel, we hope we will enjoy many more years of their hospitality we feel like part of the family.

Kind Regards Joan & Vic

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieandNasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
DebbieandNasser

Thank you for this great review , it is always a pleasure finding repeated guests like you writing such great words about us , we hope we can always be at your expectations . We will be very happy if we host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    441
    137
    55
    26
See reviews for
319
662
98
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband came to attend a conference and we came along to have some fun and relax. The hotel is quite relaxing over viewing the river nile. Boat rides and taxis are available at the hotel. Rooms are good and clean. Food is good not great but good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Neveen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Neveen76

Thank you for your review , we are happy you had the chance to visit our hotel with your husband and we hope we can see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KNOKKE
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I'm writing this review from my room at the Sonesta St George Luxor. Considering the state of tourism in general in this part of Egypt I can only congratulate the staff of this hotel. There are moments in which there are at moments 30 guests at the hotel. They are plying threefold if necessary to give their guests the holiday experience they expect. Catering is still fabulous. At moments with a low occupancy perhaps not as lush as we were used too, but whoever claims that breakfast is below standards at the Sonesta is used to have lobster and caviar at home for breakfast. You have always people whose holiday experience it is to moan about everything. There is a couple in this hotel that moans because the toast is underdone or overdone. They moan because they can’t set their own tea the way they want it. Etc etc. Professional ‘Statler and Waldorfs’. During my stay so far I have experienced the low and the reasonable occupancy, so I could easily compare between breakfast at Beban and in the main restaurant. And there isn’t any.
Housekeeping is wonderful. The rooms are spotless if they leave them. So is the food and beverage department. People at the reception are eager to help whatever way they can. Maintenance is fast whenever needed. But, indeed, their weakest spot is the Wi-Fi. But that is not entirely their fault. This is an outsourced service provided by Ibahn. Perhaps management should put those guys under pressure to upgrade their service and network.
But everybody around is anticipating better times with the new president and they hope that the situation is going to become stable soon and that tourists are going to return to Luxor the way they did to the Red Sea resorts. I can only hope with them as to that the Sonesta can return to its true glory as all regular guests know it.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms giving to the front of the hotel. Pay the supplement for the frontal Nile view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RUFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have just returned from 3 weeks in Egypt 10 days of which we stayed at The Sonesta. Our last visit prior to thies one was February last year and we were really looking forward to 'coming home' as they say and seeing the friends that we made. When we stepped out of our car we were met by taxi drivers, shop keepers and Kaleesh drivers that we had met last year with a welcome back. Stepping in to the hotel was a different story. Although we had stayed there on several occasions nothing was mentioned by the surly very unfriendly male check in staff who seemd to just want to speak to my Husband as if I was uninportant, last year we were greeted with 'welcome Home' by lovely staff, given a welcome drink and escotred to our beautifully presented room by a lovely girl) We filled in forms etc and was left to find our own way to room, which was not a problem at all as we knew the hotel it was just the differnce from last year.

THe housekeeping staff are fantastic, rooms are always immaculate and the man we had was lovely. Yousef at the pool again is lovely, remembered us from previous visits and works very hard. Several members of staff let the hotel down by nothing short of Begging!! At breakfast we tipped one waiter within seconds we had another 3 hanging around who although they had not served us we felt obigated to tip just so they would go and let us have our breakfast in peace. The same scenario at the pool, (but I must stress NOT Yousef) with staff asking if we were leaving presents, after already being given items we had brought from home and money. This really let the hotel down and for the last 2 days we didn't go to breakfast or the pool area to avoid this hassle. We went to Arkwrights and bought sandwiches etc for lunch and ate them at the Corniche. The same at nights we went to the Lantern across the road from the hotel which serves beautiful home cooked food with great prices and NO hassle, infact the owner footed the bill for our Dinner and drinks on our last night. W e are going back to Egypt in February next year but will be staying somewhere else, such as The Nile Palace. Sonesta we used to love comeing home, but not this time

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shona&terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Although we had only one night at this hotel but the service was excellent, the rooms are Nile view, clean and comfortable beds. the breakfast was very good too, We received a good service at Sonesta luxor !!! thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear henry m

Thank you for your nice review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay and had a good time at our hotel , we hope to see you soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Suffering from tourist decline. Only stayed one night in transit, but it seemed a bit shabby, disappointing breakfast. Nothing special! Free wifi only in lobby (but not always working). Make sure you ask for a room away from the main road.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Jeremy T

Thank you for your review , we are sorry you did not like the breakfast at our hotel , we do not usually get a complain from our breakfast , I appreciate if you can give us more details about your disappointment from the breakfast so we can investigate it . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just back from the Sonesta St George and all I can say is considering the problems that have been in Egypt recently you wouldn't know it from inside the hotel. Everything was as usual. Clean comfortable beds, beautifully immaculate rooms which were serviced twice a day to the ever attentive staff who could not do enough for you to make your stay even more enjoyable. Yes there is hassle outside but the message is slowly getting through to them that if you just ask and the tourist says no then maybe it's a good thing not to keep on and the customer may return later to go on the Kalesh, Faluka or whatever they are trying to sell. It would not be Egypt without a bit of Hassle. See you soon Sonesta xx

Room Tip: Try to get a side nile view room as the view over the Nile to the Valley of the Kings is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tinabbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
887 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing