We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistently lovely place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“consistently lovely place to be”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

have stayed at this hotel for many years and the staff always make you welcome and nothing is too much trouble.The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious.The restaurants offer a fabulous variety of cuisine,the Japanese being my favorite for the quality and beautiful way it is served and if you go before 7pm there is 30% of your total bill.
I can highly recommend a visit to the lovely Sonesta you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: rooms on the water plant side can be very noisy late in the evening due to the workers shouting at e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eila t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    432
    135
    55
    25
See reviews for
312
655
96
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

It is never easy to find a clean, well maintained, and good service in this part of Egypt. However Sonesta gives all that. More importantly the guys working there are very friendly and helpful as well, and more importantly they are not sticky. I do recommend this hotel for your stay at Luxor for what ever reason it happened you have been there for

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelalzayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have been staying at the Sonesta every year since 2006 and the fact that I keep going back must speak volumes. The rooms and surrounds are maintained in excellent conditions and the staff are delightful, friendly and always ready to enjoy a chat and a laugh. It,s position is central to the temples, shops and other hotels and restaurants which I like to use not least the incredible Arkrights (open all hours)

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Nile on the third floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying at the hotel again and would like to point out the staff cannot do enough to make your stay more enjoyable. Great service by the pool and the reception staff are first class-nothing a problem and most obliging. Would highly recommend upgrading to Nile front room- a view that cannot be repeated! Will be back again and again and again! Please ignore the press reporting of the troubles in Egypt- they are greatly exaggerated- it's a wonderful country with great people-visit!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my first visit to Luxor to see the sights and we stopped here for lunch. Beautiful hotel, very clean everywhere, lovely lunch and very central. I was very surprised though to see that the place seemed very empty. Considering it was Easter the poolside (picture attached) was empty, and outside on the main strip, dozens upon dozens of tourist horse and carriage's sat un-used, and I never see a single boat travelling up the Nile, they were all tied up and moored and again un-used. In fact although a busy street I see only 2 tourists pass by. It seemed Luxor is no longer favourable. However As I say it was my first visit, and I have nothing to measure it against.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oh-But-Is-It
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Sonesta is in a good position on the banks of the Nile but within a few minutes walk from the corniche and the centre of Luxor. The bedrooms are fabulous, especially the bedding which is beautiful Egyptian cotton and two singles with a mattress topper made into a double bed. Bliss. The breakfast was good with the usual egg chef, hot selection and lovely pastries. The only area which could be better is the pool area which although large with plenty of sunbeds - could do with more fixed shade. When the wind was strong the umbrellas were blowing over and it was too hot to sit out. We have stayed in lots of Luxor hotels but the staff at the Sonesta are the best, always giving good service. The wifi was expensive at £10 for 2 days but there are plenty of bars in Luxor with free wifi. Kettles were $35 a week to rent so take a travel kettle.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the Nile, ours was a corner room and the views were spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinky049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

our second time at this hotel will certainly be going back .can.t fault it at all all the staff are incredably helpful. the hotel is spotless bedding changed every day. breakfasts with plenty of choice, we even managed to get the same room which is right on the front corner north side odd numbers. one point of concern not so much the hotel but rep on arriving at the airport you need to obtain a visa the T.C.reps direct passengers to their visa counter and tell them to pay on the bus fifteen dollar visas are ten english pounds but on the bus youre asked for thirteen english pounds so get your visas at any of the other counters.

Room Tip: we prefer north side near the front any with a low odd numberi.e 305or 407 the first number is the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing