We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was there with my wife and my son . I found this hotel a very good hotel to stay at. Family rooms were comfortable and clean Italian restaurant in the hotel was excellent. The food was wonderful and so was the service. If you do not want to eat at the hotel there was a lot of restaurants and cafes nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
There are newer reviews for Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first time visit to Luxor and therefore to the Sonesta St George and we had no idea what to expect. On arrival we were delighted by the beautiful foyer and from the onset the friendly, helpful nature of the staff. And things just got better ... we had upgraded to a "Nile view room" (well worth the extra) and our room was wonderful - first class service with three housekeeping visits daily to ensure everything was tip top. During our stay we used all the restaurants where the quality of the food and service was again first rate, and we also enjoyed drinks in the cosy Nobles Bar.Pool service and snack bar service were also friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. All the staff throughout the hotel greet guests with smiles, making customer service the joy it should be. If you're thinking of going to Luxor make this hotel your destination, we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: If possible negotiate a Nile View room - there is nothing quite like waking up to a view of the Vall...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viv752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our 5th/6th time at Sonesta and the hotel never changes friendly staff who could not do enough for you could not pick one out to complement from the doorman, bellboys,room cleaners, breakfast staff and pool staff right up to the management, It was my wife's birthday and they even delivered a cake for her to the room, Our room was on the 4th floor but on the north side odd numbers not much sun but great view of Nile and over to west bank hoping to ask for a room on south side even numbers next time we return later this year, Beds changed every day towels morning and night,

My only complaint was the internet/ Wifi, I was emailed by the hotel and told it was £10 per day so did not take my laptop then found out you could buy it by the hour, day, I bought 1 day got 1 free but it has to be used in the 48hrs from logon which i explained to one duty manager take out sleep time, meal time only left about 20hrs but paid for 48 as abfree says even basic hotels and restaurants around the hotel have it for free i don't mind paying but £10 is expensive.
.
We met some very intersting and nice people that were staying at the Sonesta this year and look foward to seeing then again at the Sonesta.

We used an excellent taxi driver called Moustafa, safetaxiluxor his prices are on the back of his card very reasonable he never over charged us on any trip or asked for a tip but we did tip him on my wife's Birthday he even arrived at the hotel with a large birthday cake for her.He even took three of us back to airport for 45 Egyptian Pounds £4.50.




.



There are good restaurants in the hotel and plenty within 5 min walk from hotel,Our favorite is the friendly restaurant Snobs but many more,Puddle Ducks, Jewel of the Nile, lantern and others to try for your self.

As i have already said you cannot fault the Sonesta hotel looked round at three other hotel when we were staying this holiday
but none of the would make me stay at them Sonesta is in the best position for being in the middle of thing.

Jusy a pity holiday makers are staying away from Luxor it is safe and friendly place to walk day or night i felt safer in Luxor than in places in England so if you want a good holiday i can recommend Luxor and the Sonesta hotel,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

just returned from the red sea magic cruise with thomsons during our cruise we had an overnight stay in luxor and stayed at the hotel st george we thought it was beauutiful the decor was loverly the food excellant and the pool area huge only downside which was no fault of the hotel the cashpoint in the hotel short changed us and gave us 200 egyptian pounds less than we requested the manager was sceptical but with he help of our local guide we got them to check the cash in the machine and we were proved right h avent got the money back have to contact our bank to claim it for us but we enjoyed our short stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benidorm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel, location, facilities and staff are amazing! We have just returned home from another great two weeks. We celebrated our Silver anniversary there this time and were made to feel special. We would recommend the Sonesta to all.

Room Tip: Try to get a odd number room as these have views of the Nile!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseclive560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Just got home from one week at this fantastic hotel. Everything is beautiful, excellent location and stunning views of the Nile and Valley of the Kings. You would have to try hard to wake up to a better view in the morning anywhere in the entire world. Staff are excellent, rooms/restaurants/ pool are spotless. Food amazing especially the Japanese restaurant which we put off visiting as didn't think it was our sort of thing. Ended up wishing we had gone at start of week so we could have visited a few times. Luxor is a wonderful, romantic place and it is such a shame tourists are staying away at the minute because of political issues in Cairo which is nowhere near to Luxor. You also hear of the continual pestering in the streets outside the hotels which yes can be a bit of a pain but the people are lovely and if you just refuse what they want to sell they will just say " maybe tomorrow" Life is terribly hard for them at the minute so you can't really blame them for trying.
To the right of the Sonesta have a look for Mr Fish taxis they will take you anywhere and either wait or come back for you. Wael and his brothers are friendly and accommodating. Don't pay the prices the tour operators charge for trips go with Mr Fish.
The only thing we would have to complain about is that we only had one week at this great hotel in this great city and will be counting the hours until we return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anitafurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from another 2 weeks in Luxor andd were so sorry to leave. From the moment we checked in the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Our room on the 5th floor had a beautiful view of The Nile from where we woulld watch the sun set in the evening. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean thanks to all the lovely house keeping staff. The Japenese resteraunt has some of the best food I have ever tasted....do not miss it. The Sonesta should be so proud of all the staff, Waffa, Nagha, Youseff, Gabreil and too mant to mention but all are to be commended. See you next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shona&terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
894 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $35 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing