We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the bank of the Nile River with lovely views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“On the bank of the Nile River with lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in November off our cruise ship. We had an overnight in the port of Safaga, and decided to stay in a hotel in Luxor rather than on the ship.The drive one way is 3 hours from Safaga to Luxor. We had both a buffet breakfast and lunch at the hotel with a great selection of items. We did not go away hungry! We had a view of the Nile from our room and could see the hot air balloons in the morning from our balcony. Both Bedroom and bathroom were a nice size. If you wanted the use of a coffee maker for your room or wifi, there was an additional cost. We thought the location was central with many other hotels in the area. We took a sunset boat ride from the hotel which was beautiful. The pool area looked very nice and tables had been set up below for a dinner function later that evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear snoopy647,

Thank you for nice review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as the food and the service , we hope we can host you again soon at our hotel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    392
    121
    52
    20
See reviews for
272
600
82
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

On the advice of the travel agent it was recommended that I "upgrade" to the 5 Star Sonesta St. George where he would request a Nile View room for me. I thought okay I will treat myself to something special over Christmas (6 days) so I upgraded. Well the hotel was not a 5 Star as far as I was concerned. The room had two single beds which made it very very difficult for me to get any sleep. The Wi-Fi was an additional £30 only because they had a special otherwise it is £10/day and if I wanted a kettle in my room it was an additional $35 U.S. The view was of a car park and residential homes which wasn't at all nice. As for the customer service at the front desk I found them to be somewhat short and dismissive. Perhaps it was a language issue but it put me off so tried not to interact with them if possible. The fitness area isn't much but one could argue you are on holiday. I don't know but perhaps I was in a budget room but my experience was nothing like so many others on Tripadvisor. There wasn't much I enjoyed about my stay and I would feel comfortable recommending the Sonesta St. George to anyone thinking of coming to Luxor. On the advice of the travel agent it was recommended that I "upgrade" to the 5 Star Sonesta St. George where he would request a Nile View room for me. I thought okay I will treat myself to something special over Christmas (6 days) so I upgraded. Well the hotel was not a 5 Star as far as I was concerned. The room had two single beds which made it very very difficult for me to get any sleep. The Wi-Fi £33 was an additional £30 only because they had a special otherwise it is £10/day and if I wanted a kettle in my room it was an additional $35 U.S. The view was of a car park and residential homes which wasn't at all nice. As for the customer service at the front desk I found them to be somewhat short and dismissive. Perhaps it was a language issue but it put me off so tried not to interact with them if possible. The fitness area isn't much but one could argue you are on holiday. I don't know but perhaps I was in a budget room but my experience was nothing like so many others on Tripadvisor. There wasn't much I enjoyed about my stay and I would feel comfortable recommending the Sonesta St. George to anyone thinking of coming to Luxor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roevin43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Roevin43,

Let me wish you first Merry Christmas and happy New Year . As per review you mentioned that you could not sleep because of the single bed , i just wanted to know if you requested to change the room and they did not change it for you? Also for the kettle , the hotel offers free kettle only in Royal Club rooms and it is charged around 5 $ for normal rooms so i guess the 35 $ is for your whole stay . I apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced during your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Only spent one night at this hotel but I loved it and would happily stay longer. Beautiful view over the west bank and sat on the balcony watching the balloons go up at dawn.
Very high tech. ablutions, and took a while to work out how to get a shower without disco lights and use the loo. Sure I would have nailed it with more time.
Only possible very minor fault, the pool was too warm yes, I did say too warm. Not as refreshing as it might have been. I love Luxor and this hotel is a great base from which to explore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maz47-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The location is great, very central. We tried to go for a walk, but so many hawkers were pressing us to buy something, we actually turned back and instead shopped in the hotel for gifts. There is a terrific little shop on the ground level that sells handmade blown glass items, especially lovely and delicate little perfume bottles. The store also has various perfumes in bulk to sample and buy in various quantities, and all this at very reasonable prices. The room was most interesting, appointed in what one assumes is a more local style. Beds were very comfortable but the bathroom stole the show with its automated shower/bathtub and toilet. There is an entire page of instructions on how to use the toilet. There are balconies also; we faced the street and that was interesting just for the sights and sounds. The pool is nice in the spacious back of the hotel with the Nile right there. The food is good but not too memorable. All in all, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Nile at a higher floor, but even the street view is fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartMBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Enjoyed a return visit to the sonesta st George. My friend and i visit Luxor every year to volunteer at the sunshine Orphanage and this was an ideal base. Hotel has a lovely pool area, with only feluccas moored up beside it unlike some hotels who had cruise ships. Service around the pool and breakfast buffet was excellent. the room service also excellent, clean towels twice a day, beds turned down. We had a side nile view, so best of both worlds, nile view to watch the sun rise and set, and a view of the street to watch the world.
All staff friendly and helpful. We will return to this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukgoddesssurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I work in travel and even considered not going back to egypt with all the current unrest. I am so glad we went back and especially to the Sonesta.
The reception staff were so helpful, the restaurant staff so friendly and the pool staff were really attentive.
It was only our second visit to the hotel but we were made to fell like long lost friends.
The room was excellent, breakfast was plentiful, fresh and a huge selection from Japanese, European to British, American and of course Egyptian.
The main hero's of the hotel are the cleaning staff, nothing is to much trouble, constant towels, fresh sheets and turn down service.
Wonderful stay, good central location, good kalesh drivers outside (Adam).
We will be back next year regardless of the politics in Egypt. Luxor seems very safe we went to Dendara, Abydos and went treking on our own over the valley of the queens to the nobles and on to the kings ( long walk but well worth it)
Well done the Staff at the Sonesta you do a fantastic job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsbotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and I cannot praise the staff and facilities enough. The room staff changed the towels twice a day and the room was always spotless and the view across the Nile from our balcony was fantastic. The breakfast staff were always attentive and friendly and we enjoyed our daily breakfast by the pool. The pool staff were always on hand to help with anything we needed, wonderful service! We had a problem with the room phone and I made 3 calls to book my horse riding but could not get connected. The reception staff looked into it and did not charge me for the calls. I love this hotel, everything is professional and luxurious, but the staff are always friendly and helpful. Just perfect - I'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a Nile view - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.9 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#3 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing