We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Return time & time again :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Return time & time again :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

As ever the staff at the Sonesta help make a stay in Luxor super special.
Special thanks to Michael and the pool team, and Nagha for looking after us so well almost every day !
Genuine and approachable general manager made our visit perfect - everyone should stay here at least once.
TY St George team and see you in 2013! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neftut24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    405
    125
    52
    21
See reviews for
285
619
87
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for the first time at The Sonesta arriving on the 14th February for 2 weeks. We stayed in Room 612 and it was perfect in every way. This was an executive room on the 6th floor and was very luxurious. A very comfortable, large bed and lovely furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was quite amazing with toilet/bidet and spa bath etc.. We had a view of the Nile and also the streets which was perfect for us as we enjoyed both views. Sitting on the balcony watching the sun going down was magical.
The staff in the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly and cant do enough for you. Breakfasts are excellent with plenty of choice and we thoroughly enjoyed some excellent omelettes on the terrace in the mornings.
The Pool area is kept immaculately clean and there is plenty of space and more than enough chairs and sunbeds. The pool staff are always at hand to bring towels etc. The pool is slightly heated so its a joy to get in! We had lunch around the pool each day in the perfect November weather.
It is obvious that the hotel is exremely well run and managed.
Our last holiday in Luxor was 7 years ago and we thought the town was quieter this time. What a shame when it has so much to offer. Perfect weather at this time of the year, plenty of tombs and temples to visit and lovely people and very safe. A little sense of humour is needed on the streets when caleche/ taxi/ felucca/ shopping etc is offered to you many times but we met some wonderful local people and had a fabulous holiday. Thank you all at the Sonesta and I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

we have just finnished yet another great stay in the sonesta we just lay back and let everyone look after us its so friendly and cannot do enough for you can;t wait to go back all the staff are great do not let anyone put you off egypt its so safe

Room Tip: all romms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Raymond S:

Thank you for supporting our country with your beautiful words , we are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we will be very happy to host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just back from another enjoyable holiday at the Sonesta. All the Staff go out of their way to make your visit enjoyable,in what is difficult times for them,through lack of tourists. We prefer the waterworks side Nile view rooms,so that we are able to watch the boats on the Nile and enjoy the West Bank at nights,with all the lights.
The icing on the cake was the cocktail party hosted by the Manager on the 9th flooor in the ballroom,with canapes and drinks.. Spectacular views,from the terrace ,of Luxor and and the sun go down over the Nile.. A lovely ending on the last night of our holiday. We look forward to what will be our 6th visit to the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear happyzoe;

We are proud to have you as a regular guest at our hotel , be sure our staff will always be at your service and will do their best to make your stay memorable . We are happy you like the cocktail party hosted by the manager and hope to host you again for the seventh time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having spent our first week on the Ms Terramar cruise it was a great opportunity to relax in the second week in this hotel.Accomodation was very clean with a turn down service at night. The staff provided excellent service and i would advise to 'tip' at the end of your stay. The hotel staff will run shopping errands for you and therefore get a better price. The pool facilities were superb to the point that one never left the pool ! Outside the hotel you are bombarded with egyptians trying to get your attention but we were lucky to find a regular guy called 'Mustafa' with whom we felt very safe. We booked half board which entittled us to eat in the main dining room and therefore the food we found was average but we soon learnt that you could eat in any of the restuarants as they would give a discount,which reflected the cost of the main dining room meal

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the very best but not available through Thomas Cook (despite what they say) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMSNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear HMSNottingham

We are glad you liked the accommodation and that our staff succeeded in making your stay conformable , your reviews and comments always help us to improve our service . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned from a week in Luxor at the Sonesta Hotel a great hotel with comfortable king size beds,good food and friendly staff especially the poolside team of Nagha and Micheal. Also visited the Sheriton Hotel and we were given a guided tour by Mira a lovely girl with a great sense of humour she is at present a trainee but I am sure when she finishes her training she will be a valuable addition to the hotel. Visited Joan's restaurant for good food and drinks in a relaxed atmosphere. Also dined at the `Lantern` with the ever friendly Debbie (try the prawns in batter and the beef curry) Spent most of our evening at the Jewel in the Nile Restaurant with our od friends Laura and Mahmoud this place never changes the food is as good as ever and the drinks free flowing - Laura makes everyone welcome and will accomodate friends and newcomers alike cannot wait for our next visit

Room Tip: Try the even numbered rooms these have the best Nile View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScouseKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear ScouseKev,

Thank you for this lovely review , it seems that Nagha is becoming very popular and really have a good communications skills :) i will pass on your comments to her an to the management team . Hope to host you again soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel has a degree of luxury and elegance which reflects its 5-star rating. The indoor and outdoor hotel space, pool and sunbathing areas are of a high standard.
We had a Standard Room with Side Nile View – good views over the river and west bank, but also less attractive views overlooking disused swimming pool between hotel and nearby Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel. The room was comfortable and clean with good air-conditioning.
Staff offer excellent service in all parts of the hotel. We stayed on a B&B basis and the range of tasty food on offer in the breakfast buffet was of a high standard.
The hotel has an excellent range of facilities including bank, bars and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed meals in Beban (Italian) and Miyako (Japanese) in the hotel. We also went to local restaurants – Taste of India, Snobs and the Lantern all offered good meals at reasonable cost and are within 10 minutes’ walk of hotel.
A number of local shops are within 10 minutes’ walk. We shopped at Arkwright’s for bottled water, snacks and good sandwiches.
The hotel is located over 2 km from town centre, but the 15 minute walk is not a pleasant experience – the combination of busy roads and relentless pestering from traders, taxi-drivers and caleche (horse-drawn carriage) drivers is wearing and invasive. There is no hassle-free walking in Luxor.
One minor negative was the lack of drink-making facilities in our room. A kettle and drinks were available for one week at a fee of 35 US Dollars (22 GB Pounds/ 213 EG Pounds). In a 5-star hotel this is petty-minded sharp practice – no-frills budget hotels in the UK have tea and coffee making facilities free of charge.
On balance we would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Request room with Side Nile View on upper floors. Rooms which face directly on to Nile are better bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#8 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing