We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Nearby Hotels
$54
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$33
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nefertiti Hotel(Luxor)(Great Value!)
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$35
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$44
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$39
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$86
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$127
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,652)
Filter reviews
1,652 results
Traveler rating
922
484
155
63
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
922
484
155
63
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnobles barnile viewpool areapool staffbusiness centeritalian restaurantfree wifi in the lobbywest bankswim up bartwin bedsthe hot air balloonsfive star hotelfantastic hotelmain restaurantbottled wateregyptian poundsevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
665 - 670 of 1,652 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel has a degree of luxury and elegance which reflects its 5-star rating. The indoor and outdoor hotel space, pool and sunbathing areas are of a high standard.
We had a Standard Room with Side Nile View – good views over the river and west bank, but also less attractive views overlooking disused swimming pool between hotel and nearby Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel. The room was comfortable and clean with good air-conditioning.
Staff offer excellent service in all parts of the hotel. We stayed on a B&B basis and the range of tasty food on offer in the breakfast buffet was of a high standard.
The hotel has an excellent range of facilities including bank, bars and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed meals in Beban (Italian) and Miyako (Japanese) in the hotel. We also went to local restaurants – Taste of India, Snobs and the Lantern all offered good meals at reasonable cost and are within 10 minutes’ walk of hotel.
A number of local shops are within 10 minutes’ walk. We shopped at Arkwright’s for bottled water, snacks and good sandwiches.
The hotel is located over 2 km from town centre, but the 15 minute walk is not a pleasant experience – the combination of busy roads and relentless pestering from traders, taxi-drivers and caleche (horse-drawn carriage) drivers is wearing and invasive. There is no hassle-free walking in Luxor.
One minor negative was the lack of drink-making facilities in our room. A kettle and drinks were available for one week at a fee of 35 US Dollars (22 GB Pounds/ 213 EG Pounds). In a 5-star hotel this is petty-minded sharp practice – no-frills budget hotels in the UK have tea and coffee making facilities free of charge.
On balance we would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Request room with Side Nile View on upper floors. Rooms which face directly on to Nile are better but also more expensive.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The extraordinary thing about this beautiful hotel is that even with being right in the centre of the usual hussle and bussle of Egyptian towns, as soon as you walk through into the entrance a wave of peace, luxury and contentment washes over you. So much to say about such a large place so I will be compact! Building and rooms beautiful, clean, wonderfully equipt. Pool was heated to 25 degrees for some strange reason, but the childrens pool offered respite from the 35 degree heat. Poolside food and drinks fabulous, and attendents very aware of moving your shade according to the sun. Views over the Nile looking to the Valley of the Kings spectacular. All food extremely high quality. Downsides, yet again language. No bathrobes in bedroom and had a tough time in getting them requested and unfortunately became frustrated with a less than helpful receptionist. No tea or coffee making facilities in rooms unless you pay $20 and that is for a week. Therefore only staying 2 days to complete a 2 week holiday was annoying - they should be standard (?). I would probably return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

our 3rd visit to the Sonesta. previous visits have been in winter. the weather was hot and the wlcome even warmer from the staff who all remembered us from our previous visits.

we upgraded to get a front nile view looking over to the ountains and valley of the kings... worth the extra.

the staff remain as friendly and courteous and coulnt do enough for us. the best being the pool guys, Nagha at the poor bar/restaurant, Osama in nobles bar and Milad the head waiter in the mikado japenese restaurant. the guy who cleaned our room was always courteous and friendly and would insist on providing us with extra towels as if his life depended on it!

we stayed bed and breakfast in order to make us go of the hotel at night more. there are plenty of small restaurants in the vacinity and all at reasonable prices!

The serapsis restaurant is started to look at little tired and would benefit from updating the decor and furniture... the staff at breakfast were extremely hard working and courteous and friendly. its just a pity that the Egyptian doctors who were staying at the hotel for a seminar were as well mannered as their attitude towards the staff was disgraceful at times.

the buffet breakfast was excellent as always and the chefs always on hand to cook and ommelette, boil or paoch and egg to your individual taste.

the hotel is situated not too far away from the centre of luxor (a 20 minute stroll).. yes the locals are pushy but they too are struggling with the recession and lack of tourists from all over the world!

there was limited entertainment during our stay.. a couple of egyptian dancing evenings outside on the pontoon.... the hotel would benefit from more entainment within nobles bar .... howver, the bar man osama (numpitty) was always friendly and always remembered what we drank!

we are due back for 2 weeks end of november/december and hopefully all the staff will still be there!

we'd recommend the hotel to old and young and families and couples looking for a little adventure and a look back in history with the added luxury of good accommodation and food with friendly and courteous staff!

mary and michael (LANCASHIRE)

Room Tip: Ask at reception for an upgrade to look over the nile and wake up to watch the hot air balloons fly over the west bank at dawn and listen to classical music and sip cocktails as the sun sets over the valley of th ekings!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I got this holiday at a really good price. I travel with my mum who has mobility problems so we opted for this hotel and were not disappointed!
The hotel is magnificent, really impressive entrance, lobbies even the lifts are gorgeous which is saying something!
The rooms are large clean and fairly modern although the balcony was disappointing, we had a side view but it looked on to the main road which is great for people watching, you will see almost everything and lots of wedding parties all good fun.
\the location of this hotel is great, across the Nile from the valley of the queens. There are some great shops across from the hotel, one of which belongs to a man called Adele, he sells everything and anything and is really well priced all in a great friendly atmosphere.
there's also a jeweller across the road, calls himself Jack, cracking buys and great guy!!!!
The staff are really nice, the food to die for and the room service is great value for money.
If you go spend the extra cash and go to this hotel. We went in mid December and it cost in region of £250 from Manchester!

Room Tip: The extra cash it costs for a Nile view isn't worth it, there loads happens on the street
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lellieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Lellieanne

Thank you for your nice review, we are happy you liked our hotel as well as the food , we hope to host you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel was the best hotel I have ever stayed in all the staff could not do enough for you what every your wont you got food was a good lots of it the hotel was right in the middle of Luxor I would have liked to had tea and coffee free not to pay for it I went to the gym a few times and needed help with one machine but didnot no how to use it and the staff could not help me we had a massage and that was first class and felt good after it thanks to you all for making our hoilday a good one

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71,112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear 71112:

Thank you for you review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that the staff succeeded in leaving a good memory during your stay . Hope to have you as a regular guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews