We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best holiday ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ACHTI Resort Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ACHTI Resort Luxor
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best holiday ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

From arriving to departing the hotel staff were very helpful, the security on the main entrance were friendly; not to mention the band that played the typical Egypt music brilliant.
Food was good in both the hotel & in the restaurants on the complex, value for money.
The man who tends the pool bar was out of this world he waited on us hand & foot (so to say) nothing was too much trouble, he even kept 2 loungers for us every day for the 2 week we stayed; didn't expect a tip at all. we gave him 20 Egyptian pounds on the day we left which is a lot of money to them.
We walked out of the complex day & night (some people advised us against this but to see the out side was an eye opener) you do get the men who annoy you by persistently saying "you want a taxi" "you want to eat" " take a trip on my boat", if you say no thank you they will get used to it & leave you alone.
We will be going back next year & we would recommend this holiday to anyone.

Room Tip: try for a bungalow or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedslass47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
and we are waiting for the honor of welcoming your good-self next year to experience Sheraton excellent service.
your positive comments are very much encourage to our assoicates to feel proud.

Thank you,

Nahla Youssef (Mrs.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    378
    139
    58
    40
See reviews for
223
487
85
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've just returned from Luxor, staying for two nights in the Sheraton.
We paid extra for a "Club Room". I would not recommend doing this as the room is tiny, and the benefit of club room access was not worth the premium paid as the hours for free drinks in the Club Room were very restrictive (the opening hours were not stated on the Sheraton website).
As expected the hotel was almost empty, but despite this at 2am security guards managed to wake us up on the last night by choosing to chat outside one of the only occupied rooms in the hotel.
The hotel also seems to have some unhelpful "rules". An example of this is despite paying for a club room, that included breakfast, after checking in we were informed that we had to pay an extra 100LE per person for the privilege of having breakfast in the restaurant; only breakfast in the Club room was included (again not stated on the website). Having stayed in many club rooms throughout the world this is the first time we've been asked to pay extra for a service that is free for cheaper rooms!
Apparently their policy is also not to recommend any restaurants, only their own. Again this is the first time I've stayed in a hotel that the concierge will not recommend any restaurant but its own. The food in the restaurant was also mediocre at best.

These problems were a pity as the staff were in general very pleasant, otherwise I would have rated the hotel as terrible.

After two nights we moved to the Hilton Luxor, paying a similar rate, which was superb, and offered much better value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flightdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
First, we would like to extend our sincere apology for any inconvenience you experienced during your last visit to Sheraton Luxor Resort.
Rest assures that we are thank you for your valuable observations & comments.
We are very considering for it in order to maintain our services to meet & to exceed your expectations for the coming visit.
For any further queries and/or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you,

Nahla Youssef (Mrs.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the sheraton at the end of June and loved every aspect of the hotel. Egypt is a great place and although the locals are persistent they are just trying to make business to provide for their families. The hotel itself had none of this however. It was peaceful and the staff worked so hard to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We had a bungalow by the quiet pool and it was plenty big enough for the two of us, the bed was also big and very comfortable. The bath/shower was also good, plenty of hot water and so many different options in how to wash. Our pool bar attendant Muffasa was very attentive and really looked after us throughout our stay.
Due to the unrest in Egypt Thomson made us evacuate after just one week of our two week holiday, and we didn't want to go, we were enjoying ourselves so much. I guess it means we will just have to come back as soon as we can!
Thank you Sheraton!

Room Tip: The bungalows are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tabatha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Also we are!!!
Also we wouldn't let you to leave; it was a force majeure that forced us to let you leave us.
Moustafa & all our associates are waiting for the honor of welcoming you & your room mate to re-visit Sheraton Luxor Resort to experience a hospitality stay.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my trip in Egypt, but Egypt is exhausting! Between the heat, the yelling, and people trying to sell you something everywhere you turn it can be overwhelming. The Sheraton Luxor was a really wonderful retreat away from all of that. The Nile view rooms are amazing, and I already miss having a cup of tea on the balcony at sunset as Islamic sung prayers were projected from the nearby mosques.

Using the technology (business center, local phones) was a bit challenging, but the staff was very helpful at getting around the various website blocks and navigating all the different prefixes you needed to make a call. Also many people in Egypt expect baksheesh (small tips) for doing things like carrying your bags (whether you want them to or not), giving you directions, allowing you into tombs, etc., but very few places in Luxor provide change when you pay them, and the ATMs only give big bills. The hotel was so helpful in breaking my big bills so I could leave tips.

The restaurants were all good (and actually the Italian restaurant there is GREAT) and very accommodating. The poolside bar had wonderful drink and snack options, and the pools were both quiet and relaxing.

I'd like to second another review that one of their taxi drivers, Mamduh, is wonderful. He taught me some Arabic to keep people from hassling me, gave me advice on navigating the various sights, and even invited me over for Ramadan dinner. Ali Abdul, whose family runs the Sheraton's tour options, is also wonderful, makes planning day trips and outings very easy, and has extremely reasonable prices. And he knows everyone in Luxor so is very helpful in a pinch with anything travel related (taxis, trains, planes, etc.) I'm a young woman traveling alone, and Ali was really concerned about me getting hassled and ripped off, so when I took trips with him he came to the ticket counters with me to make sure that I was getting the correct price, etc. Also, be sure to ask him for where to go to get authentic Egyptian food!

Finally, and I know this is small, but many hotels in Egypt had very weird electrical outlets, and I couldn't charge my phone, computer, etc. The Sheraton Luxor had standard Europe/Middle East outlets so that this was not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
It is great pleasure for all of our associates to hear from you.

Your positive comments are very encouraging for us to keep working to deliver our entire guest their expectations and to retain them repeated their visits to Sheraton Luxor Resort specifically when in Luxor any time.

We all at Sheraton Luxor Resort are waiting for the honor of welcoming you once and more to deliver you an excellent service.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

As per Fairyface45, I am also late in reviewing, however I agree with the whole review.
Egypt is a favourite holiday destination for me, and while I have stayed at other hotels, I will definitley return to the Sheraton.
The staff here are second to none with nothing too much trouble. The position of the hotel overlooking the Nile is tremendous, and from the balcony you can see the sun setting over the Valley of the Kings. Superb! The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. And very clean.
Facilties include a gym, sauna and spa, and are great quality. The only downside, if at all, is that the hotel is not particularly geered towards young children in terms of kids clubs and other facilities. But without kids, not a problem.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
All our associates are very much obliged for you positive comments.

Definitely your observation regarding children care is in consideration and it is in our plan to improve our service delivery as expected for all our guests.

For any further queries, suggestions please do not hesitate to contact us.


Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton last year in july, sorry for very late review, myself and my Egyptian friend stayed in 2 bungalows right by the quiet pool, it was beautiful! The rooms were very clean, and the housekeeping worked very hard to keep them nice! The location was perfect, away from the main town, and overlooking the nile. All the staff were wonderful, from reception to waiters to pool boys, gardeners etc! I will definitly be returning later in the year, please dont be put off by recent protests, last year it was very quiet, and its madness to not visit this relaxing peace of luxury history and lovely people, its away from it all!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairyface45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Your positive comment is very impressed.
All the departments members you mentioned was very happy to receive this comments, and it encourages them to keep working hardly to deliver better services.
Thanks god that Luxor is still away from the protests.

Thank you,

Nahla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevastopol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Sheraton for two night but really enjoyed it. Luxor is a very inteersting place, I would reccommend travellers to stay in this city for a couple of days and explore it. Our room was spacious enough and quite clean, it was better than I expected. Breakfast was good enough, we had dinner in the Indian restaurant and the food was tasty, they also have Italian restaurant which is very good as well. The only drawback I would like to highlight is the guy from the currency exchange office, he was smoking while doing his duties, dont know if it acceptable there but definitely I dont think it is acceptable according to Sheraton standards. The rest of the staff was very friendly and smiling, especially I would like to give me copliments to the restaurant manager who assistaed us greately!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Your nice encourage comment is a power for all Sheraton Luxor Resort's associates.

We thank you for this positive comment, and regarding your comment about the currency exchange employee we convey your message to his boss, as he is belonging to a bank rents the space to provide the service, we are not getting rid of the responsibilty to advice him not to do such behavior.

We all at Sheraton Luxor Resort, are waiting for the honor of welcoming you good-self to visit our hotel to spend an enjoyable remarkable stay.

Thank you,

Nahla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#9 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHTI Resort Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHTI Resort Luxor

Property: ACHTI Resort Luxor
Address: Al Awameya | Awameya, Luxor 85111, Egypt (Formerly Sheraton Luxor Resort)
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#12 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — ACHTI Resort Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACHTI Resort Luxor is a unique resort that lay on the east bank of the Nile with the widest front view to the great river, combine between the hotel building style & bungalow rooms, with several of theme restaurant, Bar & 2 outdoor swimming pool. Our location is 3.5 Km to city center, 10 Kms to Luxor International airport. We are in this place since 1988, although the management company changed on 2016, still we are serving you with our high standard quality on all aspects. ACHTI Resort Luxor is waiting to welcome you in Luxor to gain a non-forgettable experience of hospitality. The Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACHTI Resort Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton
Sheraton Luxor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing