We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“probably the best choice in Luxor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Luxor Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Luxor Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Luxor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“probably the best choice in Luxor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is situated by the Nile river bank. We had a room with balcony facing the Nile River with fantastic sunset. The hotel staff were very friendly. There are two pools, one is heated. Although the room is not very modern, but compared to most other so called luxury hotel in Luxor, this one is one of the few up to western standard. The restaurant manager were extermely helpful, we ended up having breakfast and dinner for our entire 3 day stays. The only problem is the power outage. We were told there are fuel shortage in the area, so the local utility supply will overloaded typically in early evening, then the hotel own power generator will kick in. So every day we had a couple minutes of complete dark in the room.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Nile river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zhenginfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sheraton Luxor Resort via TripAdvisors site.I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and you were happy with the staff services and the hotel facilities except some valuable points, we are strongly put it in our consideration and we will focus on it to deliver our guest an enjoyable experience although some points are out of our hand.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon in order to redeem ourselves.
Thanks and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    364
    137
    58
    37
See reviews for
211
478
81
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Me and my family went to Luxor last week for a holiday. Sheraton hotel was part of the package tour which we purchased.
The hotel is serene and the ambiance is exquisite. We stayed at the Bungalow-type rooms. It is undoubtedly charming, clean, and comfortable.
Unfortunately, when we asked for an extra bed they provided us with one that was a bit shabby and old. It wasn't in a good condition. We reported this to the housekeeping personnel when they came routinely for the room cleaning and they tried to adjust the bed but to no avail.
My mother who slept on that bed developed back ache from it.
In addition, there was a foul odor emerging from the drain in the bathroom. My mother had to cover it with a towel to control the strong odor.
In the evening time, an odor of cigarette smoke was present in the room.
There was a power cut during our last night in the hotel, but it was for a very brief period of time.
I wasn't at all expecting these flaws. Afterall, it is a 5-star hotel.

On the bright side though, the staff of the Karnak cafeteria inside the hotel were very hospitable, charming and helpful the entire time. Especially the manager of the cafeteria, Magdy Yousef and two of the waiters, Yahya and Ramadan Ahmed. They were always on their feet waiting to serve us with a genuine smile. They were also swift and responsive.

Furthermore, the ambiance is exquisite and has an interesting Upper Egypt feel to it. It has a relaxing atmosphere which I think many of the guests can agree too.

Overall, Sheraton was a decently nice to stay in. For the price, I think it was worth it. I hope though, that the hotel can rectify some of the issues that may be 'minor' but nevertheless indispensable for a comfortable and satisfying 5-star experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
First, we would like to extend our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience during your last visit to Sheraton Luxor Resort,We are strongly taking in consideration all your valuable points raised, and we will focus thoroughly on it with our associates to deliver our guest an enjoyable experience.
We are sincerely apologized for this not acceptable behaviors applied,and we will pass the nice comments to our team to encourage them for better service.

Hope that above didn't effect the loyalty to Sheraton Luxor Resort and hope to welcome you again soon in order to redeem ourselves.

Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our third visit to the Sheraton in 4 years,the last time just before the Arab Spring. The hotel is still the calm oasis that we remembered ,situated off the road at the end of a cul-de-sac but only 10 minutes walk from the main restaurant area. We booked Nile view rooms which were superb(watch the sun set or the hot air balloons go up at dawn) Large comfy beds & spotlessly clean, bedding & towels changed daily. All the staff were friendly & helpful, many recognized us as returning guests . Service in the restaurants was spot on,the breakfast manager spotted that it was my Mother's birthday & organized the most beautiful cake to be made.
We used the Nile side pool mainly,where the view of the river has to be one of the best in Luxor,the sun beds are comfy & Ahmed was always to hand with towels & parasols. Only the bungalow pool is heated at present to save power however as the days are getting hotter this should not be an issue(it was bit fresh last week though!) There also was a short power cut each evening at about 6 or 7 pm but only once did it last longer than 1 or 2 minutes,the Sheraton also has a generator that kicks in within seconds. If you are in town you may need a torch.
We saw no sign of trouble in Luxor & traveled by taxi all around the area,we felt safe at all times,the hassle is just the same as ever, just smile & keep you sunglasses on so they can't see what you are looking at.
To sum up the Sheraton is a great base from which to see the sites & a quiet haven of relaxation to recharge energy levels. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Nile view is a must , but avoid near the lift as guests leaving early will disturb you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your 3rd visit and your loyalty to the Sheraton Luxor Resort and for taking the time writing to us on TripAdvisor.We do appreciate your loyalty towards the hotel as we always need the support form our regular clients especially during these difficult times.Thank you very much as well for praising our team and their standards of service, they would be truly happy when I deliver the message to them.sorry for some points raised are out of our hand ,electricity off,and hassle from outsiders down town.We hope to be able to welcome you back for the 4th time to your second home.

thank you and best regards
Nahla youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in Sheraton for 2 nights in feb 2013 and we were bit disappointed with it.

We upgraded our booking from bunglow to nile view room, check-in staff was good and put us in executive nile view room but we had a mixed feeling about it too... Room had big shared terrace and nile view was not exactly from the room.

Breakfast buffet was not up to standard... even 4 stars we stayed during our trip had lot better quality and varieties.
We ordered veg food through room service but one of the dish was non-veg.
there was no complimentary water in the room and welcome basket was a joke with only one small chips packet.

We requested for 2-3 hours late check-out but it seems hotel has policy to charge 10-15 dollars for that. I can understand hotel policies but looking at current scenario in egypt and low tourist turnarounds.. all other hotels were accommodating in little bit of early check-in or late check-out but not sheraton.
It does not have any currency exchange counters and out of two days one day atm was not working.
Some of the staff were welcoming and helpful and some others were very rude.
I would not stay at this place again, with the amount i paid I can get lot better place I believe.

Room Tip: executive nile view is a waste of money I believe, either stay in a room which really has nile view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prakashsudhanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit to the Sheraton Luxor Resort and the time taken to write your comments on Tripadvisor.Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had faith during your visit.With regards to the food variety and quality, I am really sorry we could not meet your expectation also with the bad behaviour for an extra two hours late c/out as they should have more flexability which we strongly taking in consideration all your valuable points raised, and we will focus thoroughly on it with our associates to deliver our guest an enjoyable experience.hope that above meets with your requirements and hope to see you again in order to redeem ourselves.
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just for 1 night. There was slightly a misunderstanding with our booking but it was sorted out with no further delay. The room that we were booked for was nice - comfortable bed with complimentary coffee and tea (I did not expect this at all whilst staying in Egypt cos most of the "5-star" hotels we stayed in did not even have complimentary bottled water). The bathroom was spotless clean and same as the room. The view of the nile was amazing - we were lucky to be able to sit outside and see the beautiful sunset. Overall, the service was great, and staff were friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen Sheraton Luxor Resort to be your home in Luxor and for your valuable time taken to write your impressions about our Resort on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our Rooms and facilites.Looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was one of the hotels that we were disappointed with in our trip. The air conditioning was not to our liking and we had to request the staff to assign us a different room and it took a while after checking out 2 or 3 rooms. To be fair they did upgrade us though. The pool was excellent and a great place to watch the sunset. There are very few restaurants near the hotel and as soon as you step out of the hotel the horse carriage guys start pestering you. The food in the restaurant was ordinary. We did however do some shopping in the souvenir shops inside the hotel as the prices were not too far off from what the outside shops were quoting and the finish was actually better than the outside shops

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SubbuSailappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sheraton Luxor Resort and for having taken the time to write on TripAdvisor Site . It appears from your replies that we did not entirely manage to meet your expectations for which I apologize on behalf of the entire team here at Sheraton Luxor Resort. We trust that this one time situation would not effect your opinion of our hotel as it would be our pleasure to serve you again.
Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I think that for me and my family the hotel staff made the holiday a memorable one. Particularly ahmed at the poolside who consistently would move the umbrellas if the shade was not covering us! Also, aymun who works in the bar lounge always ensured that we had some crisps and he was a sweetheart throughout the stay. however, the gem of the hotel is El tayb who made our stay PERFECT!!! he couldn't do enough! Whilst the hotel itself was exceptional the location was superb and i would recommend the shop just outside the hotel gates. Food was tasty and especially the chicken stir fry. I would return just for that!! Egypt itself is mesmerising! Just be sure to avoid eye contact with locals who will hassle you to buy things however don't be rude as this is their livelihood!! Best hotel in luxor!! Get booking :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faiza_Dn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen the Sheraton Luxor Resort for your recent stay and for the positive review about the service and the atmosphere you have experienced in the hotel.
I will definitely transfer your lovely compliments to our team, who will be very happy to hear that kind of motivating praise.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Luxor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Luxor Resort

Property: Sheraton Luxor Resort
Address: Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#12 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Luxor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Luxor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing