We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded on the banks of the Nile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ACHTI Resort Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ACHTI Resort Luxor
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Secluded on the banks of the Nile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Of all the 5 star hotels in Luxor, only the Sheraton is located in an secluded enclave on the banks of the Nile. While the hotel is showing it's age and the property could use some updating, the service is exemplary. We stayed in a Junior Suite for 4 days which contained a very comfortable king bed, living room and dinning area and 1 and 1/2 bathrooms, the master containing an modern toilet/videt combination. The view from the extensive wrap-around terrace was fantastic (sunrise hot air ballons rising over the Valley of the Kings to sunsets over the Nile. One evening, we had room service on the dinning table on the terrace. The presentation was fantastic and a truly memorable night under the stars.
All of the amenities you expect from a 5 star resort including a small shopping arcade selling sundries to souvenirs and henna tattoos in the beauty salon. Tennis court, soccer court, croquet and 2 pools a spread throughout the resort.
The buffet breakfast and dinner at the hotel restuarant contains both local and western cuisines so everyone has something to choose and/or experiment. A la carte menu items are also available. Try the chicken wings with the sauce on the side...we had 4 orders! Dinner at the Italian restaurant La Mamma is deliciously authentic. I had Carbona with real Parma ham, an item which is extremely rare in Egypt. We all enjoyed our meals and service was excellent.
The hotel offers a free shuttle service between the hotel and Luxor museum. Comfortable tours to the Valley of the Kings, Luxor and Karnak Temples were arranged with by the Concierge. Feluccas are available for sailings directly from the hotel riverbank. If you are considering a day trip to Aswan, get an early start as it will be a very long day (about 8-10 hours travel time to & from).
When I return to Luxor on day, I will repeat my stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waveguy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    374
    139
    58
    40
See reviews for
216
487
84
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 days of our honey-moon there. We liked it very much! The location is great. The room is clean and comfortable. The staff are descent. The food is delicious with reasonably priced lunch and dinner in the hotel Karnak restaurant. We made use of a surprise the hotel was offering; a daily 45 minutes of free internet access at the hotel business center and printed our trips' vouchers. We had a leaking bathtub in our originally booked room. We talked to the receptionest, he didn't help. May be it was a misunderstanding. Talking to the acting manager at night, he was very descent, appologized for the unintended mistake and asked us to move into another room he arranged for us even upgraded it to a room on the River Nile as a gesture of appology. The hotel offers a free bus shuttle covering the route from the hotel to Luxor museum and back 3 or 4 times aday. It was really a great vacation we enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rashad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for having stayed at Sheraton Luxor Resort and for having written such a beautiful review on TripAdvisor.It is my utmost pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and that were generally happy with the staff services and the hotel facilities.Iam personally apologize for the bad behaviour from one of our associate,and we will retrain them how to make Guest's stay memorable.We are looking much forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.
Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was our 8th visit and we received the usual warm friendly welcome. The management and staff are all very friendly and very helpfull, if it is possible to do it, they will do it. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is in a good location on the banks of the Nile, at the end of a quiet street, away from the constantly sounding car horns. We also felt very safe, both in Luxor and when visiting the ancient sites, everyone has told us that Luxor has seen none of the troubles reported in the other parts of Egypt, which are hopefully now over anyway.

Room Tip: Nile view rooms are the best, if possible get one towards the middle of the floor fo the most panora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pjsspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We would like to express our appreciation for the review you have posted regarding your stay at our Hotel via TripAdvisors Site.
We are hope that your holiday was a memorable one and filled your expectations.Thank you very much as well for praising our team and their standards of service.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton for 2 nights as part of our Egypt tour.

Pros:
- Two great Pools. The temparature controlled pool has the Nile View, which is very beautiful
- The included Breakfast was great. Wide spread of choices. The people serving breakfast were all very nice and efficient. The Manager paid personal attention to every table, which was extraordinary good service. He packed some Fruit cake for our group since we really liked it. Very Nice !!
- The Rooms are very modern and finally the ones we eneded up in, were well maintained.

Cons:
- The Check-in process is SLOW and extremely inefficient. We were told to go get Lunch while they will figure out our 4 rooms together for the entire family. We got back from Lunch and waited another 20 mins.
- When we got to our Pool view (Lounge pool) room on the 2nd floor (these were just 2 storey), it had the stink of drainage. They offered sparying perfume, we refused and asked for a room change.
- The 2nd room was a SMOKING toom when we Specifically had asked for a NON-SMOKING room.
- Finally we got the 3rd room which had the view of the towel Disposal bin. BUT at that point we didnt care, it already took us an HOUR to get a room.
- The people were apologetic, but doesn't help much. The bad start took away the good experience fo a nice place.

Apprently Tourism is down hence the un-maintained rooms, which was a bad explaination. The Tourists that made it, try and make them happy at least.

I am very hesistant to recommend Sheraton despite the nice and comfortable stay after the initial glitch. Hope things change.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
First ,we would like to thank you for your stay at our hotel and for having the time to write your valuable comments through Tripadvisors site. we are very sorry that we didn't reach our goal in your case .In reference to your comments regarding the Check In, we are extremely apologized for unprofessional behaviour from our associates regarding your room type, we are strongly re-instructed our associates to deliver our guest an enjoyable experience.
Once again we are sincerely apologized and hope to welcome you again in order to touch our improvements.
Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were booked on this hotel thru our expensive tour company claiming the Sheraton was the best place to stay in Luxor for 5-Star service. We arrived at the Hotel around 5 PM and we waited over 30 minutes for our room in the lobby. Then we were escorted our the door, thru souvenir shops, pools to the bungalows in the back for "cheap tourists". The bell man ignored us multiple times when we asked where was he taking us with our luggage. We refused to take these accommodations and returned to the lobby, where we waited another 30-40 minutes for an alternative room in the hotel.

Not a good start, but when the room was available it was small, tired and had to be made in a hurry for us. We had a huge terrace, but at night was not really an asset since we were not able to use it at all, and made us concern on room security since the locks were so flimsy anybody could just push their way into our room from the outside.

Nile view rooms are probably the best you'll find, and the staff was slow and bothered that they had to provide service for their customers. Food was very disappointing to the point we ordered food delivery from the outside, and rooms were old, poorly maintained and cramped.

On a side note, if you still choose to stay or end up in this place for no fault of your own, do not use the Taxi drivers or Horse Carts within the hotel grounds, for anything! They are in cahoots with the Hotel employees/management to more than overcharge tourists and you will loose your money and probably your safety as well. Another tourist was charged $450 for 1hr Horse cart ride worth $20-$30, if you want to be very generous. Wasted the day at the tourist police trying to get their money back, excellent time to be wasted in Luxor.

We were taken by Hotel taxi to a shopping area where we lost an equivalent amount of money for really poor quality crappy merchandise. Our tour guide and driver were insulted and almost involved in a fight with them for calling them crooks, after unsuccessfully trying to return the crappy merchandise.

And for the Hotel not to care that much, and being able to get in/out of the secure grounds without any questions, there must be something for them too. Be safe and avoid this place!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, look for safety not for price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Many thanks for recently staying with us and for having taken the time to write your reviews through TripAdvisors site. It appears from your replies that we did not entirely manage to meet your expectations for which I apologize on behalf of the entire team here at theSheraton Luxor Resort. Once again please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had faith upon Check in. where we are strongly taking in consideration all your valuable points raised, and we will focus thoroughly on it with our associates to deliver our guest an enjoyable experience.
In reference to Cleanliness point, the specific points are now strongly applied.
We are sorry about your experience difficulty in dealing with taxi drivers , but be sure we tried alot to control this although sometimes it gets out of our hand ,also we sent alot of complains to the Police Tourism and hope can solved.We hope that this event has not deterred you from using our Sheraton Luxor Resort in the future and we invite you to return for another stay with us at any time.
Hope to host you again soon
Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinston upon hull
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is at the end of a very busy road. The staff at the hotel are friendly if a little cool. The room overlooking the pool and the nile was beautiful and very well equipped and comfortable. the daily maid service was very good always fresh lowels tioletries etc. The hotel had free internet access you where allowed so much time daily. The bar overlooking the nile was beautiful and had such a spectacular outlook especially during the day. The breakfast was good. The hotel had nice private gardens and a walk along the edge of the nile.We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for pool/nile view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickinhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sheraton Luxor Resort to spend your holiday and for your kind review through the tripadvisor site.Many thanks for mentioning our staff and the excellent standard of service that you received during your stay.
We invite you to return at any time in the future so that we can give you the best ever service once again.

Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton in luxor for a Christmas break - we were not disappointed -The Hotel was very Welcoming the staff were very friendly and polite - The Hotel has a lovely view out over the Nile - We stayed in a nile facing room so was ideal for the sunset going down at night - we could sit on the Balcolny and Watch the amazing views of the boats and the Sun going down while having a glass of wine.
The room has a very large bed that was very comfy and all the usual things required in a good hotel clean towels every day and sheets when ever they needed changing you could put a card on the bed and they would be changed - I like nice clean sheets so took advantage of the card & they were changed 3 times in our 1 week stay.
The Bathroom had a lovely choice of toiletries and a shower to die for - 2 showers in fact a large one in the middle of the bath and a wall shower so you could take your pick.
The cleaning was A1 cleaned every day - we caught the maids in the mornings sometimes so give them a tip of 5 egyptian pounds - only 50p to us but they were very grateful.
The Hotel had a lovely swimming pool facing the Nile and one around the side of the Hotel for the Children to play in - Mohamad was the pool man no need to take your own beach towels as they are supplied clean each day by him another tip of 5 pounds was accepted with a smile.
The food in the hotel was of a high standard for Hotel food there was a buffet for Breakfast and Evening meals and a chef cooking various things to order while you waited to be cooked in front of you.
You had the choice of two other restaruants in the Hotel - An Italian or an Indian - We ate at the Indian for a change one night and it was a really lovely meal a bit different to our normal Indian in the uk but very tasty indeed.
If you are Thinking of booking any trips - We booked on line before travelling - Valley of the kings Etc ... We were not disappointed we booked through a travel agent in Luxor that was just around the corner from the Hotel "Petra Travel" they were very very good.Would recomend them Highly.
We Had a very good stay at the Shearton and would recomend this Hotel to anyone going to Luxor.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Nile have a super View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you very much for having stayed at your home in Upper Egypt with us and for writing such
a positive review.I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and you were generally happy with the staff services and the hotel facilities.
It is our utmost pleasure to see that our efforts exceeded your high expectations.
I will pass your nice comments to our staff which will serve as an encouragement to them.
Looking forward to welcome you again soon at Sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHTI Resort Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHTI Resort Luxor

Property: ACHTI Resort Luxor
Address: Al Awameya | Awameya, Luxor 85111, Egypt (Formerly Sheraton Luxor Resort)
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#12 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — ACHTI Resort Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACHTI Resort Luxor is a unique resort that lay on the east bank of the Nile with the widest front view to the great river, combine between the hotel building style & bungalow rooms, with several of theme restaurant, Bar & 2 outdoor swimming pool. Our location is 3.5 Km to city center, 10 Kms to Luxor International airport. We are in this place since 1988, although the management company changed on 2016, still we are serving you with our high standard quality on all aspects. ACHTI Resort Luxor is waiting to welcome you in Luxor to gain a non-forgettable experience of hospitality. The Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your ACHTI Resort Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton
Sheraton Luxor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing