We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor hotel, good location”
Review of ACHTI Resort Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ACHTI Resort Luxor
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
606 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“Poor hotel, good location”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel has seen better days, and is not a 5 star hotel by anybody's standards.

The way the hotel has been built, only half the rooms overlook the Nile. We started in a "car park" view room looking the other way - yes that is what the view is. It took a lot of discussion to get moved to a Nile view room You only want to stay here if you have a Nile view room.

As others have said, there is no free wifi anywhere in this hotel. Why do pricey hotels like this feel that they can get away with charging for it?

The food was, again as others have said, "mediocre"

There is a pool right on the bank of the Nile.

Its one redeeming feature is the Nile view and watching the sun set across the other side of the river. But the other half of the rooms would not have offered that experience.

Room Tip: Only accept a Nile view room, the other half of the rooms overlook a not very salubrious car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Firstly, we ask you to accept our sincere apologies regarding the matter which you raised. We value each comment of our guests and strive to maintain the excellent reputation that Sheraton Luxor Resort is so proud to have.In reference to your comments regarding the food ,we passed all these comments to our Ex.Chef who is strongly re-instructed his associates with all. Please accept our apologies once again.
We hope that this event has not effect to stop using our Sheraton Luxor Hotel in the future and we invite you to return for another stay with us at any time.
Looking forward to welcome you soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    378
    139
    58
    40
See reviews for
223
487
85
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were expecting more considering the past experiences that we have had with other Sheratons before, but I can say that the overall experience was ok.
The staff is really friendly (I arrived in the hotel around 08:00 am and the check in was only at 14:00, however they arranged me a room with early check-in without any extra charge), the front desk people were always available to help.
The room was pretty decent and the bathroom was spacious and well maintained. On the other hand, most of the facilities of the hotel are really old, the swimming pool area makes you feel you are inside a 70’s movie.
But what they really need to improve is the level of the food in the hotel. The quality of the pool restaurant is below average, very few options and not very well prepared. We basically had sandwiches for 2 days. I didn’t have the chance to try the Italian restaurant (that was only opened for dinner).
If you are looking for a 5-star stay, this is not the place. However if you are looking for a place to have some rest in between the tours with a nice view of the Nile, you would be satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your holiday and for taking the time to write your heartfelt review.
It seems we did not reach our goal in your case, didn't reach your expectations although sometimes it gets out of our hand and I would like to apologize for this,also we have passed on the information regards to the quality of food in the pool resturant which our Executive Chef is currently looking into.
Hope that above will not effect your loyalty to the Sheraton Luxor Resort
Thanks and regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a very nice hotel and a good choice if you come to Luxor. Comfortable rooms and spectacular views of the nile from the pool and restaurant. (Only downside of the hotel is the crazy price for internet - 19 Euro per day? What's that all about?).

Highly recommended hotel though.

By the way - if you are worried about coming to Egypt - fear not - the Egyptian people are ready to welcome you. Luxor is safe and the city needs your business. As you know, they have some incredible monuments and artefacts and if you want to avoid the crowds come now!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RTWTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for having stayed at Sheraton Luxor Resort and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.To make you happy is our job, Luxor is totally safe and there is nothing to worry about, life is going on as it should be and according to the daily stable happenings.Sorry for disappointed from the internet price as it's our standard but will raise all your comments to the managements.

Looking forward to welcome you once again at our sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

not a bad place lacking in staff around the pool and the one's working like to try to chat up the girls (without luck) food ok had better. The rooms where very clean. But due to trouble in Egypt the hotels are empty. I don't think i be going back for sometime it's lost it's spark

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
First, we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Luxor Resort to spend your last vacation when you were in Luxor.Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had faith the Swimming pool staff,sorry about your experienced difficulty in dealing with them, but be sure we will try to control this .We are strongly re-instructed our associates with all our standard entitlements where we wish to welcome you again in our property to enjoy sunny Luxor & to extend you all our effort to meet your expectations.
Hope to see you soon.
Thanks and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This Hotel has a Nile view that makes just staying on yr hotel balcony a dream hol. the staff very helpful n polite, special thanks to Receptionist, Adbul Rahim n Mahmoud, waiters Naser n Hamann (a very special few) and all the staff, as service goes above n beyond the call of duty

Room Tip: "pick a nile view room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our resort and for your fantastic review on the Tripadvisor site.
I am so happy to know that our concierge team was so attentive to your needs&also the pool staff. Your feedback has been conveyed to all the entire team members and they are so happy to know that they made your holiday the most enjoyable and memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcome you again.
Thanks and regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice view of the Nile if you receive an upgrade. Breakfast buffet was included in Memphis Travel arrangements--mostly good food, mix of Western and Egyptian food. Sometimes the beans were underdone. Some issues with broken air conditioning and broken tea kettle. They were finally resolved by hotel personnel who fixed them and replaced broken items. Hotel was mostly empty. No complimentary water, although 45 daily free internet. Card key required to keep lights on, so rooms were warm upon your return.

Not really up to the level of other Sheratons in the US. Good location, as most things in Luxor easy to walk to on the Nile, or take the free shuttle to the Luxor Museum and market, or 20lb Egyptian taxi ride.

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JocelynW32810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback , we are sorry as we did not meet your expectations during your stay It seems we did not reach our goal in your case and I would like to apologize for this. We took your remarks and we will make sure it is forwarded to the concerned person. In order to ensure this does not happen in the future and to give us the chance to serve you again.

Looking forward to welcome you soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned having done one weeks cruise on the Nile then a week here for a relax! I organised an upgrade myself with Mira who ensured we had a lovely view and made our holiday special. All the staff were very good and were always asking if we needed anything. We flew to Cairo for a day and missed dinner but we had a late dinner in the dining room just the two of us and the staff could not do enough to please.
Mira contnued to make sure we were ok during our stay and was very helpful. The rest of the staff on reception were also very good day or night.
We were ahlf board and this worked well for us as you could offset your meal in the italian or the indian restuarant if you did not want to eat in the buffet every evening.

The hassle outside the hotel is the norm and does take a bit of getting used to but don't let it put you off!
The nile view upgrade in our view was worth it and I watched the sun set every night and loved it.
Hope this helps.

Room Tip: We were a "garden room" which really overlooked the entrance and car park. The first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJM349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at ACHTI Resort Luxor, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
It was lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that the memories of Sheraton Luxor and our lovely city of Luxor will stay in your hearts forever.
Many thanks for mentioning our staff specially Mira and the excellent standard of service that you received during your stay.
We are very pleased to return to us at any time in the future so that we can give you the best ever service once again.
Thanks and regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHTI Resort Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHTI Resort Luxor

Property: ACHTI Resort Luxor
Address: Al Awameya | Awameya, Luxor 85111, Egypt (Formerly Sheraton Luxor Resort)
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#12 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — ACHTI Resort Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACHTI Resort Luxor is a unique resort that lay on the east bank of the Nile with the widest front view to the great river, combine between the hotel building style & bungalow rooms, with several of theme restaurant, Bar & 2 outdoor swimming pool. Our location is 3.5 Km to city center, 10 Kms to Luxor International airport. We are in this place since 1988, although the management company changed on 2016, still we are serving you with our high standard quality on all aspects. ACHTI Resort Luxor is waiting to welcome you in Luxor to gain a non-forgettable experience of hospitality. The Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACHTI Resort Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton
Sheraton Luxor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing