We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful (but far too short) trip to Luxor and the Maritim Jolie Ville. I am going to give a lengthy review as I find it helpful to read them, but the short message is that I can't recommend the hotel enough and will certainly be returning.

The hotel is located on a small island, just outside of Luxor. The grounds are beautiful, and extensive. We stayed in one of the newer blocks, made up of 30 rooms over two floors. The rooms are beautiful, with plenty of space, some low key but egyptian style decor, and a very clean and well laid out bathroom. It was particularly nice to be on the second floor, and sit out on the balcony in the mornings. Some of these rooms have nile views, although we were very happy with our garden views. The other rooms also looked nice from the outside, and have the advantage of having their own loungers so if you aren't bothered about lying by the pool, you can lie out on one of them in the gardens.

There are three swimming pools. One is an adult only pool, which is the smallest but the one located closest to the restaurant. There is another one on the side of the hotel next to the kids club, which is an amazing infinity pool with a climbing frame nearby. The one we spent most time at was the other infinity pool, located close to the beauty centre and spa. Although not adults only, it was very quiet (possibly due to the number of tourists generally). The pool is huge and is catered by the Mogo bar, which serves snacks as well as drinks. The staff there were really friendly and helpful.

Food is generally good. At the time we visited there were two a la carte restaurants open, one French and one Italian. We didn't eat in either but they looked pretty nice. The main restaurant serves buffet breakfasts and buffet dinners. The breakfasts are excellent, with an impressive selection of things on offer including fruit and yoghurt, baked goods, cheese and cold cuts and various hot food including chicken and beef sausages (obviously no pork in Egypt) and eggs in whatever style you fancy. The dinners were all loosely themed around a different country each night, offering a selection of salads, hot food, fresh cooked food and dessert. There is certainly no question of going hungry. Alternatively you can go out into Luxor if you want to eat in town. It is probably a half an hour walk into the centre, or taxis are cheap and plentiful.

The hotel also offers various other facilities, including the aforementioned spa and beauty centre which are recommended (my husband got a haircut and close shave, and I had a massage). There are a selection of shops in the lobby which are quite useful to get any emergency supplies (I left my hairbrush at home) and also get a rough idea of the right price for souvenirs, and a little library if you run out of reading material. There is also a bank, although it was not open while we were there, we were able to change money at the reception. Wi-fi access is free and excellent in all the public areas, although less strong in our room.

Sadly while we visited the hotel was very quiet. Although there is obviously a lot of unrest in Cairo, Luxor was utterly untouched and really needs much more tourism, which so many people in the locality rely on. Whether you are looking for winter sun (which was perfect for us - it was snowing when we left London, and 26 degrees during the day in Luxor), exploration of antiquities (there is so much to do, from visiting Karnak and Luxor temple to the Valley of the Kings and the amazing Temple of Hapshepsut) or a bit of both, Luxor is definitely the place to go.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the newer blocks, on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Principessaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Principessa Leah from Hatfield UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for your kindness to recommend and speak so highly of our Resort to the world wide Tripadvisor community.

The time you have taken to write such a lengthy, detailed and positive review about our Resort is highly appreciated! Are you looking for a job as PR Manager? If we had more business and I could afford it, I would surely hire you at once!

The Jolie Ville Team and I are wishing you a joyful and happy holiday season and hope to be able to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Best regards from “winter exempted” and ever sunny Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    397
    107
    50
    28
See reviews for
566
1,005
89
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We last visited in 2005 and despite the hotel having expanded somewhat, it didn't diminish the wonderful customer care and tranquility at this island paradise. An ideal infinity pool is only one of the additions that we found as improvements.
Luxor is in desperate need of tourists at the moment and we expeienced little hassle in the town and felt safe at all times. I hope for the peoples' sake that Egypt's politicians can reach a peaceful compromise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Kevin Lia from Lincolnshire UK,

Thank you very much for visiting the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor again after your last visit in 2005! Thank you as well for having taken the time to write a short review on Tripadvisor about your impressions of the new and extended Resort.

Thank you very much for your good wishes and we all truly hope that common sense and real democracy will be established in this great country very soon so everyone can go back to his/her normal and organized live.

I hope we do not have to wait another 7 years before being able to welcome you back again on Kings Island and wish you all the very best in the mean time.

With sunny regards from splendid Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wonderfully located on the island on the Nile.great service , good food,swimming pools and gardens -the richness of flora and fauna .What more want for a good holiday . Sun is never lack .Location slighty off the beaten Luxor adds magic to this place . I highly recommend - guarantee pleasant stay assured

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDREW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Andrew L from Lodz in Poland,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor and for having chosen our Resort to be for your home in Luxor during you stay in Upper Egypt last month.

We are all very happy to learn that you have enjoyed not only our services and accommodation in the Hotel, but as well the uniqueness of Kings Island with its peaceful surrounding nature.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back on Kings Island in the near future.

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had six visits over last four years and never a complaint. We find it harder to leave each time . Thanks to manager Mr Umbricht and team . Dont let the news from Cairo put you off . Luxor has never had troubles . The hotel is on an island and is a haven from the noise of the town. An easy walk in or £2 taxi but you can opt in or out of the town . Walk round the island talk to the farmers get to know the locals .GO !

Room Tip: They are all good. Upgrade if you must but just enjoy the location .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear David F from Boston UK,

Thank you very much for having returned to your home in Luxor once again after 6 previous visits in the past 4 years! Returning clients are the best compliments we can get and it is a great pleasure to see all well known faces again year after year, sometimes even 4 x per year!

Thank you all for your kindness and fidelity towards the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and its team. Thanks to you all, we still have work and safe income to support our families in these difficult times. As you say very correctly, there is no problem, danger or reason for not visiting Egypt the troubles are only in Cairo and even there only in secluded areas were nobody needs to go anyway.

We all hope very much that Egypt is getting calm and quiet soon and only appears in the News for its splendor, sunshine, uniqueness and generally very peaceful people who love to show their wonderful country to the interested tourists from all over the world.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the not so far future, and remain with
Sunny regards from unique & spectacular Luxor at the majestic river Nile.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have just returned from our first visit for a week to this beautiful hotel. what an amazing place. After a particularly stressful year we just felt it all melt away this past week. The service is exceptional, the waiters in the dining room and at the pool are very friendly and everywhere looked immaculate. the views are stunning and we just sat and gazed at the river life on the Nile. we can't wait to go back, and for longer next time!! Karen and David Brown

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Karen and David Brown from Newbury UK,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island last month and for sharing your personal experience about our Resort and your holiday with the world wide Tripadvisor community.

It makes me happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay on our little island at full and that you could recharge “your batteries” for the coming winter.

The Jolie Ville Team and I are wishing you a joyful and happy holiday season and hope to be able to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Best regards from “winter exempted” and ever sunny Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Having been a guest at the Jollie Ville many times I have previously reviewed this hotel. We arrived and were greeted as old friends from the courtesy airport pickup through checkin and throughout our stay.
we stayed in the new rooms (3105) close to the horizon pool the gardens as always were immaculate, when we visited in may this year maintainance work was being carried out unobtrusive and very quiet, and now six months later no sign of disturbance. Mr Urmbricht and his superb team deserve every praise for their effort. The food at all the hotel outlets was wonderful we especially liked the Italian restaurant Ziglini's as for the renowned JolieVille breakfast absolutely fantastic where would it be without Mr. Rabbia and all his staff.
If you are looking for a holiday where you will be treated as royalty at all times this is the hotel for you Honeymoon, holiday with children or just a quiet relaxing break Please Please go, ignore the wild statements about trouble in Egypt THER IS NO TROUBLE IN LUXOR only a friendly wecome with a smile.

Room Tip: The new blocks are beautifully equiped with super views but are some distance from the reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David55Slack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear David 55 Slack from Cardiff UK,

Thank you so very much for your very nice praises on Tripadvisor and for being such a loyal and supporting “friend” of the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor over the past years.

Thank you as well for mentioning that Luxor is quiet as always despite TV News pictures try to provoke another image. The troubles are in Cairo and even there only on a relatively small place, the Tahrir Square! Or did anybody see pictures in the past 2 years from Luxor, Sharm El Sheik, Hurghada, Aswan etc with demonstrations or troubles in the News??? No, because there isn’t and never was a problem in these regions and tourists are as always perfectly safe!

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us on Kings Island; at least you could take full advantage of the great weather, the fantastic sites (with few tourists), the tranquility and genuine hospitality of the people of Upper Egypt.

The Jolie Ville Team and I are wishing you all the very best and hope to be able to welcome you back home in the not so far future.

I remain with,
Best regards from ever spectacular and sunny Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a very good hotel, beautifully located on the private green island on the Nile river. This is very nice bacause there are no high buildings but just one or two levels bungalows. The staff is very friendly and the level of service high. There is a very good hotel manager taking care of everything, chatting with the guests so they can feel his attitude and involvement. 3 beautiful swimming pools (one only for adults which is a plus). The only small complain could be about food. It is not bad but it could be better. The theme buffets like e.g. Italian night are only loose varations of the theme food. But other than that very good and can be rocommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Daniel K from Lodz in Poland,

Thank you very much for staying at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor last Week and for your valued time to write and publish your Hotel impressions on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to read that you and your partner have enjoyed the stay on Kings Island very much and that you are recommending our Resort and value our services as very good.

I am sorry we could not really meet with your pallet and will put all our efforts into further developing our theme buffets to provide more variety and different dishes every evening.

Thanking you again for your visit and hoping to be able to welcome you back at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island in the not so far future,

I remain with,
Best regards from the always sunny Nile shores in Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
5.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Property: Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing