We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel on "Crocodile Island"!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Jolie Ville. The hotel is separated into little bungalows dotted around the site. It was really lush as well with bright flowers everywhere which was really lovely and we woke up on our first morning there to a camel walking past our window! Our room was nice and had a tv, safe and air con. However, another couple we met there weren't as lucky and had one of the older rooms which meant the decor was a bit outdated and their shower wasn't as powerful.
We liked that there were separate adults and kids pools. The infinity pool was a good size and it was nice that it was next to the river. However, when you look over the edge of the pool there was actually a path between the pool and river and I'd thought the pool was right on the edge but I'm not complaining because it was still lovely!
The food was good and there were a few restaurants there, but we were ill for the whole week with dodgy stomaches. I don't think this had anything to do with the hotel particularly but you can't eat a lot of the food in Egypt because of the bacteria. I would recommend sticking to the most basic foods possible and avoiding the tap water (even for brushing teeth), dairy products and vegetables that have been washed in water.
The hotel has a little zoo on it which is home to the camel, a crocodile and some other small animals. You can ride the camel for free but be prepared to tip.
There was a free shuttle service to and from the town centre which took about 20 minutes. Be prepared to be hassled constantly on the streets to buy things and take caleche rides. Tips: don't make eye contact and say no once and then ignore them or they will follow you! You also have to haggle for everything. Caleche owners would start their bid at 20 Egyptian pounds when the ride should cost about 6 so make sure you barter..sometimes you even have to walk away until they will finally agree!
June was a good time to go because peak season is later in the year because it is so hot in summer so the hotel wasn't too busy. Overall we had a really good stay and the staff were all very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the more modern rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

This was our second visit to the JV and it has got even better than what it was 12 months ago.
On arrival, the new reception area is majestic. We were upgraded to one of the 'new' luxury rooms and on walking into the room our reaction was 'WOW' a huge suite like room with all of the 'mod cons' one would expect from a 5* hotel. All of the new facilities are superb, pool, fitness suite etc and we used these all extensively over the 2 weeks.
We ate in all of the restaurants, and the service, value for money and quality is superb. Purchasing the '3 meal deal' works out to about £12.00 per meal and that includes 2 buffets and a 3 course A' la carte (fine dining of the highest quality).
The staff are exceptional and will make every effort to look after you, their catch phrase of 'welcome home' does make you feel very special and do make you feel as if you are at home.
The only small negative (nothing to do with the hotel) is the fact that it was only 25% occupied during our visit. They need our business and most of the guests are people who have been before (very few first timers).
The resort is safe and so is Luxor.
Value for money, exceptional five star PLUS service, facilities are brilliant...so don't hesitate.
We are already looking to go back in October/November.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkJones63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Have recently returned from our 4th stay at the Jolie Ville. On our first visit, the words "Welcome Home" made the cynic in me cringe a bit as did the English translation of the name of the hotel itself. However there is something really homely about it that I just cannot put my finger on! (I wish the beds were made and vacuuming done magically at home....). The staff are always friendly and courteous without it being over the top or disingenuous and the gardens are a joy to behold being a haven for birdlife and lizards etc. This year we were treated to a room in one of the new bungalows. On hearing where we had been allocated a room I felt sad but the new rooms are wonderful! The only problem with the breakfasts is the amount of choice...lots of it! Hotel security is good and I am happy to wander around at night on my own. Having previously been the sort of couple that like to go somewhere different each holiday it must be good to keep drawing us back on 4 consecutive occassions in a little under 3 years (hoping to return again before end of the year).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clarkyWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This was our second time at the Jolie Ville and it didn't dissapoint , when we arrived we were put straight into one of the new delux rooms with what i think was a super kingsize bed ,there was a large bathroom , flatscreen tv . Througout the stay all areas of the hotels were kept spotless the service was fantastic The food was good and Le Fleur restraunt was out of this world, please dont book half board as you will do better taking advantage of the 3 meal deal they do for Le375 which entitles you to a 2 meals in the Jolie Ville restraunt and a 3 course meal at Le Fluer which is worth the money by itself . I can't praise this hotel enough and can't wait to go back. They tell you welcome home when you get there and thats what it feels like.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank degs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

After alot of surfing the internet for a last minute break and reading reviews after reviews, we finally settled on a week at the Jolie Ville Luxor.
Well on our arrival we were allocated a fairly resonable bungalow, we then went to reception in the morning and the staff were happy to upgrade us to a deluxe bungalow for a small fee $25.00 per night. The bungalow/room we were allocated was amazing. overlooking the Nile and the infinity pool, it was simply stunning.
Although the Island was still quiet we couldnt fault any of the services, the staff were fantastic and couldnt do enough,for you.
Sate of the art gym, amazing spa massages, wifi. all fantastic.
Anybody thinking of a last minute break somewhere warm, safe and full of culture should visit Luxor and stay at the Jolie Ville,. you will not be hassled in anyway and you can find a local taxi (blue & white) driver who will look after you your entire holiday, Our drive was called Abdul Taxi number (942) just tell the concierge to call him, they are all outside the resort.
Average price 50LE for drive to town and back ( this includes his waiting time) so you can go and have dinner tell him what time you want him to come back and he will be there waiting for.
Dendera 200LE
Valley of the Kings 175LE
Having been in aviation for 17 years, I can honestly say this was an amazing holiday, do not be worried about the current situation it is safe and the eygptian deserve the tourists back.
We are already booking to go back in November.

Have a great holiday, we cerrtainly did.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank howellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

As soon as we arrived we felt like we were somewhere special. We were taken to our room, which was one of the new bungalows as mentioned in other reviews.

The rooms are very spacious, with a large bed, LCD TV, fridge etc. and also a good sized bathroom. The room was always kept clean by the excellent cleaners, who sometimes made fantastic displays of towel crocodiles on our bed when we returned to our rooms!

The food was good, with quite a variety and the La Fleur restaurant was fantastic and VERY filling. Also, we found it worthwhile going for the "meal deal", this was 375LE per person and allows you three meals each in each restaurant, excellent value for money if you're only B&B. If you're going for the buffet options it is best to arrive early (for breakfast too) as there is more choice and the food is fresher!

We very much enjoyed the hotel's evening event "Fellahs Tent" - the boat trip is a photographers dream, if your lucky enough to own a dSLR bring your extra lenses! It was an entertaining evening with traditional Egyptian music and dancing.

The hotel gardens are beautiful and the sunsets are breathtakingly beautiful overlooking the Nile.

We found the pool facilities to be excellent with three pools to choose from; horizon, relaxing and infinity. We chose the latter as our pool as it has the best views of the Nile. Although, do expect quite a bit of 'hassle' from the spa/beauty salon ladies who come around pretty much every day offering treatment, it did become quite annoying by the end.

Having said that, all staff were extremely helpful and lovely, every member of staff stops to say hello when you pass by. Gabriel, our Thomson rep was also fantastic and very helpful.

A small negative, perhaps, is the price of drinks in the hotel. A bottle of water costs 13LE when you can get one in Luxor for approx 2LE a bottle! Our suggestion would be to ask your taxi driver to stop at a "super market" to buy you 4/5 bottles of water at Egyptian prices, much cheaper option!

Oh, and the Wi-Fi is very much on the slow side. But other than those small things an EXCELLENT place to stay.

Thank you to all the staff for an amazing, unforgettable holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms and a Nile view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liquidco2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Like many others, we are long term fans of this hotel. We visited a number of times between 2002 and 2005 and then had to miss a few years as we started our own business and had a son. He is now 4 and this was the right age, we felt to take him abroad for the first time.
We booked the hotel with much anticipation but - call me a cynic - I did not expect the experience to perhaps live up to our earlier memories. Previously we were a young couple and the bungalows were cosy and romantic, the service excellent and the holidays everything that we could have wished for. I had looked at the reviews over the last few years, wistfully longing to return but with the expansion and the intervening years, I expected that my recollections to be rose-tinted. I was wrong.
We arrived to see a lot of change - all very positive and the staff were as attentive and welcoming as previously. The food was as good as we remembered and the facilities all immaculate and impressive. The new accomodation is huge and very well suited to a family. All the staff, we felt were extremely proud of the additions to the hotel and were keen to express this - this shows a wonderful sense of team work.
Bearing in mind the current political situation - of which there was no sign whilst we were there, we were most impressed with the atmosphere on the island. It must be worrying to everyone to be running at only 20% occupancy yet this did not affect the level of service that we received in any way and is a tribute to those in charge. I cannot imagine that, were a similar situation to evolve in our country, the good old British would continue to work with such enthusiasm, genuine warmth and absolute dignity. We were pleased to note the number of visitors increasing as the week went by.
There are some comments on this site about the lack of planting around the new buildings. These were only completed very recently and you have only to look at the number of groundsmen at work to know that this will be addressed as soon as possible, and that it is a proirity - but even the Jolie Ville team can't get the plants to grow quicker! There is a gym and there is WIFI, so not quite sure what the problem was with the previous post.
We can't wait to get back - it will be next year rather than 6 years time! Our son adored it and all the attention he received. Thank you Jolie Ville for proving me a cynic!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WilliamsMum101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
2.4 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
6.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,545 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor

Address: Awameya Road | Kings Island, Luxor 85834, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#2 Business Hotel in Luxor
#2 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $74 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing