We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed one week in this lovely hotel and enjoyed it so much. Really nice staff and very helpful, you could not ask more. Very clean and tidy rooms, cleaner made some decoration with the towels every time he cleaned the room, my kids loved it. Food was good, you could find something nice every time. The manager Emad was great and he made this holiday one of the best for me and my family. If I plan to go back to Egypt this hotel is the only one that I will be staying in, no doubt.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms with pool view are better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fariba-uk a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    482
    208
    70
    41
See reviews for
352
679
119
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and myself + friends Just come back from a 10 day stay at the Sofitel Hotel , we must say we had a lovely time , the staff were so friendly towards us , nothing was to much trouble . The food was very good many choices to pick from , the rooms were very clean and cleaned every day with clean towels and water put in the rooms every day . the hotel grounds were superb and green , the pool was lovely but a little cold , but that is a good thing due to the heat off the day it cools you down, The Carter bar was superb the beer was good as well as the local spirits and the bar staff were great
A Big thank you to all the staff / and the Managers who was constantly putting there self out to please all, and if you had any concerns it was dealt with on the spot. Also a thank you to the Taxi driver Tarack , we used all the time during our holiday and nothing was to much trouble for him and a very fare price ( very much recommended) saved us a lot off time and trouble in getting us around Luxor to all the sites we wanted to visit . Will go back very soon .
Tony , Sandra , Fred Jackie , and Friends Zoey and her lovely Family which made the Holiday all from Essex. .

Room Tip: Ground floor which open out to the lush green gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cocobella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely FANTASTIC!
This was my 6th visit, 2nd for my son & 1st for my two daughters. We all had such a great time, weather brilliant, food great & atmosphere great too. We were looked after 110%. Nothing was never a problem as always. I'd like to thank the managers Gamal and Hassan who always are very kind. Emad Zakhary for making mine & my daughters birthdays very special in the Opet & O'nile restaurants with the help of chef Ahmed. Also thank you to Ahmed and Nassa on reception. They helped out a few problems & the other reception staff were very polite & friendly. Amer at the moorish bar, Mohammed in Carters bar & Mohammed at the pool bar. Not forgetting Arabi at my favourite place at the SUNDOWNER bar he is such a character & should be more in with evening entertainments!! There are so many that don't get mentioned like Badwhy in the Opet restaurant & Mohammed in the palmeraie restaurant who also looked after us. From the bottom of our hearts thank you, thank you THANK YOU
Looking forward to our next visit to our 2nd home soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

As a valuable and precious repeater guest, I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor for 06th time to spend your recent holiday with your children and considering the hotel as your 02nd home .

We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the tripadvisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Once again many thanks for your comments, we are looking forward to welcoming you, assuring that your next visit # 07 will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay. Highly recommend this hotel. Food is great normally served in a buffet style, on the friday they had a egyptian festival where food was served outside with views of the river nile and egyptian entertainment was provided. Staff are lovely, we opted for all inclusive and did want for anything. I celebrated my 30th bday during my stay, hotel manager arranged a lovely bday cake for me and staff sang happy birthday. I would give the hotel 5* and definitely plan to return later in the year. The hotel has a lovely pool area, gardens are lush and perfectly maintained. Views of the nile and sunset from the sundown terrace os a must see. Enjoyed many evenings there with a cup of tea/cakes whilst smoking shisha and watching the sun set. Different vibe from Sharm. I visited with my sister and had a great time, would also recommend for couples and families as they cater for all. We had a basic room on the first floor without the pool/river view, room was lovely small balcony and lovely high dome ceiling. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadz2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel, located a bit outside town. Nice grounds and swimming pool, decent breakfast, friendly staff. Also not too pricey, so a good deal. However, food available in the hotel is a bit pricey, and also not very good, this, in combination with the hotel being a bit far from the town is one of this places main drawbacks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just returned from a week stay at this hotel, I don't want to repeat everything that has previously been said. This hotel is in a quiet area by the Nile, with a large pool area and lots of sunbeds. The Sundowner bar is an excellent place to watch the sunset and have pre dinner drinks.
The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable, all public areas are clean. All the staff are friendly and efficient, always ready to chat to you and greet you with a big smile.We did lots of trips and it was lovely to just relax by the pool in the afternoon. We pre booked our trips with Thomson in the Uk, and although we may have paid a little more we could not have had better. Our guide Egyptologist (Ehad) was amazing and always ready to answer any questions we had. On one trip we had booked (to the Workers tombs) we were the only ones booked but instead of cancelling the trip they sent a limo for us (3 of us) and Ehad came along too, what an amazing trip that was. You can change money in the hotel and if you go early morning you can also get small notes, Also you can get small notes from the shops in the hotel. If you have booked your are sure to have a great time, we did. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

What an amazing holiday. The transfers from the airport were smooth as was check in.
The room was spacious and clean. The grounds were fantastic and ran right down to the banks of the Nile.
The shops in the complex compare favourably pricewise to ones we found outside and the scarf shop was well worth a visit.
The food was always nice, some cooked to order and always plenty of choice.
The staff were amazing, always smiling and helpful.
Make sure you find Muhammed on the waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KG4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and assuring that we will keep maintaining our quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future at your 02nd home Sofitel Karnak-Luxor.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
4.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
4.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
3.0 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Property: Mercure Luxor Karnak
Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing