We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, nice compound, quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, nice compound, quiet location”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel, located a bit outside town. Nice grounds and swimming pool, decent breakfast, friendly staff. Also not too pricey, so a good deal. However, food available in the hotel is a bit pricey, and also not very good, this, in combination with the hotel being a bit far from the town is one of this places main drawbacks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    481
    208
    69
    41
See reviews for
352
678
119
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just returned from a week stay at this hotel, I don't want to repeat everything that has previously been said. This hotel is in a quiet area by the Nile, with a large pool area and lots of sunbeds. The Sundowner bar is an excellent place to watch the sunset and have pre dinner drinks.
The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable, all public areas are clean. All the staff are friendly and efficient, always ready to chat to you and greet you with a big smile.We did lots of trips and it was lovely to just relax by the pool in the afternoon. We pre booked our trips with Thomson in the Uk, and although we may have paid a little more we could not have had better. Our guide Egyptologist (Ehad) was amazing and always ready to answer any questions we had. On one trip we had booked (to the Workers tombs) we were the only ones booked but instead of cancelling the trip they sent a limo for us (3 of us) and Ehad came along too, what an amazing trip that was. You can change money in the hotel and if you go early morning you can also get small notes, Also you can get small notes from the shops in the hotel. If you have booked your are sure to have a great time, we did. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

What an amazing holiday. The transfers from the airport were smooth as was check in.
The room was spacious and clean. The grounds were fantastic and ran right down to the banks of the Nile.
The shops in the complex compare favourably pricewise to ones we found outside and the scarf shop was well worth a visit.
The food was always nice, some cooked to order and always plenty of choice.
The staff were amazing, always smiling and helpful.
Make sure you find Muhammed on the waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KG4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and assuring that we will keep maintaining our quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future at your 02nd home Sofitel Karnak-Luxor.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was our first time to Egypt and we unsure what to expect, relying mainly on reviews here and it was FANTASTIC! We have five children so ended up with three rooms, all together and with two adjoining, which was perfect. We were in Cleopatra area which was perfect for the pool, shops and main hotel and a short direct walk to the sports facilities, gym, sauna and jacuzzi. We could not hear the mosques although you could from the sports courts and low level at the pool sometimes, but for me this added to the atmosphere.
Gardens, pool and facilities excellent, lots of towels and sun loungers. Rooms spacious and clean and the man, sorry I can't remember his name, who did incredible things with towels was amazing :-) So many friendly staff that felt like friends. Hotel shops were a bonus, cheap, no rip off and no hassle. The man at the end shop on your right that does clothes, bags, jewellery etc also very happy to change notes so you have small stuff for tips. We were not all inclusive but had a couple of good meals off the general menus, just stuff like steak sandwich and grilled chicken, but suited my conservative family! Also ate in Luxor at KFC and McDonalds and a lovely English and Egyptian restaurant run by an English couple called JJ's bar which is not far from the hotel.
Drinks for kids were about £1.40 at the bar for a can or 90p out of the mini bar which I didn't think was bad, Egyptian Stella beer was nice and £3.50 for a large bottle or can which wasn't cheap but was acceptable. Because we were out we found the non inclusive option cheaper and more convenient but as we had a full day in the hotel on our last day we upgraded to all inclusive at £21 for adults ans £10.50 for children. To experience the buffet was nice, plenty of choice to suit everyone.
We did the full day valley of the kings and east bank temples with a tour guide who was very knowledgeable, expensive but phenomenal trip and the Egyptologist who accompanied our small group of three families gave us so much information. We also did the felucca and on the way back enjoyed a paddle in the Nile.
Our best move was when we met Hamdy the taxi driver who took us to the museums, Howard carters house, shopping, supermarkets and a full day tour to the Red Sea (£200 for all 7 of us including boat, snorkelling, lunch and island trip, amazing value) Other taxi charges were full accompanied day around luxor for about £20! He made us feel safer against what can be rip off hassle if you are not careful.
In all the holiday was fab, Luxor is a mix of modern and ancient, tourist money and what in parts appears to be Egyptian poverty. They are getting in tough but they look after tourists and the Sofitel Karnak is a wonderful haven, overlooking the Nile and Valley of the Kings. Go for it, we all want to go back!

Room Tip: Cleopatra area near facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for your comments concerning your recent visit at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor spending your holiday and for taking time to put your feed back in the tripadvisor site. We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your positive comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and that we have met your expectations. We place great value on your continued relationship with Accor Hotels.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor or any of Accor Hotels Worldwide.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is very clean, the gardens are superb, the staff are really helpful, making my stay here very memorable. It is also in a romantic setting, on the banks of the Mighty Nile, I would recommend anyone staying here. It is out of Luxor but Luxor is very accessible either by shuttle bus, shuttle boat (a trip not to be missed) or numerlous taxis outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view also have a view of the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Sofitel is a lovely, well run hotel with a relaxed atmosphere and friendly and hard-working staff. My room was not what I would call five-star standard but was nevertheless clean with a free safe, a mini bar, tea making facilities, good sized TV (but with only BBC World News for English speakers) and a hair drier. There was always a good choice of food but sometimes the salads were all too obviously created from the previous dinner's left over vegetables etc. But it would be churlish to complain when catering for a large number of holidaymakers is such a challenge and when all the chefs and waiters were so welcoming and nice. There was always a good choice of main courses from the buffet as well as a 'carvery' meat of the day.
Service in all parts of the hotel was good, including from staff at the poolside and inside bars, waiters (who managed to smile even when rushed off their feet) those manning reception and the room cleaners (who can do wonderful things with towels and flowers if they like you!) I also enjoyed two very good massage sessions in the spa.
A few small criticisms: Despite being told you could exchange sterling for Egyptian pounds at reception, each time I asked, I was told they had no money. Yet when I paid the four Egyptian pounds to use the internet (there is Wi Fi in the reception area but it is very slow) they seemed to have plenty of money! The ATM came in handy. Also, if you are all-inclusive, for some strange reason you can only have sparkling water in the main restaurant and have to pay extra at the poolside restaurant. And you are only allowed wine to accompany meals but not in any of the bars unless you pay for it. So that means you are limited to beer, spirits and cocktails unless eating. There was also come confusion when, after a couple of days, lunches were suddenly stopped in the main restaurant and switched to the outside one with no explanation. A further gripe, although nothing to do with the hotel, was the lack of information about tourist trips. The meeting with the rep told us nothing about the hotel facilities or about the area, with the emphasis only on selling excursions. It was pretty obvious there is great rivalry between the trip organisers and when we were offered a couple of excursions more cheaply from someone else we were warned we were being ripped off, would lose our money, and should cancel. All this proved untrue and we enjoyed two excursions with a knowledgeable guide. These trips were just for our group AND we did not have to pay an extra £10 for a 'private' tour as requested by the original organiser. So do not settle for the first offer but ask around to get the best deal. It is a bad time for Egypt and any business is welcomed. Also, be firm and say 'no' if you do not want to be taken to an alabaster 'museum' (shop) papyrus factory (shop) or perfume maker (shop) during your tour. I participated in three of the main excursions - a boat trip up the Nile (but not in the promised sail boat as there was no wind on that day!) to Banana Island where, not surprisingly there is a banana plantation, to the West Bank for the Valley of the Kings and temples, and to the East Bank to Luxor and Karnak temples followed by a pony and carriage ride through Luxor which included a rather hair raising trot through the local market where space is very limited to say the least. But it would have been nice to have known I could have visited Carter's house and a few other sites, as well as perhaps being informed by someone that there were interesting bars to go to such as the one mentioned by a previous reviewer here. The occasional 'break out' from the hotel to have a drink elsewhere would have made a nice change. Sometimes with an all-inclusive break you miss out on touching base with local bars and restaurants and getting a feel for the area.
The Luxor Sofitel is right on the bank of the Nile and you can get a shuttle boat across to Luxor but from what I heard, the town did not have much to offer visitors and a trip there often meant being hassled and even 'stalked' by someone trying to sell you something.
But this hotel is lovely and was a welcome break away from Britain's bitterly cold Easter. It is a peaceful haven and provides a completely different Egyptian trip from the likes of Sharm on the Red Sea. And it was the first time ever I have witnessed guests linking up with each other and becoming friends for the week.The ideal trip seems to be to combine a bit of sight-seeing with doing absolutely nothing but sunning yourself and eating - or relaxing with a drink overlooking the Nile. It might take you some time to find your way around the hotel but initially follow the signs for Reception to locate the restaurant, indoor bar and to slip out to the swimming pool area. I have to disagree with the reviewer who felt music should be continually played - this is a hotel of calm and not a Club 18-30!

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are the most convenient. If you specifically want a room with a double bed and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUE90082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for your comments concerning your recent visit at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor spending your holiday and for taking time to put your feed back in the tripadvisor site. We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your positive comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and that we have met your expectations. We place great value on your continued relationship with Accor Hotels.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor or any of Accor Hotels Worldwide.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Beautiful Hotel it was my first trip here usualy stay in Hurghada, not anymore....
The rooms are very spacious and kept beautifully clean by 2 housekeeping staff whom are polite and courteous. Creamer, coffe, tea and sugar replaced daily with 2 water bottles for your fridge and your room left spotlessly clean with a nice surprise left on the bed for you each time you return to your room.
The gardens are also well maintained and very pristine. The food is vast and if anyone has an issue they re just too fussy,Fries, Steak,Chicken, daily and nightly Lamb, Turkey, weekly all on offer, you can also choose from a selection of vegetarian and salad dishes, but i am aware we all have diffrent tastes.

Being single i did get a bit of hassle for my phone number, date etc, but i spoke to management and they sorted it out immediatley, I thank them for that and every day and night they came and made sure everything was ok, they strike me as a NO-NONSENSE Hotel and i feel that is very good .

1 suggestion-, music at the pool all day instead of just when aqua robics is in progress would be good .
I am going again for 2 weeks in august and stayed in room 1021, would love to get the same room Please

Thankyou to all for a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: 1021 has a 7ft wide bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funkymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
4.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
3.4 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
3.0 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#13 of 54 in Luxor
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Property: Mercure Luxor Karnak
Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing