We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is the Jewel of the Nile. A lovely hotel in stunning grounds that are beautifully maintained. The staff were so efficient and friendly and could not do enough to help. The food was a delight with an amazing choice. What a shame that the hotel did not have more people although this made the holiday even more relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and assuring that we will keep maintaining our quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future at your 02nd home Sofitel Karnak-Luxor.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have just enjoyed a most delightful week at the Sofitel Karnak in Egypt.
I spend my life (travel journalist) visiting hotels around the world. For an overall experience this
is up there with the very best.
Cleanliness is the outstanding factor at the Sofitel; you could eat your food off the dining room floor, it is that clean. Talking about food: superb, interesting and beautifully presented. Are we really talking about Egypt?
I had the good fortune to visit the very latest addition to this wonderful hotel, the Nubian restaurant. A gastronomic experience.
If you are visiting the Luxor area do not miss this palace on the East Bank.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DoctorAlban186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This year my wife and I decided that we would like a little sun and warmth away from the British February weather,but did not want to risk the sometimes cloudy and windy weather that the Canary Islands can produce at this time of the year. We opted for Luxor Egypt and was not disappointed, every day blue skies, temperatures in the seventies and eighties,a couple of breezy days but never too strong and always warm. We stopped at the Hotel Sofitel Karnak. which is perfectly sited, with a free river taxi and mini bus to luxor.The reception area, dining rooms and bars could not be faulted. Bedrooms were always clean and towels replaced daily if required. All the staff, from management to gardeners were very polite and so helpful,nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The only minus I could possibly give this hotel, is that though the food was well varied and attractive it was never quite warm enough for our liking. All in all, This was a very good hotel and holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gordon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Truth be told we got a great price for an all-inclusive package. WE had spent the last week at the Pavillon Winter Palace and this obviously affected our initial feelings as the ambience here is nowhere close.

The reality is the hotel is much more resort like than we generally appreciate, heightened by the over-familiarity of staff, for us this is a no-no. Constantly they ask you your name, how long you are staying and tell you when their next day off is. The obvious motivation is tipping but it is a real turn off. Management - please intervene and do something.

The AI package is ok, nothing more. They seem to have relented with water and you can now have a bottle rather than a glass - this probably gives you the picture. I had read it & it's true, as AI customers you get the feeling you are second rate. The staff seem less motivated where cash & tips are not changing hands.

The hotel did grow on us but it certainly was not instant. The pool area is great, large and quiet. The rooms although dated are comfortable and good value. Bathrooms need renewal but are adequate.

It's not 5 star and probably needs to consider its identity. We had reasonable expextations. I would stay here again but don't feel hooked. Next time I will be balancing future reviews against other hotels I'm afraid. Lots of potential here and perhaps this hotel is a victim of the current tourist slump more than others.

Room Tip: First floor for privacy but small balconies. Ground floor rooms offer a small terrace if you get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XaghraDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Luxor hotels are mostly almost empty at the moment, so we had modest expectations on arrival at the Karnak Sofitel. We were completely enchanted by this delightful spot within a very short time of our arrival. It is situated well away from the hustle and bustle of the city, in acres of beautifully tended gardens.
Rooms are quite large and have either a delightful garden view, or partial pool or Nile view. Each room has a very comfortable bed, adequate storage, a small seating area and either a terrace or balcony. We chose a terrace, which was shady and furnished with table and chairs, a delightful spot for sipping morning tea as we watched the marvellous bird life.
There is a gorgeous pool area, with lagoon shaped pool,pool bar, adjacent children's pool and an additional children's pool for smaller children in the lovely play area. Plenty of sun loungers are available,both near the pool and dotted among the palm trees in the gardens sloping down to the Nile. Close by the pool is a shady Palmerie casual dining and barbecue restaurant offering both a la carte and fixed menu lunch. If you choose the good value all inclusive option that the hotel offers, then this is the spot for an excellent lunch.
Evening dining includes several options, the la carte ONile restaurant overlooks the Nile,and the main dining room, with gorgeous outdoor terrace offers wonderful buffet meals, changing each evening. Chef Achmed is passionate about offering guests his country's Egyptian dishes, which are so delicious, and hugely popular with diners. The groaning dessert table has tempting daily pastries, locally grown fruits, and daily specials. There is clearly a talented pastry chef at work here. Additionally. There is an attractive Nubian restaurant by the hotel's gate, but we did it not have the pleasure of sampling the menus.
Most tourists staying are with large organised groups, and explore the treasures of Luxor, the West Bank and Karnak on organised tours, but it is easy to explore by using one of the taxis stationed at the hotel. They will quote you a price for the places you wish to visit, and happily wait at sites while you visit. We were very happy with Sayed , who did not overcharge, spoke good English, and was proud to show us his beloved Egypt.
The hotel runs both a minibus and river boat into Luxor, but as tourists are few at the moment, they only ran twice a day into the city.
This Sofitel was one of the nicest hotels we have ever had the pleasure of staying at, and one we will happily use on future visits to Upper Egypt.

Room Tip: A Nile view is pleasant, but not really worth the supplement, and the garden rooms have delightful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just come back from from from a week's stay at the Sofitel Karnak and had a really good time. We've stayed at Sharm el Sheik and Hurghada before but the location of this hotel is far better. It's perfectly situated for visiting the sights of Luxor and the surrounding area but far enough out of the centre to be relaxing and hassle free. The service at the hotel was excellent with friendly and attentive staff. The food was very good with plenty of variety. The only down side is that the bathrooms are looking a little tired and our balcony was small and in the shade all day. That said the rooms were spacious and and the bed linen was crisp and clean. Don't remember if the bed was comfortable, I was asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow! Enjoyed seeing the Whoopee birds pecking around in the well maintained gardens and the Pied Kingfishers diving for fish in the Nile at the bottom of the gardens. All in all a really good holiday with the best all inclusive package that we've come across so far.

Room Tip: A Nile view and sunny balcony would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a very relaxing holiday over Christmas, great pool and heated too ! set in attractive grounds, friendly helpful staff.

We stayed all inclusive which was well worth the money. Bear in mind the staff work long hours for very little, A small Tip daily will ensure you are well looked after, made all the difference to our stay

Free courtesy bus from the hotel into Luxor several times a day, Hotel also has a boat which runs twice daily into Luxor... again this is also free although does need to be pre-booked from the guys at the towel station by the pool.

Tip... If not staying all inclusive, there is a shop just outside the hotel for purchasing drinks... walk out of the hotel along the drive to the main gate, turn left and its there

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
4.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
3.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
4.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
3 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $39 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing