We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely hotel and staff shame about the noise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Luxor Karnak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff shame about the noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked a very last minute deal to Sofitel Karnak in Luxor to stay for one week.

On arrival we were very impressed with the hotel reception and received welcome drinks. A porter then took us/ our bags to our room. We had a Nile view and would definitely recommend this.

The hotel/ pool area was very clean and the range of food under the all inclusive board basis was fantastic.

I did not enjoy the entertainment in the evening - in Carters bar there was a singer from 20.00 - 23.00 most nights singing the same songs and taking a 30 minute break every hour and caught him eating at the restaurant a few times during this break by the end of the holiday it became a bit of a joke between customers as everyone knew he was going on another break to eat yet again haha! And during this break a pre recorded DVD was played - this included songs from last christmas including a Justin Beiber christmas track - hardly appropriate!
Hotel: If I can give you any advice please change this entertainment!

Would like to make a special announcement to Terry (one of the waiters at the poolside bar) for being an exceptional member of staff. He was very friendly, always happy to help, very efficient and constantly had a smile on his face and we gave him a nice tip when we left : )

Overall we were extremely happy with our stay however we were woken up from 3am - 7am about 4 of the nights due to the mosque and a dog nearby constantly barking this was a real shame as the beds were extremely comfortable.

All in all a great hotel and great staff just stay in the quiet section in the hotel away from the mosque and hopefully the evening entertainment will be reviewed.

Room Tip: Stay in a quiet room away from the mosque and a nile view would be recommended but not essential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    468
    199
    65
    39
See reviews for
334
656
112
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just got back from a weeks stay at the Sofitel Karnack Hotel. The facilities were wonderful. It just on the north side of Luxor in a quiet location right on the east bank of the nile. If you've stayed in the iddle of Luxor, you will appreciate the quiet position. The food was of a good standard and as much as you wanted. A previous reviewer stated he felt like a second class citizen when opting for the all inclusive package. Yes the drinks are in smaller glasses but you can have as many as you like. Yes the minibar in the room was limited to two free bottles of water but you can get as many as you want from the various bars and restaurants on site. The shuttle bus driver will drop you off at Karnak or Luxor temple, the museum or any other place en route to the winter palace. The boat will do the same. We found that, having done the nile cruise the week before, we wanted to visit places for a longer look around but didn't want the strain of a long day out. So we took the bus shuttle into Luxor, saw our sights and then got the shuttle boat back in time for lunch. The staff were excellent. Always willing to help and not one of them hinted they wanted a tip. As for the previous reviewer complaining about the flies. In a hot climate near a river, you will always get flies and there were numerous fly traps around the pool area - you can't make the flies go in the traps but loads did! It was only when the weather was extra warm with no wind that they became noticable. We had an a la carte dinner in the Onile restaurant one night. You get either a free set dinner there or pay for an la carte meal. Because the wine we chose and the sweet course we had was the same served with the set dinner, the manager said there would be no charge for them. The food there was excellent with large portions. All in all a great stay in an hotel we can thoroughly recommend. Guaranteed weather as good as Goa with only half the flying time. its a no-brainer really.

Room Tip: Being on the first floor helps but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anniversarycouple28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The air conditioner in our room is broken, so we called the reception to fix it, but after three times call still no one showed, and I went to the lobby (not near my room) and asked to change the room. The servants in the reception seems impatient all the time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrificln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had a wonderful week at the Sofitel Karnak in Feb 13 I think some of the previous reviews really don't do the hotel justice. Yes, the food isn't exactly 5 star but it's perfectly edible and given I paid less than £300 for a week all inclusive and you would pay more than that per night in the UK, there isn't too much to complain about.

The room was perfect, spacious with a terrace and although he bathroom was a little dated, it was perfectly acceptable. It was cleaned daily and when I asked for more coffee, that was no problem. I was very fond of my elephant in the room! (made of towels).

The hotel's shuttle boat and bus services are really useful although taxis were extraordinarily cheap. I used a good taxi driver who waited at the gates of the hotel for trips most days and took a guided trip one day to the Temple of Karnak. To visit all the major sites (Temples of Karnak and Luxor, the light show and thr Valley of the Kings, museum at Luxor, the market and another temple in the West Bank) £150 spending money was sufficient. Ask the other guests for a recommended taxi and stick to the same one for the duration of the trip. There are massive petrol and diesel shortages in Egypt at the moment and the queues outside the petrol stations were like nothing you've seen before so it is good to support the local drivers.

Beware of the hassle outside the hotel. Learn "la, shokran" or no thank you which you'll need! There was no hostility but it got very frustrating after a while and I felt frustrated at times. The Valley of the Kings was a bit ruined because I was pestered the entire time! This was despite following advice and being fully covered up! I hope that things change in Egypt in this respect as as previous reviewers have said, Egypt needs to get the old number of tourists back.


Back to the hotel, the best bits were the magnificent pool area, well equipped gym and all inclusive drinks which included cocktails. It was so hot that I got through a lot of drinks during the day! Breakfast was the best meal - the selection of breads and omelettes were amazing. Lunch was nothing to shout about, an afternoon drink at the Sundowner cafe to watch the sunset was incredible and dinner was fine. I didn't come to Egypt for the food really and although i did try the Egyptian specialities, I stuck to mostly plain foods. That was ok though and I avoided any tummy upset.

The staff really make the experience, they are always smiling and happy to help. I'd love to go back just to be treated so well again. I went away because I needed a break from it all and this hotel offered the perfect combination of an all inclusive luxury hotel, sunshine and the opportunity to visit some of the oldest buildings in the world. I'd be very happy to go back - roll on next February! I've given the hotel 5 stars because even though it wasn't perfect, it was as close to perfection as I might have wished for!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper - there is a call to prayer at 5am that you can hear from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaymakerabdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very much appreciated to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Luxor Karnak. It is always a pleasure to receive client’s feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from Luxor, very quiet at the moment with tourists compared to what they are geared up to cater for both in the hotel and generally, quite an advantage really. The locals are desperate for your business and we were adequately warned by the Thomas Cook rep what tricks to expect, if you normally holiday in a non-arab country you will get a culture shock, if you take sensible precautions and make sensible arrangements you can enjoy all Luxor has to offer safely.
By this I mean in your manner of dress, what you carry on your person, where you go, how you travel and when you travel. There are many beautiful and interesting places to go and things to see but it is a different culture,be prepared and enjoy. Sofitel Karnak is a great hotel used by respectable people and entirely as described on their website and that of tour operators such as Thomas Cook, there was no animation team or use of the outdoor ampitheatre at the moment but there was plenty to do and enjoy, for example tennis,table tennis,squash,croquet,gym,jacuzzi,sauna,swimming pool,tv in room, free bus and boat transfer to centre (otherwise £2 taxi fare if times not suitable) the rooms are spacious and well equipped, no noise problem from other guests,comfortable beds and everything clean,food and drinks quality and selection consistently high, no upset tummies. I did not feel under pressure to tip anyone within the hotel and it was never requested, outside the hotel was a completely different story - even the guides/bus drivers etc on the tour operator trips openly asked you to show your appreciation - they had done the job you had paid them to do adequately, in most cases you didnt need them and could have used a taxi for one-tenth of the cost to visit sights independantly, so having paid an inflated price for their service (and protection?) should you need to pay again or were they also attempting to exploit by scaring you into needing their services? I think the answer depends on the individual, as a T Cook trip can cost £64 to visit a temple whose entrance fee is £3 that leaves £60 per person for transportation by boat/coach, an average meal and a guide for an hour out of a full day

Room Tip: all rooms are gf or ff and secure and well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happyholsWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak-Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive client's feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

[131]



Subject: Sofitel Karnak Luxor
Location: Luxor, Nile River Valley, Egypt, Africa
Title: Just far enough away....
ID#: 152032940

Agree with many of previous reviews. Firstly though cut through the madness at Luxor airport and do not deal with anyone who approaches you regards the obligatory visa. Go straight to one of the two small bank windows situated far left and you will pay half the price, $15.00 p.p.
Grew fonder of the Sofitel as days went on. A few km's outside Luxor town it is gloriously quiet, just far enough away from the town, very well appointed with lovely well kept grounds and bordering the Nile which was spectacular from Sundowner bar.
Went all-inc for first time ever with some trepidation, obviously the evening dining experience is not the same as being served and is over rather too quickly but the food is appetising and we very much enjoyed the more authentic dishes. There is no night life as such, enjoyed belly dancing etc which is on most Fridays. The only bar is very dark and the singer rather loud precluding conversation but seemed full every evening after dinner. Breakfast very good with the exception of the orange juice which the excellent manager assures us will be upgraded. Coffee great which makes a change! Variety of bars and virtually anything you like during the day from the most friendly and attentive staff. Most amused by the variety of animals that had been fashioned from towels left on our bed to return to after a long day, Ebeed especially attentive!
Felt a bit silly in a wrist band, especially if dressed up a bit for the evening, would be good to have a much slimmer white one if an alternative could not be found. (A discreet removable small stamp on inside wrist perhaps?)
Loved the courtesy boat, made a lovely mini cruise. We took 4 trips, must sees are Valley of Kings, Habou Temple, Karnak and Luxor Temples and we spent a long day cruising the Nile on the way to Dandara, set off at 6.15 am and not back till 8.15, probably a couple of hours too long. This due to a really enthusiastic and informed guide at the Temple resulting in the delay.
Spend a bit of time getting a guide to suit you by talking to others who have been there a few days or pre-book using a Luxor guide website. The balloon trip highly recommended by those who partook.
Very sad to see the lack of tourists making life desperate for the locals. As a result there is some hassle on the quaysides but you learn to deal with it. Make sure the price you negotiate for taxi , carriage ride or Felucca is adhered to, we were surprised to be asked separately for the horse and driver!
If you decide to eat out in the evening taking your own wine or beer where none is offered is quite acceptable in some restaurants.
Our holiday aim was to combine their wonderful culture with some sun, both came up trumps.
If you are looking for opulence you might choose the Winter Palace Hotel but having sampled both we prefer the less stuffy and extremely friendly Sofitel. Happy holiday!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have bigger sitting out areas. Ask for view of Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julian37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sofitel Karnak-Luxor to spend your recent holiday . We are greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests in the trip advisor site and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards.

Many thanks for your comments, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.


Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was my 7th visit to Egypt and we spent one week on a Nile cruise followed by a week at Sofitel Karnak.
The Nile cruise aboard MS Lady Mary was superb and highly recommended.
Unfortunately the week at Sofitel Karnak was a bit disappointing. In fairness the cleanliness of the hotel is great and the staff are generally very friendly. However, the food was the worst I have experienced in Egypt, it was bland and poorly presented. Another let down was the flies around the pool area, it was difficult to relax due the amount of flies which was a shame as the views of the Nile are amazing.
All in all I would recommend the Nile cruise but probably not the hotel.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank add144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelKarnak, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to review your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Karnak Luxor. It is always a pleasure to receive the client's feedback, it is only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests we will be able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be at Sofitel Karnak with a lot of improvements as you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Gamal Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
4.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
3.3 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#8 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Luxor Karnak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Luxor Karnak

Property: Mercure Luxor Karnak
Address: El Zinia Gebly Street, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Luxor Karnak 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the majestic Nile in one of the most exciting & intriguing settings, Karnak Resort Luxor lets you experience the timeless & exotic beauty of Luxor, 6 km from the city center,18 km from the Luxor international airport, 3 km from the glorious Karnak Temple. Savor the wide selection of fine cuisines at our main restaurant or a-la-carte restaurant "O'Nile". Discover ancient history at your doorstep in any of our 347 rooms& suites or enjoy the vast leisure facilities the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Luxor Karnak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Karnak Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Karnak Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing