We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a Short Stay, But read if you plan a longer stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2011

There is a lot to like about the Pavillon Winter Luxor and if you plan to stay only a day or two, it could be a good choice, however if you plan to stay longer, consider reading further. We stayed one week between Christmas and New Years and became very familiar with the property which shares the same facilities, grounds, swimming pool and pool bar with the Winter Palace, but it is a separate building. Check in was fast and efficient; however we were given a room with twin beds rather then a king/queen bed. The hotel was completely booked and they were unable to provide us with the booked accommodation, but promised to move us ASAP. With nothing available for 24 hours, we decided to keep the room. All the rooms are newly and beautifully refurbished, however construction to expand the property will continue for at least another year and the sound of jackhammers is present throughout the day but quite at night. My husband who spent a fair amount of time at the pool said the noise didn’t really bother him, but sitting on our balcony during the day, I found the noise very annoying. All rooms face the beautiful garden/pool area and not the massive construction site; however rooms at either end of the complex (we were in 4003) may be a bit noisier during the day and seem to get a lot of dust from the construction site. As noted the rooms are fine for a quick in and out but if you stay longer a few things are bothersome. Our biggest complaint was the lack of air conditioning. We were told that they turn it off to the rooms, but not to the building, during the winter months because the temperatures fluctuate so much that it is hard on the system. Unfortunately the days are warm and we often wished we could put on the A/C. At night the temps are quite cool and you don’t need the A/C however if you leave the balcony doors open, mosquitoes and flies are quick to follow you in as there are no screen doors. We complained to Management and were provided a fan which just moved around the hot air. They also is a lot of dust/sand/dirt in the air normally (the construction adds a good deal more!) and we both ended up with sinus problems; having A/C might have helped avoid this. The rooms are beautifully refurbished however the bathroom counter is very deep and makes it difficult to get close to the mirror to shave or put on makeup. There are no towel rakes close to the sink. One bottle of water is complimentary upon arrival, after that you are expected to purchase water even though they advise you not to drink the tap water. As expected, all services are much more expensive at this luxury hotel. Using the Pavillon Winter hotel’s airport to hotel transfer is 25 EUROS (about 188LE), using a taxi from the airport to the hotel is 25LE (with a fair amount of hassle) and hiring a ground supplier (we used Eye of the Horus) was $10 USD or about 57LE. Poolside, 3 tiny scoops of ice cream was 54LE and beers 40LE. If you need to use the internet regularly, consider bringing your own computer as they charge 150LE/24 hours or 80LE /1 hour. There is one computer in the lobby which is free and frequently in use. We also learned that you can take your computer over to the lobby of the Winter Palace and connect there for free or by the pool bar/pool area. Towards the end of our stay we realized that we could frequently get the internet free in our room (slow!) and on the balcony (faster) but free! During the week, we experienced several brief power outages. Mid afternoon they served complementary fruit skewers around the pool, a nice touch. The location of the Pavillon Winter Luxor is on the Corniche and next to Luxor Temple. We walked to Sinbad’s (5 minutes) for evening cocktails (beer 8LE), but the majority of restaurants we wanted to eat at were a rather unpleasant (honking horns, frequently hustled, uneven or no sidewalk) 15-20 minute walk away in the area of St Joseph Street (Lanterns, Puddleduck, Taste of India, Jewel of the Nile, Oasis). We did not try the food at the Winter Palace or Pavillon except to have breakfast which was included in the room rate. Breakfast was acceptable, lots of choices but all pretty standard and average. No pork products. Overall, we did enjoy our stay here. The garden and grounds are beautiful, the service acceptable but not great, the rooms comfortable except for lack of A/C, however, I don’t believe we would return, especially for a longer stay. Any questions, feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 765 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2010

Just back from two weeks in Luxor, we found the Pavillon a fantastic bargain. The pool was a joy, never overcrowded and always a pleasant temperature. The room was spacious the TV worked without having to read the handbook or ask guidance from the staff (not always our experience), The food was boring as your other correspondents suggested and the 'fine dining experience' in the 1868 restaurant expensive and poor ( 1960's type cuisine at its pretentious worse) but we were happy to excuse all the faults for the amusement value and in appreciation of its many virtues. Perhaps the prices were high but you knew exactly what the charge would be, unlike those on the street where you had to haggle for everything and prices were never marked. The building works didn't affect us at all and we didn't even know that the Saturday buffet operated. Perhaps it didn't over Christmas?

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contrarymary16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

What can I say, paid under £50 per night for this hotel and upon arrival had thought we were at the wrong hotel. We were walking through the grounds of a palace, palm trees on both sides, reception and decors of a 5 star hotel and the room as well very roomy, comfy and luxorious. The best part was that there was a balcony which overlooked the gardens of palm trees etc. Free wifi from the balcony as well. The breakfast was also great!! Walking distance from Luxor Museum and the nile. The grounds are amazing..the pool is great and overall a must stay for you all!! Of course this is based on the price we paid..had we paid £150 per night then all the above would be expected as standard

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isotonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

The rooms are spacious,spotlessly clean and the huge gardens superb –both by day and in the romantically lighted evenings. The staff are polite,professional and multilingual.
It's excellent location and attractive rooms make it a good choice and we will surely return there .
BUT BEWARE the Saturday night folklore Buffet .The food was a large variety of Egyptain dishes ranging from the bland to the dull .
The BBQ steaks were stringy flank Steak ,as thin as bacon strips .The desserts were as usual syrupy but the pistachio fillings were scarce.
The “folklore”consisted of two ladies introduced as belly dancers .I’m not an expert on belly dancing but I’ve seen it often enough ( in Egypt and other Middle Eastern countries) to recognize it.
The younger of the two ladies performance might have passed muster as “bump and grind” in a second rate strip club. Any resemblance to belly dancing was purely coincidental.
The other lady whose “best before date” was approaching my own,may have seen a few real belly dance performances and was attempting an imitation thereof.
The music was so loud that we could hardly converse at our table. My request to the F+B Mgr to lower the volume was met with :”If the music isn’t loud she can’t move her body”!!

THE PRICE EGP 180 (US$32.-)

The Cherry on the Sunday : A bottle of Mineral water EDG 40 (U.S.$ 7.00 ) ten times the outside price!!
An equivalent ,but very much tastier,meal in a nearby, upper middle class, Egyptian restaurant would cost EGP 60 (U.S.$ 11.00).
Conclusion
Do stay at the hotel but eat outside
TRANSPORT
Every time we come to Egypt our transport is arranged by the super –friendly Mr.Maghrapy of El Sherif Tours.
e-mail<maghrapy@elsheriftours.com>
<<elsheriftours@yahoo.com>>
www.elsheriftours.com

His modern air –con minibusses are driven by careful, professional drivers whose English is sufficient to understand where we want to go , what time to pick us up ,etc.
I particularly appreciate their punctuality. They’re usually a bit early and they’re NEVER late. That makes for a relaxing trip.

We’re coming back to Egypt again next September and we’re already looking forward to our return and to seeing Maghrapy waiting for us at the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

What a fantastic way to relax after enjoying and enduring all that is Luxor. The grounds are spectacular, and the rooms are huge.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Watford
13
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Despite having arrived at 8am on the pre-booked arrival day, courtesy of the overnight sleeping train from Cairo, we approached the hotel with a view to finding out if they could store our luggage until we could check-in. (3pm stated as minimum on the booking) They not only did that but asked us to wait half an hour to see if they could find a room for early take over. They did and it was marvellous. We spent a wonderful day in the gardens and at the poolside restaurants. The Winter Palace gardens are a sanctuary of peace, much needed if using overland transport!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Many reviewers had complained about the refurbishment of this hotel, spoiling their stay. Noise from workmen reducing the relaxing atmosphere. When I stayed overnight in December, all work seemed to be completed. My room was large, freshly decorated and well up to a 4 star standard. The staff and reception were efficient and friendly and the gardens were very attractive. We ate at the poolside "Italian", the food was adequate if unexciting, and not too expensive. The buffet breakfast was typical of Egyptian hotels of this standard and was as good as any I had in Egypt, whilst not being up to the best European hotels. My impression was one of satisfaction and very good value. I would use this hotel again.
One disappointment, was the much vaunted "high tea" across at the Winter Palace. The Victoria room was indeed very attractive, but if you were expecting a Clarridges type tea, then don't go. The sandwiches and cakes were old and stale, the Earl Grey was incredibly weak. We didn't eat it and the room manager didn't appear too suprised when we rejected the items. No request for payment was made.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
915 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#11 of 54 in Luxor
1,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Winter Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $53 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing