We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Pool & Gardens with the Old Hotel Prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
146 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Pool & Gardens with the Old Hotel Prices!”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Great place to stay in Luxor. Get the lovely gardens & great pool of the Old inter Place without paying top dollar for their rooms. The Old Winter Palace is a beuatiful building and the location & service are great but you can save a lot of money by staying in the perfectly presentable new Pavilion wing with more modern rooms, overlooking the gardens. Service was good by Egytian standards, the location is great, right on the Nile a 2 minute walk from Luxor temple. The only issue is the restaurants which are either very formal and very quiet in the Old Hotel or too informal/casual right by the poolside - it would be better with a slightly nicer poolside restaurant which catered for a "proper" evening meal. Having said that the food in the Egyptian rstaurant was quite good. Overall a good hotel probably the best in Luxor which offers a great calm oasis from the heat and "hassle" of the amazing cultural sites

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KL_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    213
    50
    23
    8
See reviews for
134
329
95
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Just spent 2 weeks in Pavillon and would definitley go back again, first couple of days had to have breakfast in Winter Palace then rest of time in Pavillon so was spoilt for choice at first (you name it, it was there for breakfast) then sadly a little restricted for choice (had to ask for muesli as in my eyes cereals on offer where kiddies cereals i.e cocopops etc and never any tomatoes)
Having said that hotel is set in fabulous grounds great pool with varying depths. Yes rooms are a little dated but great size and well cleaned with fresh towels and beds changed every day.
Staff very friendly and can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franksy411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The Wuinter Palace perfectly suited all six of us. (children ranged from 9 to 19) Upgraded to suites in the Pavillon, we were near to the pool but got to eat breakfast in the old hotel - truly the best of both worlds. The gardens are sumptious and the staff very attentive. An absolute bargain for the price although extra food and drinks are not cheap. However, we wouldn't have missed the experience of sipping cocktails on the terrace over looking the Nile for anything
We used a local operator, Hassany Moressy. to organise trips to the West Bank, Cairo, on the river etc .........( hassany488@hotmail.com). He provided an air conditioned mini-bus, knowledgeable guides and was cheaper than packages offered through the tour operators.
He even picked us up at the airport on arrival.
All in all, a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErskineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We were given the option of changing our booked hotel, The Mecure, due to building work taking place. We choose to rebook at the Pavillion Winter Palace. Soooo glad we did. The hotel was fantastic. Breakfast was not served in its usual resturant, but in the Winter Palace Hotel. The rooms were very clean, all staff curteous and friendly and even the room service meals were excellent and very affordable. (Fillet steak and ships LE55 (£6.00)).
We are going again next year, and we know where we shall be staying.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Woods_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

It's all in that title - the location was central and everything within Luxor was walkable to. The pool was superb in every respect and the gardens beautiful. Buffet breakfast was of a good quality and a wide selection. We were in the Pavillion Wing, large rooms with great air con. Would reccommend rooms 4020 - 4015 as they face the Nile for views of the sunset and west bank. Food from the pool-side restaurant during the day excellent and good value.

Negatives -
*Our room seemed great on the surface but we noticed problems over time. The fridge was broken, the shower head broke on the last but one day and was not fixed, a lightbulb blew and was not replaced.
*Don't trust the shops in the hotel arcade they will ask for a rediculous price (10 pounds for a post card) and even if you aggree a good price they will claim they have no change to try and take more money - walk away!
*The Egyptian restaurant by the pool in the evening was only mediocre and quite pricey. Instead we would reccommend El Kebabgy, right on the Nile directly opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culturevulture80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

For what was probably our 7th or 8th visit to the Pavillion Wing of the Winter Palace, we took along our 7 yr old daughter. The rooms do feel a little tired compared to some of the newer hotels in Luxor, but they are continuously cleaned and replenished, ensuring that doesn't matter, and the shower has the capacity to fire you into next week! The pool area is far and away the best in Luxor, with very well maintained gardens, that you could almost forget you are in the middle of a desert! The only minor drawback was the fact that breakfast had to be taken in the Old Winter Palace, and the restaraunt there is just not large enough, leading to queues at peak times. Yes there is a dress code for in there, but to be honest it's only common sense and basic manners, after all, who wants to eat breakfast surrounded by people in their swimming gear?
The location is fantastic as you are far enough away from from the other bars / restaraunts not to be bothered by any noise. 10 Egyptian will get you a taxi into the area of town where they are. Check in / Check out, simple. Views from spacious balconies onto the Gardens relaxing, 40 odd degs of heat every day. Have stayed elsewhere in Luxor, always return to Winter Palace.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wilkymufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Just returned from 4 nights at the Pavillion Winter.
Overall I was very impressed with the hotel. It is very majestic, and in its hey day must have been a sight to behold. Saying that, the hotel is on the old side and needs to be refurbished. The carpets etc are all different colours (thats how old they are).
Location was good, just next to the Luxor Temple, and a short walk away from anything (if you wanted to risk venturing out of the hotel alone), and just accross from the Nile.
The pool was FANTASTIC, and the gardens of the hotel are AMAZING. I think this is what won it for me..... the gardens combined with the pool were like an amazing oasis. It was a tropical paradise!
Breakfast, (which was included) was very dissapointing. Not very much choice, and the plates were tiny... they were no bigger than side plates. So this was very inconvenient.
The Hilton Ramses in Cairo won hands down in this department.
Staff were courteous and friendly.

So we did our tours in the morning and then had the afternoon to ourselves. We booked our tours through a reccomendation on here with Mr. Hassany [--]
And would reccomend to everyone going to Luxor. Friendly and efficient service. It felt like you were a friend being looked after, and not like a client. Must give a shout out to Abdul.... the best tour guide around!!!!... we even got to see one or two places which the normal tourist would never get to see... so that was an added bonus!!!

Luxor overall was lush green and tropical. Be aware however, there are people constantly preying on tourists, and there is the potential to be ripped off (i learnt this the hard way). There is a price for locals and one for tourists.. and you will find the prices are never displayed. Also, just standing outside of the hotel, you get harrassed by either taxis or people wanting you to take horse rides around the town. They dont take no for an answer, and it does get a bit tiring after a while to be constantly bombarded.

So take my advise... get in touch with Mr. Hass and he will look after you!!!

Overall opinion of hotel... A bit old and tired, but definately the best I have seen in Luxor from driving around.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Winter Luxor

Property: Pavillon Winter Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Luxor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing