We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect place for visiting sights in Luxor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    198
    47
    22
    5
See reviews for
127
309
86
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Staying here with the family as we speak. We have interconnecting rooms on 5th floor overlooking the gardens which is lovely. The staff are attentive and the concierge Mohamed Ali is very helpful. The location is fantastic as you're central. Some of the restaurants that are highly recommended on here are a short taxi drive away, 40 Egytpian pounds return. The pool and garden area are tranquil and peaceful. Nice to relax after the sightseeing.
Unfortunately there are Mosquitos in the room and I've been bitten many times and the a/c isn't working properly. So I slept badly, but the rest of the family were ok. Also once you step outside the hotel the kalesh drivers can drive you mad....seriously harass you and follow you as you walk along. I had to hold my childrens hands tightly and navigate them away each time.
In terms of its rating I would say this was a 4 star rather than 5. Having said that we've enjoyed our time here 3 days and now checking into the Hilton. Would recommend for location, grounds and good staff and service.

Room Tip: Higher floor and overlooking the pools and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EADXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel. There is free Internet. The rooms are OK, but we had problems with mosquitoes in our room since we checked in. We reported it and a housekeeping member of the staff came in with an insecticide, sprayed the whole room and asked us to leave the room for 20min. While it worked for that night, the next day the mosquitoes were in our room again, this time we asked for a room change. Still, I sprayed myself with mosquito repellent before going to sleep. The staff does try its best but lacks some english language skills. I had to speak to five different members of the staff to get complimentary water. Traffic noise from the street and prayer calls could be heard. I did regret not choosing the Hilton instead.

We had dinner at Safra, 10min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaZet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalais, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Clean spacious rooms, large balcony, courteous staff and very good selection for breakfasts. The hotel is set in the most beautiful large gardens along with the large pool and very comfortable sunbeds. It is a haven of peace and tranquility within busy Luxor. We would definitely return to this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to family and friends. A big thank you to all the courteous and professional staff within the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Clean quiet rooms, courteous staff, ample and varied breakfast. A few of rooms are a bit tired, but not in any way that diminishes pleasure. Massages good value. Pool and pool restaurant are excellent. Beautiful gardens and very convenient for ferries, shopping and Luxor temple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Winter Palace hotel comes in two parts, the original grand old hotel facing the Nile and the modern Pavilion that is situated in the grounds (but about as far away as possible from the older building). We stayed in the Pavilion which in some respects is run as a separate hotel (separate check-in for example) but for most purposes it is just like a modern annex to the main building. Most of the facilities seem to be shared between the two hotels, such as restaurants, the extensive gardens, the pool, and the famous tea on the terrace facing the river.
The Pavilion is a pretty nondescript modern building with rather average rooms and bathrooms. There are big terraces though. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The pool is quite magnificent -- it is huge with an area for children and is heated, apparently even in the coldest weather. There are several restaurants to choose from and the three we tried were all very good. One restaurant which we didn't try had a dress code. The internet facilities were not up to scratch, a promised wifi signal just wasn't there in the rooms. The location in Luxor is very good in one respect, it's close to the major sights. In another respect it's awful. Because it's in the center of things there is an assembly of touts and hustlers waiting to descend on you the minute you set foot outside the hotel. They try to sell you boat rides, statuettes, camel rides, tours, taxis -- you name it. And they don't take no for answer. (If you say No, they say, Why not??) We tried a walk along the Nile outside the hotel but gave up after a few minutes because the hassle was just too overwhelming. If you are accompanied by a guide though you will be left alone. We would probably stay somewhere further from the center if we visit again, just to avoid all the hassle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eric g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having 3 weeks in Luxor in December but can only have week here , would love the 3 weeks!! but staying at Lotus again , staff are great in both hotels managed a fantasic deal in Pavilion for 1 week.
I had already bookked Lotus , but had flight 3week for cost of two so very good deal
number of years since I stayed in the Pavilion but standard were high pool and setting out of this world , pease and quite , if you don't want the busy town, but you must go out side the hotel and mix with the locals, the kalesh are not at the side now they have had to move !!
If you go to Egypt like Turkey, please expect some Hassle no trade for 2 years just say no thank you or buy t shirt with it written on in Arabic and English NO THANKS BEEN THERE

Room Tip: Going Dec 2012 going to do some more tonbs ad last time was Tutencarmun and Neffratti you can go ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#8 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor

Property: Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Luxor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing