We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going again 34 trip to Luxor was there in Feb 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Going again 34 trip to Luxor was there in Feb 2012”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having 3 weeks in Luxor in December but can only have week here , would love the 3 weeks!! but staying at Lotus again , staff are great in both hotels managed a fantasic deal in Pavilion for 1 week.
I had already bookked Lotus , but had flight 3week for cost of two so very good deal
number of years since I stayed in the Pavilion but standard were high pool and setting out of this world , pease and quite , if you don't want the busy town, but you must go out side the hotel and mix with the locals, the kalesh are not at the side now they have had to move !!
If you go to Egypt like Turkey, please expect some Hassle no trade for 2 years just say no thank you or buy t shirt with it written on in Arabic and English NO THANKS BEEN THERE

Room Tip: Going Dec 2012 going to do some more tonbs ad last time was Tutencarmun and Neffratti you can go ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    213
    53
    24
    8
See reviews for
137
332
96
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
'honorary' Egyptian - Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had yet another wonderful stay at the Pavillon for the month of March 2012 (this must be at least my 20th stay!), so something must be going well. Where to start? The very warm welcome at the Hotel; the wonderful smell of jasmine as you walk through the gardens to the Pavillon; the excellent service from all staff in the restaurants, poolside and just throughout the Winter Palace and Pavillon Hotels; the genuine feeling that staff are pleased to see me as a friend as well as being a guest.
I am generally a solo traveller, but feel so relaxed in the hotels' atmosphere and know that nothing is too much trouble for anyone.
My only concern is 'will my little bubble burst'? - not if I have anything to do with it!!
I know Egypt is still going through tough times, but do not let anything deter you from travelling to Luxor and this hotel - all has remained calm (I stayed in Luxor just after the Revolution).
I cannot wait for my next visit in November!

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors (between 1-14) will give you a lovely view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EgyptianQueen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Well, the rooms are comfortable, and balconies nice, the pool is pretty, and the gardens are just lovely and peaceful. Its the ideal place to stay if you want to get away from the noise and hussle and bussle of Luxor. The room service is however shocking, and food not too good. Breakfast buffet is passable, but nothing compared to the Steigenberger for quality and service.

One huge benefit is you can walk straight out onto the Nile and also to Luxor Temple without needing to take a taxi. The biggest downside is the hassle from kalesh drivers right outside and the hotel has not been able to do anything about it. I got round this by finding a reliable taxi company and always arranged a pick up and drop off, and this really made a difference to a pleasant stay I can't recommend luxor-taxi.com enough for their prompt reliable and polite service. A text message was enough to arrange a pick up even at short notice. Reliable for airport pick ups and drop offs too.

I also stayed here in December 2011, and January 2012... but I do hope they have sorted out the water tanks for the air conditioning units as there were some problems with mosquitoes coming through the air con. I think I will use the Steigenberger next time.... and put up with the noise form the boats!

Room Tip: check the air/con units for mozzies before going to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I don't know if there is any exception for Egypt, but this should be 2 notch lower in Accor classification as Sofitel branding is completely misleading (no more than IMHO)

Very basic standard rooms, although size decent and you may like to have a balcony. I would not rate it more than 2/3 stars in Europe. Limited capabilities in English for staff (when you ask for hair conditioner they send you an engineer for air conditioning one hour later...)

Apart from the room which really fell short of any expectation for Sofitel, the garden shared with the Winter Palace is beautiful and the breakfast area on the terrace is enjoyable for early sun. Although the buffet is more a 3* standard than anything close to Sofitel pretended positioning

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I visited this place in July 2010 (Not able to go back further on the drop down menu).
Anywho, I was very impressed by this hotel. Not to mention it was DIRT cheap. A place like this would easily be $500- 600/night in the city.

Breakfast was okay, the views were lovely. And room service for meals was pretty good. A very romantic stay.

The negatives? We scheduled in-room massages the day prior to when we wanted the massages. When it was time for our appointment, the masseuses never came and kept telling us they were coming up to do the massages. It was so shady and unprofessional. Just messy and tacky. It was disappointing...

The desk staff was questionable. Professionalism wasn't their strong suit, but eh, it didn't seem like it was on purpose. Almost like they just didn't know any better...

All in all it was an okay stay. It was what it was.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The Pavillon Winter Luxor is situated in the Old Winter Palace grounds. The gardens are lovely, as is the pool area. The rooms are standard hotel chain rooms, with good air-conditioning - obviously needed! It was pretty quiet when we were there, which was nice. Its a nice place to come back to and recover after the heat of seeing some of the sites around Luxor. The only downer was a seemingly somewhat dodgy staff member who loitered outside our room as we were checking out, and asked us to leave the door open so he could go in and "check the room". Only later we realized that this gave him access to the tip we'd left the housekeeper, the mini-bar contents etc. I emailed the hotel about this, but never heard back, which was disappointing. Even so I'd happily return to the Winter Pavillon for any future Egypt visit.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RBCKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon Winter Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Winter Luxor

Property: Pavillon Winter Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Luxor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pavillon Winter Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Nile in the midst of a tropical garden in the city centre, near the luxor Temple and other attractions such as the Karnak Temple, the Luxor museum, the International Convention Centre and the Mummification Museum. The Pavillon Winter Palace features three restaurants, two bars and a swimming pool. We apologize for any inconvenience that may occur due to the construction work taking place nearby the hotel as of June 14 th 2008 for a period of 6 months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pavillon Winter Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Winter Luxor Hotel Luxor
Pavillon Winter Hotel Luxor
Luxor Pavillon Winter Hotel
New Winter Palace Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Winter Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing