We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful relaxing break”
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed in the Pavilion, which is in the garden behind the winter palace hotel. It had a large room which had very comfortable twin beds. Large bathroom, a bit old fashioned absolutely spotlessly clean. We have been to Egypt before so understand tipping is essential. So we had fabulous service. the pool and restaurants around it were great. We found room service excellent and spent a few evenings on our balcony overlooking the gardens enjoying the peace and quiet. The hotel enables you to do the sightseeing and cultural sights easily, and then provides a haven of tranquility from the outside world when you return. Try a drink or cup of tea on the Corniche in the afternoon early evening watching the world go by. Luxor and the Winter Palace a great holiday destination !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SellieOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    234
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
186
480
132
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We have just completed our 4th stay at the Old Winter Palace in Luxor. It almost goes without saying that we love this hotel, with its antiques and opulent decor that reflects its 19th century origins. Entering the beautiful reception lobby is like stepping back in time. The charming Concierge and reception staff could not be more welcoming and helpful, this is equally true of all the staff in the restaurants, bars, pool attendants etc. During our stay we ate at both the restaurants in the main hotel. Both the formal 1886 restaurant and the less formal Corniche restaurant combine excellent food with excellent service. Even if you haven't packed a jacket and tie for the 1886 restaurant, the hotel are happy to loan one. We also ate at the poolside Italian restaurant which also serves good food. The traditional bedrooms are beautiful with high ceilings and very large windows with antique style fixtures and fittings. Every day we looked forward to the towel sculptures and flower arrangements left by the turn down service. The hotel is perfectly positioned for sightseeing but if like us on this visit you just want to recharge your batteries the pool is beautiful and is of a good size and the gardens are stunning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I was absolutely thrilled with the Winter Palace. The restaurants were wonderful (including the buffet breakfast), the gardens are amazing, and short of a slightly disappointing shower head, I'm really struggling to find anything that wasn't above expectations. Everything from the complimentary box of macaroons left as a welcome gift to the travel tips offered by the restaurant manager made us feel extremely well looked after. I would definitely stay there again- and hopefully will!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGLondon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Old Winter Palace was wonderful from start to finish. We arrived and somehow had booked the wrong dates (we were one day off) but the staff was extremely accommodating and honored our guaranteed price that we booked online. As soon as we walked in we were greeted with smiles and quickly offered a sweet, cool drink that is typical for the area. The rooms had all the modern amenities with an old world feel. The grounds were absolutely beautiful – a true oasis in the dusty and hot city of Luxor. You felt like you were in another world when walking around the gardens. There are three restaurants on the grounds, my favorite being the one serving traditional Egyptian food out by the pool. The food was good and most importantly, safe to eat. We never got sick on our trip which we were very thankful for.

The ruins of Luxor are truly fascinating and a felucca ride on the Nile is a wonderful treat at sunset. However, the city itself was a bit hard for me … the poverty is extremely sad. We tried to take a walk one night but were unable to go two feet without 5-10 men surrounding us to ask if we wanted a guide/trip in a horse carriage/etc. There are no restaurants in the area that our hotel would recommend except for a place across the street that wasn’t very good and so although we wanted to explore the city, we felt almost confined to the hotel. However, since the hotel was so amazing, it wasn’t a hardship. I would say that if you are going to go to Luxor, you have to stay in this hotel since it makes the time away from the ruins so pleasant. During the heat of the day it was wonderful to be able to sit by the pool in the shade. It is definitely the best hotel in the area … nothing else looked even close. I did not want to spend a fortune and book a guide through a travel agency and so I arrange for a guide through the hotel. The man and driver they arranged for us was wonderful and extremely knowledgeable about the ruins. I would definitely recommend booking the guides through the hotel directly – you will save a small fortune and they are great. Last but not least, if you go, ask for Mohammed Ali – he is head of the concierge department at the hotel and is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2010

One week to spare to delight in a world of luxury and the feel of stepping back in time?? This hotel is indeed for you then!!
From the first few steps off the busy streets of Luxor you begin to feel rested and above all welcomed. Smiles greet you and a sense of peace and order in a world that caters for the very very rich to more normal mortals such as my husband and I.
The building is magnificent and immediately you feel as if Kings and Queens have dined here throughout the ages (I think they have!) It has a magical feel that a long history tends to give a place . It has been welcoming travellers since 1888 and a sense of this assists the excitement of coming somewhere new and untainted by the world. Beautiful.
The staff are gracious in their approach and have a calm dignity and a pride in this lovely hotel as well they might. The broad Nile flows by outside and the views are magnificent. The oddest thing is the Luxor life is hectic and most often quite hot but the tranquility in this grand hotel is constant and soothes the sweating brow and tired legs as soon as
one enters its doors. GO to this gem of a hotel!! A warm welcome is assured!!

S and J Wesrcar Kebby

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kebbs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We realized the WP was one of the original great hotels that ushered the era of tourism into the world but we still couldn't get over the tattered Victorian clumsiness of our suite. It felt weird but it kind of grew on us. All the creature comforts (and there were lots of them) were way past their prime but we felt like we were travelling in the late 1890's once we got used to it. Our butler was quietly attentive and gracious. The male masseuse was cocky and inexperienced. I ended the massage after 20 minutes to avoid an injury. The grounds were breathtaking in a British Empire kind of way. We understand the hotel is undergoing a renovation and we'd like to come back to see how they execute it. The location is second to none. Overall, it was a memorable stay for two very experienced and jaded travelers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limahuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed in the Winter Palace for more than a week and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The staff throughout the hotel was charming and very helpful. The building itself is beautiful, as are the gardens and the hotel goes out of its way to create a lovely atmosphere.
Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing