We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were not staying at this hotel but you are able to go and have afternoon tea! Its like stepping back in time once you walk up the stairs to the reception you feel your entering somewhere special. You are able to tour the gardens as well which are beautiful. All the paintings and the building is wonderful - long sweeping corridors steeped in history. The afternoon tea experience is fabulous sitting in a beautiful large room being served dainty cakes and savouries on old fashioned cake stands and china cups. You can take as much time as you like it was a fantastic experience its not cheap at £15 per head but its worth it just for the amazing ambiance - to imagine King Farouk walking the corridors and even having tea himself in that same room - truly awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the high tea at the Victorian Lounge, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    239
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
195
496
135
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Many thanks to all staff who made my stay from 29th May to 12th June so enjoyable. Special thanks to Nabil Ali, Mahmoud breakfast staff at swimming pool. All in all everything was perfect, excellent food, beautiful room 338. Its the only place to stay in Luxor.

Room Tip: 338 huge room with Nile view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOHNO370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room,the garden, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What an amazing place. Entering, you leave the panhandlers and the touts of Luxor behind and enter an older period of European history. The bar is beautiful and well stocked, the restaurants are not expensive and the food is good. This place will set you right and make you feel at ease, I highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank christian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the restaurants,the bar, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I spent only a few days in this wonderful hotel! The staff was so very kind and helpful. Upon my arrival they greeted me with a lovely tea and upgraded my room to the Royal Suite! It was magnificent! The suite was so comfortable and lovely. The hotel was amazing! The gardens were lovely and peaceful, the swimming pool huge! I enjoyed the hotel immensely and Luxor was a truly amazing city. I hope to return and spend more time. Thanks to everyone at the hotel who really went beyond the call of duty to make my stay a wonderful experience! I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Egypt. It is perfectly located with lovely views on the Nile! I wish that I could have stayed for a longer visit. I particularly loved the flowers and the fresh fruit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: The Royal Suite is amazing. The rooms with a view of the Nile are lovely. The suite was very calm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujub1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Royal suite,the Nile view,the garden, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I returned to the Winter Palace in Luxor for the first time in thirty years (having lived in Egypt for 4 years in the late 1970s, when the hotel was suffering from socialist state manegement and tremendously over-priced). It was now been restored to its former glory and is run very effectively by the Sofitel chain. Its best feature (other than scenic Nile views) is its magnificent garden with many varieties of plans, trees and flowers, perhaps Egypt's best maintained one. The faded grandeur of the hotel's public rooms, the period breakfast involving dish after dish that might have graced the menu of French Riviera hotels in the 1920s, the tasty dinner served by attentive staff and the proximity to Luxor's main archeological sites all brought back wonderful memories of times gone by in Egypt and elsewhere. The hotel staff was faultlessly helpful and my stay was capped off by an excellent massage. And, with Egypt's tourist economy suffering, I also secured a very good room rate, making this particular holiday the best value for money I have experienced anywhere in years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the room, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Yes it is an old hotel but it still retains all its charm. Once you are inside you definitely step back in time. Original period furniture and orientalist paintings are a wonderful touch to the interior. Our room was large and comfortable and the buffet at breakfast was divine. Very good value for money. Big pool and wonderful garden, but watch the bats at night! We had dinner at the 1886 which was très chic, and lovely food. I simpy love this place and I hope it will never change. The best hotel in Luxor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talleah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the historical charm of the hotel, the room, the dinner in 1886 restaurant, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager


We are glad that you enjoyed the historical charm of the hotel & the Nile view rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth visit to this most magical of hotels on the banks of the River Nile. We stayed in the Old Wing (which we always do) and enjoyed the character of its glorious past, with wide corridors leading to the flowing staircase down to the lobby, the Library Bar is quite unique and the piano player is worth the visit alone playing effortlessly while you have your pre-dinner cocktail. The 1886 Restaurant is a joy to behold and an opportunity to dress up and be truly spoilt by the restaurant staff, and listening to the gentle guitar music whilst you enjoy sumptuous food. The gardens are a credit to those who look after them, take the opportunity of a walk in the evening. The poolside restaurant offer good service, quality and choice of food, the pool itself is immaculately looked after the pool staff will make sure you are taken care of with clean towels every day. Room service is available 24 hours a day, we took afternoon tea and cookies on our balcony overlooking the River Nile every afternoon. If in the future the hotel has a makeover, like the Old Cataract Hotel in Aswan it would be hoped the hotel retains its character which is quite unique.

Room Tip: The Nile view rooms in the Old Wing offer wonderful views of the West Bank, but can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TenbyTravellers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osayed, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to send us your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed the Nile view room,the High tea,the 1886 restaurant, the service and the Sofitel Winter Palace location. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt.
Kind regards,
Rafic Khairallah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
880 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing