We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Little Bit of History.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO -40% OFF
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of History.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had booked the Pavillion which is in the grounds of The Winter Palace, but were upgraded to The Winter Palace. There is something very special about this hotel in an excellent central location. It was built in 1886 and todate it still feels very grand as you walk up the stairway to the front of the hotel. The Royal Suite and Lord Carnarvon Suite were just a few doors away from our room at the front of the hotel.The staff were very helpful and courteous. There are beautiful gardens and swimming pool to the rear of the hotel (these facilities are shared with the Pavillion). There are 2 restaurants, one of which you guys have to wear collar/tie. The breakfast was brilliant, so much choice. We had afternoon tea one day and this was well worth the £15 approx., each we paid. Plenty of tea to drink, sandwichs, cakes and scones. I have stayed in Luxor many times and the only thing you wont change is the hassle you get once you step outside the hotel, although I expected worse this time and to be honest I didn't think it was any worse than previous. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, a visit to see the gardens and sit and have lunch/drink round the pool is well worth it, it is so peaceful, so different to the chaos at the front, although we had a room overlooking The Nile at the front of the hotel and you soon get used to the noise and accept it as everyday life in Luxor. A wonderful place to visit and a wonderful hotel. Take a visit - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the noise a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Nile is interesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bambi4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    194
    70
    38
    19
See reviews for
142
410
105
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent 11 days here and loved every one of them. The staff were attentive, the facilities excellent and the location, perfect. It had the added pleasure of being an older hotel, with grand rooms and a strong sense of its history. We used as many of its facilities as we could, and we really appreciated the humour and the dedication of all of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had booked to stay at the Pavillion which is in the grounds of this hotel, and would have been perfectly happy with that as you get to use the main hotel facilities too, but were upgraded to the Winter Palace old building. What an amazing experience! This is the hotel where Agatha Christie and Noel Coward, etc. stayed, and has really retained it's colonial charm. Our Nile view was something to behold. We felt like royalty! The only thing I would say is that if you're susceptible to noise, a garden view room might be better as the constant car horns were noisy around the front. The garden is simply beautiful, a real haven in the middle of the chaos that is Luxor! We went to the bar and Victorian lounge every evening and soaked up the ambience. The room service and breakfast was also very good. The staff were attentive and very concerned as my husband had a cold when we arrived, and arranged for us to have a kettle in our room. Loved it, and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Garden view for a quieter room, nile view is lovely but noisier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McExpat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel Karnak, because of its location, but decided to take afternoon tea at its sister hotel, and arranged to meet some friends who happened to be in Luxor at the same time. The foyer was imposing and the numerous staff on duty were both friendly and helpful. Before tea we took a short walk in the gardens at the rear of the hotel. The formal gardens were excellently maintained, beautifully coordinated and very peaceful, a most pleasant spot and quite unexpected as the hotel is situated in a very busy part of Luxor.
The lounge area where the afternoon tea was served was quite plush with deep lounge suites, highly polished tables and dimly lit lamps, all in all a room with plenty of atmosphere.
The maitre d’ and waiter brought over the menu for the tea and listed the varieties of tea that were available. The tea was brought in two large cast metal teapots and the food was brought out on two 3-tier trays. The top tray contained scones , pots of jam and clotted cream, the second tier contained four or five different small open sandwiches or rolls each and the bottom tier had small exquisite cakes and puddings. The food was delicately and beautifully presented and was very tasty too. The tea was replenished upon request, without question, and we were there for two hours in total.
Although at first sight the quantity did not look huge, it was certainly filling. I only had a bowl of soup for supper when we returned to our hotel, but my husband was more hungry than me and ate a more substantial meal.
The cost of the excellent afternoon tea was only fifteen pounds sterling per person, which is very good when compared to a hotel of equal quality in London.
A thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanda-Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel has a certain cachet and is well situated,It is a haven of peace, away from the hawkers and the carriage drivers, who harass the tourists.I would recommend a room with a view of the Nile. The breakfast is extremely varied and of excellent quality.The hotel has a good reputation and it is well deserved.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Nile view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mejid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I enjoyed a week in this hotel and truly loved my stay, I would not hesitate to go back again if lucky enough. Although I stayed in August 2010 (the system on tripadvisor would not allow me to utilise that date so had to use Dec 2011) I can't wait to return there.

The hotel is a step back to a more elegant time, the staff were wonderful and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room I had was sublime and I could sit on the balcony watching the sun set over the West Bank. The grounds are amazing and the antiques inside that decorate this beautiful hotel provides a way of time travel - transporting you instantly.

All mod cons worked well, I love this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florenceofarabia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
,Hexham,K
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

By staying at the PAVILLON just behind the winter palace,You get all the luxury of the palace at a fraction of the price.Of course,that could be because there were few tourists due to Arab spring. Room was large,gorgeous and overlooked a lovely garden and pool. Only heated pool inLuxor, good size but closes at 6p.m.Staff friendly and helpful,nice breakfast.I first stayed for 5 nights booking on line and then I went on a dahabihah to Aswan. When I returned, I phoned hotel to stay 1 more night and the bill was only 62 euros.A bargain. Best book direct with hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#5 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#2 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing