We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in Luxor by a mile.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Still the best in Luxor by a mile.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just come back from 3 weeks in Luxor and were upgraded from the Pavilion to the Old Winter Palace. As this was our 20th trip with 17 having been spent at The Pavilion, the upgrade was both much appreciated and a wonderful experience.

This hotel excels on customer service with friendly and obliging staff throughout the entire operation. Our room overlooking the Nile was beautifully kept with lovely floral arrangements on our bed each night. As always, the Reception staff and in particular Mr Orabi were so helpful on both our arrival and throughout our stay.

The gardens this year were spectacular and of course the pool is still for me the best in Luxor, with outstanding pool boys and really good service from the pool restaurant. I have already booked for 3 weeks at the same time next year. Whether we will be back in The Pavilion as normal, is in the "Lap of the Gods", But you never know, we might just make The Old Winter Palace one more time!!!!!!!!.

Room Tip: If you are upgraded from the Pavilion to the Old Winter Palace, feel privileged as it really is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culinaire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guests, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace and your feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. It will be my pleasure to pass on your nice words to our colleagues. We are looking forward to welcome you back next year. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    239
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
195
498
135
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay in the Winter Palace.
This is a trully superb hotel.

The grand enterance lobby is a wonderful welcome to this historic building which is situated overlooking the nile next to luxor temple.

This was the last section of a 2 week honeymoon for us and we stayed 2 nights.

We were upgraded to the prestige suite on the second floor, this is a great suite with real wow factor.

A selection of cakes and a bowl of fruit were waiting for us in the room.
We had a lounge area, beautifully furnished with dining area and large lcd screen tv. The bedrooms interconnect both sides, we had the one to the left. This was a very large room again suberbly presented with a king sized bed, another minibar and large screen TV.
There were a couple of dressing rooms one leading to the bathroom, all marble with bath with power shower etc.

We did peak into some of the other rooms on the second floor and they looked very nice. We were given a tour of the Royal Suite wich was absolutely stunning, although our room was almost as nice!

Having such a great dining area in the room we decided to eat from the very reasonable room service menu, this was exceptional value for money.

The breakfast in the Corniche restaurant (which we had included in our package) was the best from our trip (which included the Oberoi Mena House). There was a large selection to choose from.

The whole hotel was beautiful. Large spacious halways, beautiful lounge area.

The gardens are beautiful and provide a wonderful place to relax and walk around, the pool area was also lovely.

At the front of the hotel there are shops and a Thomas Cook office for exchanging money.
The main shop (Gaddis & Co) has fixed prices and has lots of interesting historic pictures of egypt.
We bought a couple of bits and pieces there and it was a good environment to shop.

I really could not fault this hotel, it is stunning. When I come back to Egypt I will definately stay here again.

When you walk out of the grounds of the hotel onto the main Corniche you do get approached by a few local buisness men offering horse carrage rides and boat trips etc, but they were all good humoured and it is all part of the experience. They do seem to have this thing where they say 'maybe tomorrow' or simmilar. We just said 'no tomorrow' if we were not interested and this seemed to work.

I thank all at the Winter Palace for a wonderful and memerable stay. It was a beautiful end to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GF350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guests, thank you very much for your stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace and your kind feedback on tripadvisor.com. We are glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon holidays in Luxor and we are looking forward to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was our second visit to the Winter Palace. If you want old world charm then this is the place for you - it is like going back in time to the Victorian era. Our room was comfortable with an old fireplace, stuffed with furtniture and with beautiful French doors which opened on to the cute, wrought iron balcony which overlooked the stunning gardens. The gardens are full of plants and trees and birds and are a tranquil escape from the noise and bustle outside the hotel on the Corniche. The pool is wonderful with attentive staff and shade from both parasols and the many trees. The public areas of the hotel are spacious, high and furnished from a comfortable bygone era. Walking down that amazing, curving staircase with the massive, original, Venetian glass chandelier makes you feel very special. When we stayed, (June), there were more staff than guests so we had faultless service. They even provided a member of staff to walk with me to a pharmacy as I didn't want to face the hassle on the street alone!
The food, as in most of Egypt, is not great, acceptable but nothing very special. Buffet breakfast was expensive at £17 if you don't eat much....I found Continental breakfast on room service a much better option at £7..... but then you do not get to enjoy the beautiful dining room. I am not sure that we will return to Egypt again but if we do, we will definitely return to the Winter Palace. Everyone should experience old-fashioned values...

Room Tip: Although rooms at the front overlook the Nile, they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for your stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace and your feedback. Wea re glad that you have enjoyed our hotel services. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Luxor on one of your future trips to Egypt. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed with friends at the Sofitel Winter Palace. We were allocated rooms with beautiful views across the Nile and up to the Valley of the Kings. Each room had a small balcony with two chairs and a table which was perfect for an evening drink whilst watching the sun set.

The garden and swimming pool provide a welcome relief from the hustle (and hassle) from outside in the street.

The only downside was that we did not have breakfast included in our room rate and the buffet breakfast was USD 26 per person.

Overall this hotel was good value for money and had the added value of a little old world charm.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HJM_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.com. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace. In regards to the room prices, we also offer rates including breakfast. For your next booking, please contact our reservation department (e-mail: H1661@sofitel.com) and we are glad to assist you on finding the rate that fits best to your travel plans. Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had rebooked for a week in the Pavilion Winter after a fab stay there last year but arrived to find it closed and we'd been upgraded to the Winter Palace. We stayed in The Pavilion but shared the facilites of The Palace , the pool...gardens and restaurants and terraces last year.
Our room 260 was ok...dated ...huge bed as last year...and the balcony not big enough to sit two on...disppointing after the lovely evenings spent sitting overlooking the gardens last year, at The Pavilion. We were overlooking the gardens..just..but also the noisy kitchen aircon units. Service and choice for breakfast in the lovely Corniche Restaurant was good..staff ratio big and abit over attentive but very pleasent without really listening to what u say. Waited 25 minutes for two fried eggs on the last morning. The danish patries and croissants are the best I've tasted outside of Paris and my compliments if they are hotel made. Very disappointed with high tea which had been such a highlight of last years stay. It had doubled in price...from 75LE to 150LE and was frankly, bad. No sandwiches ..canapes...and scones with apricot jam...not strawberry. The tiniest macaroons I've ever seen...which had been so yummy last year and a small bite sized assortment of 4 different cakes...none of which hit the spot. You either do it and do it right or don't..such a disappointment..we didn't complain but wish now we had. Have had high tea in York...Betty's...London and Paris...and The Palace last year. A treat it wasn't. The pool was a little grubbier than last year...even after it had been cleaned...we are lucky enough to own a pool ourselves which my husband keeps meticulously clean and he would have loved to have done a dip test. The gardens and the pool are still an oasis of calm with the fabulous planting and birds ....which brought us back. Heaven ....and just what we needed to revive us after a weeks cruise. Well done to the very hardworking and fastidious gardens staff and it was fascinating to watch them harvest and cut the date palms this year.
Overall...we love Egypt ...the people...the fabulous sights...sounds...the food. We tried not to let our disappointment cloud our holiday...which had been booked to mark two very special birthdays and we will return to Egypt but not again next year. After four visits it's time to let Egypt regroup and sort itself out. There is an air of frustration and uncertainty about the people and not everyone is pleased to see you...only your money.
Hopefully the Pavilion will re-open when and if more people go to Egypt...I will ring and find out if it is open before booking so as not to risk an upgrade.
The Winter Palace is a piece of history...you can imagine Lord Carnarvon descending the marvellous staircase with the magnificent chandelier or drinking in the bar...fantastic with the pianist playing...that is still absolutely fabulous. BUT...no one is "walking the job "and it's the small things that were missing this time round. Our very best wishes to everyone at the Winter Palace and the staff from The Pavilion Winter that we did see. Keep safe in the times ahead and we will see you again ...Enshallah...for we can't go too long away from Egypt.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wendywoolanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address these points and prevent future occurrence. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was on a Nile Cruise, moored in Luxor and someone recommended that we take tea in the gardens of the Winter Palace. It was the most stunningly beautiful place I have seen for a long time. Tea was good and not expensive, and the gardens and fountains are not to be missed. A lovely treat. Do dress though, no shorts or beachwear allowed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeneagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for your feedback about the Sofitel Winter Place Luxor. We are glad that you have enjoyed our services and your time with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Luxor. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from holiday in Luxor. I was booked into the Pavilion Winter where I stayed last year. On arrival was told I was upgraded and given room 257 in the Winter palace This room was round the back wih ageneraotor ouside and very noisey air con so not much sleep for the week. Hot water only available 2-4.30 pm so no hot showers.
I am afraid I found the hotel dated and in urgent need of refurbishment.High tea (which I had last year whilst at the Pavilion) had doubled in price and not so good.
Very disappointed .Would only go again if I can stay at the Pavilion.
The grounds and pool area the only saving grace, and they were as usual excellent.

Room Tip: Just don't accept 257
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address these points and prevent future occurrence. We hope to welconme you back on one of your future trips to Luxor. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing