We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stately and Edwardian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Stately and Edwardian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Miraculously upgraded from the Pavilion to this world class hotel, we were delighted to be able to walk around the hotel itself, and the gardens. The gardens are magnificent, and worth more than a casual stroll.
As with most older and grander hotels, the rooms are generally built for a time when huge rooms were not the norm, and I suspect that many gusts will find the rooms not quite as large as a more modern hotel. This is not a complaint, merely an observation, and anyone who might complain about the Winter Palace needs to look carefully at his life style.
The Winter Palace is a grand old lady beyond reproach, and should be appreciated as such. Well mannered and gracious.
Some of the guests might reflect on the social niceties which go with a hotel like this. An upgrade in behaviour and dress might enhance the experience no end!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pisumcorporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for your stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the great Old Palace. We do our best to preserve the authenticity of the hotel and it looks like we are doing quite well. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Luxor in the close future. Kind regards and thank you again for your feedback. Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    226
    86
    41
    21
See reviews for
170
460
127
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield, england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed in many hotels in Luxor but this one just beats them all.
From the moment we stepped through the door we were given a welcome second to none.
The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you.
The rooms are just so elegant.
The pool and gardens are such an escape from the hustle and bustle of Luxor.
This hotel is just simply the best.

Room Tip: Garden views are so much quieter than the nile view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queentut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear guests, thank you very much for your wonderful feedback on tripadvisor.com. I will pass your words on to our team and I am sure they will be very glad about it. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Luxor. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 14 nights - just returned. Everything about this hotel is positive - the aircon worked 100 per cent, the rooms are small but beautifully furnished, and to be honest, I felt too privileged to stay here, the gardens, the breakfast, the staff - any questions please ask. have friends in Luxor who made my stay the best as always. felt too privileged to not try and understand how the people outside are suffering. please pm me for taxi, felucca or any advise to make you have a lovely stay in this wonderful city - life is short - il ne faut pas s'habiller triste - yvonne

Room Tip: Any room in the Winter Palace is a treasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny75Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guests, thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor.com. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace. We hope to welcome you back on one of your future trips to Egypt. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Once again we had a fantastic time in The Old Winter Palace. We were upgraded upon arrival and received a lovely welcome.

Hotel: Grand and kept to a high standard. However, during our stay there were some guests ruining the atmosphere. Also the hotel employs a strict dress code which was not being followed by all of the guests. There were children/parents running around the lobby in swimwear, which by no means offended me but ruined the atmosphere in the grand Victorian foyer each day. This seemed to be overlooked by management - though there are signs indicating the dress code everywhere?? Unfortunately, it appears these Eastern European guests make their own rules?

Rooms: Beautiful, elegant, grand, fantastic nile views, fruit and complementary drinks upon arrival. Lovely toiletries, fresh flowers. Very Romantic. Perfect.

Grounds: Stunning as ever, so lush and green, tranquil, pool was very clean, fresh and clean sun bed covers each day, very 5*.

Food: Slightly over-priced but very tasty. Salads are lovely and we were not once ill, unlike their sister hotel 'Sofitel Karnak'. However, there are many lovely places to eat out in Luxor so plenty of options.

Drinks: Expensive, about £4/5 for a beer/wine. If you walk into Luxor there are bars etc... that sell the same drinks for £1. These can be purchased and brought back to the hotel to be enjoyed on the balcony. The wine in Egypt in general is 'terrible' to say the most so be warned. The cocktails in the bar are not so great either, sorry.

Staff: The staff in general were very helpful and willing to go out of their way for you. However, the pool bar staff were unbelievably lazy. They would spend the entire day, just sitting there! During our last visit here, we were served drinks by the pool, though this time it was obviously too much trouble. Each time we wanted a drink we had to walk over ourselves -- the same with the towels. I hope next time the pool staff return to their usual 5* service.....?

We will return, though we hope the 'small' errors will be corrected. Thank you to all of the staff for a lovely relaxing time before we spent a month traveling Egypt. See you all soon.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms are stunning, but they only catch the light in the morning. Nile view rooms enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusannahOxford_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guests, thank you very much for your stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace and your detailed feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Luxor. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

A fantastic experience, with history simply oozing out of the walls. All we needed was Poirot and Agatha Christie to turn up and the experience would have been complete.

The staff were superb and the food magnificent.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chordiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear guests, thank you very much for your stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace and your wonderful feedback. We do our best to keep the historical charme of the hotel which was build in 1886. We just received some more old hotel pictures, that we will soon display in our hotel hallway. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Luxor. Thank you again for your stay and kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Once again we have had another wonderful holiday at the Winter Palace. Things had changed a little, there is a new Executive chef Ms Menad Berkani, who has created a most wonderful menu of extremely high standard and variety, an infusion of flavours and textures not seen elsewhere in Luxor, so passionate about food Menard is always to be seen talking to guests around the hotel discussing his menu.
As usual the staff are simply outstanding and nothing is too much trouble, they thrive on making your stay memorable.
I must also mention the fabulous massage I had daily at the hotel (just ask guest relations to book) having arthritic joints and a bad back and having had plenty of treatment in the UK my wife and I were extremely impressed with the professional massages we both had, personally I have not had better. Ash and his team provide first class treatment at a fraction of a UK price, a full hour equates to just £25, less than half the price of a decent session in the UK. Treat yourself, you wont be sorry.
I wont waffle further except just to say thank you again to all at Winter Palace. If you visit, you must eat in the historic 1886 restaurant and experience the wonderful ambiance.
We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Nile view rooms catch the evening Sun, Garden view rooms the morning Sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeforliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guests, thank you very much for your stay with us and your great review. Menard and his team will be very glad about your feedback in regards to the food quality. I agree that the changes we have made over the past few months have a very positive impact on the total experience at the Sofitel Winter Palace. Thank you agian for your nice comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Winter Palace remains the colonial jewel in Luxor's Crown. Ideally located accross from the Nile near the Luxor Temple and Cornische. Breakfast is stylish and plentyful with the usual high standard of service. Rooms are stunning with care taken to turn back bedding at nights and delight guests with designs created with quilts and flowers. The pool area is set in perhaps the most beautiful gardens in Egypt. Is is quiet, clean and relaxing. No children allowed and notices ask for peace and quiet. You are offered thick excellent quality towls to lay by the pool on. Staff bring refreshing complimentary fruits on sticks at hot periods. The gardens are stunning, adding to an even more luxurious feel. The place reeks of a colonial age. I was expecting Agatha Christie or Churchill to be in the high tea lounge!

Room Tip: Garden views are cheaper than Nile ones, but are better I think for the none stop car horns that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelWinterPalace, General Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear guests, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace. I will send your review to our team of gardeners and I am sure they will be very proud. I would like to mention, that we welcome guests of any age with pleasure as the Junior's of today are the frequent guests of tomorrow. Thank you again for your stay with us. We would be glad to welcome you back to the Winter Palace in the close future. Kind regards, Christian Ruge, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Property: Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing