We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view,super low cost delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreams of Memnon - CLOSED

Dreams of Memnon
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing view,super low cost delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

To sit in an open fronted restaurant looking out onto the floodlit Collossi of Memnon for an evening meal is an unforgetable experience. The menu is varied,the smple dishes are delicious and the low prices amazing..My meal cost the £E36(around £3.30),and included a free fresh fruit dessert. and kharkaday drink..The service was prompt and friendly.
I will return on my next Egyptian visit!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mo-Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“REAL EGYPT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We were staying in an apartment not far away ( villa Bahri )and our hosts brought us here - we had some of the best food of our holiday and the view was something else.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacjon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good homemade breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We visited the Dreams of Memnons in july 2011, after a wonderful baloontrip over the city of Luxor to watch the sunrise we ended up eating a nice breakfast preperad specially for us with fresh food.
Mido and his father, his brothers made the start of the day wonderful for us.
This is local and special in a relaxing envoirement, simple but very nice:)
It is also a very good place to enjoy your sisha and a cup of tea or coffee

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KariJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“= The place = for a proper lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

We've tried a couple of restaurants around and can tell you, if you appreciate genuine smiles, calm and helpful people and homely atmosphere just as much as you appreciate good meal, this is the place. We've seen the kitchen and can confirm everything is freshly prepared, no stocks that have been waiting for us in the fridge. There's also an exposition of stone crafts that you can explore without common hassling and they can also set you up for a donkey ride after your meal :o)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robajz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unbelieveably good food at budget prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

The restaurant is directly opposite the Colossi of Memnon - an awesome view especially at night! When you arrive you'll be given a drink of either fresh lemon with mint or iced karcady. Then just leave the food choice to them! You'll get an assortment of salads, vegetables and meats, and also a dessert but way beyond the standard set menus. The presentation is like something in a Michelin star restaurant and the flavours are fantastic. We paid £5E each way for a taxi from the ferry to the restaurant (at £5E the taxi driver will agree to come back for you after your meal) We were charged £140E for the meal for 4 people! By far the cheapest and BEST meal we've had anywhere on the West Bank (and we've had lots!) They've also got a nice clean loo! and they even provide "OFF" spray for the mosquitos! The guys who run the restaurant are really friendly and helpful and you won't regret the visit.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank barfow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dreams of Memnon also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing