We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" Perfect hotel for archaeologists and Egyptologists in Luxor"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Memnon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Memnon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Luxor B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" Perfect hotel for archaeologists and Egyptologists in Luxor"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

" Perfect hotel for archaeologists and Egyptologists in Luxor"

During the excavation campaign , we stayed the whole month of November 2013 in New Memnon in Luxor hotel .
This hotel is perfect for staying archaeologists and Egyptologists like us because it is very near the Colossi of Memnon and the archaeological sites of the area west of Luxor.
The New Memnon Hotel is a quiet hotel to relax after a hard day of archaeological work .
This hotel has a perfect cleaning of the rooms, the restaurant service is perfect and varied and the attention of the entire staff is wonderful and very respectful and above all the friendly service at all times of its director Mr. Sayed Farrag .
They also offer laundry services as needed for an archaeologist after work .
This hotel has : wifi , television, fridge in room , air conditioning and coffee maker .
And the views from the room are beautiful and you can see the Colossi of Memnon and fields.
We encourage all archaeologists and Egyptologists who have to work in Luxor staying at this hotel.
We will return next year to repeat our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Been to this hotel twice since my last rewiew, November 2012 and Easter 2013, the atmosphere is wonderful, people said that a pool and a restaurant would make it perfect and that is true ;) Situation is difficult in Egypt, they wait for the tourist to come back. As long as your Government Travel Advises say GO, pls do, I'm shore the hospitality will be wonderful and that you will feel like "home" <3

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KariJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights back in August and were very impressed with the friendly welcome and how exceptionally well we were looked after by the owners and staff at this hotel.
Great location too, Colossi statues are within easy walking distance and it was nice to come back to clean, comfortable room after a day exploring.
If we're back in Egypt we'll visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The New Memnon is a real treat, not only does it have a superb location within 1 minute of the Colossi themselves and therefore within easy walking/cycling and bus distance to all West Bank sites, but it is set in a very relaxed environment and an exceptionally well kept hotel with excellent hospitality.

It is often the choice of visitors to Luxor to stay on the more developed East Bank. The East Bank is exceptionally busy (if not with tourists with residents of Luxor), noisey and has been called "the hassle capital" of Egypt. If you intend to visit Luxor to site-see and experience the local life, then staying on the West Bank has many more advantages than the East - not only are more of the sites on the West Bank and therefore you can see many more sites much more easily in a day, the local people on the West Bank are much more laid-back and much more easy going than those on the East, with hassle (relatively for Luxor) at a minimum.

Here the New Memnon comes in; with a spectacular location, though set back from the main road, accessibility to all the West Bank sites is very high and it is likewise very easy to get to the ferry and cross to the East Bank to visit the sites or the Souk there. The hotel itself is very new and exceptionally well kept. The owner is commonly at the hotel and takes a huge amount of pride, as do his staff, in keeping the hotel in superb condition, checking at all times that residents are satisfied and do not want for anything, and also offering extra services such as breakfast, lunch and dinner without any inferred obligations. The rooms are very clean, well laid out with modern and comfortable furniture, an ensuite shower-room and toilet. The rooms are air conditioned and have balconies with very beautiful views from the south-facing rooms.

I stayed at the New Memnon for four weeks in July and August 2012 and had a very pleasant stay in which I felt very well looked after and provided for when I needed to be. I would highly recommend this hotel to any visitor to Luxor, not just to the West Bank. Though it is currently lacking a swimming pool (common for West Bank hotels) and a dedicated restaurant (of which there are many within walking distance anyway), the owner intends to add these two features by the end of the summer 2013, which may well make the New Memnon the most appealing hotel on the West Bank.

Room Tip: South-facing rooms include a wonderful view from the balcony across the fields, to Medinet Habu and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gouna, Egypt
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We enjoyed the 4 days in th new memnon hotel. Very kind and polite staff and owner. The room was very clean and we slept excellent.
The area is very nice, to visit Valley of the king, Hapsetsut etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in January 2012. We were pleasantly surprised by the level of accommodation and quality services. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable. An unforgettable experience was breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the green fertile fields near Mnemon sculptures with beautiful background of mountains on the west bank of the Nile.
Friendly, kind and hospitable staff is always available to fulfill our desires, and so we just carried away the best memories of Luxor and its sights.
Highly recommended for all visitors to Luxor and we hope that they will never be disappointed with the services in New Memnon Hotel. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShadowHurghada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We visited the hotel last summer, just before it opened. The rooms was booked, but owing to long delivery of aircondition in a hot Egyptian summer, we had to find another place to sleep.
However, we got a good look at the hotel, the rooms are light and with a small balcony where you can enjoy the view of the green fields of Luxor's West Bank. In the nighttime you can sit on the roof, enjoying the sight of the Memnons and the Valley of the King.
Next time we visit Luxor, I am shore that this is the hotel I would like to stay in.
We was also having a nice meal prepared in the local way, Egyptian food is simple but very tasteful, and the staff is realy doing their best to give you a good experience.
We have had friends visiting the hotel in october and now in january 2012, and they confirm that this is a special local hotel with good hospitallity. The family has good local connections and can help you with privat tours to all the temples and sights. A baloontrip to see the sunrise is something that you can not miss and offcourse a trip on the Nile with a Felluka or a small "African queen".

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KariJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.0 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.0 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#14 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Memnon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Memnon Hotel

Property: New Memnon Hotel
Address: Memnon Street, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Memnon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your New Memnon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing