We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Egypt”
Review of Al Baeirat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Al Baeirat Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Luxor B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highlight of Egypt”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Best place we stayed, located just 10mins south of Luxor on the westbank.

We were so templed out after a week through Egypt that lolling by the beautiful pool all afternoon was a perfect way to end our trip. The room was a quaint little dome roofed cottage with full bathroom, fridge, AC, minibar at normal prices, and very spacious. Food was also so good I don't think we ate a meal anywhere else for our three days on Luxor! The location is far away from the manic Luxor city, but not more than 10mins motorboat to everywhere. They happily transferred us across the Nile at no charge, which was fantastic.

All of that aside, the friendships we made with Mohamed and Alleh will never be forgotten. Their hospitalitiy and humour made our stay on Luxor one that we will treasured forever. Yes it's a little more expensive than the local dorms and backpackers, but being budget-conscious travellers it was worth every cent. Treat yourself to this place and you won't regret it.

Big hugs from Garth and Emily to all the guys. Bashar!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
26
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lodon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My friend and I visited the restaurant for lunch Wow it was truly exceptional we ate fresh grilled fish and chicken with salad rice dips and bread it was truly mouthwatering all the food is sourced locally and the even grow all their own vegetables a truly magical experience at a very reasionable. price. Do visit this restaurant and hotel it is situated on the west bank opposite the Sheraton Hotel wonderful way to spend a lunchtime or evenong away from the maddening crowds in Luxor.
My thanks to all the staff and managment for a wonderful lunch.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Another visit to this peaceful Hotel, and what a lovely suprise, on a Saturday evening they now put on a show called "East meets West" a bit of a spectacular really and what superb value.. We saw tourists coming from the East Bank via a free motorboat to the Hotel to join in the festivities, then the show started, with a brilliant Egyption Band, this was followed by a Belly Dancer, Stick Dancers and a Whirling Dervish. There was a break and the buffet meal was served, a lovey mix of beautifully prepared Egyptian Food and Salads, the first drink (Non Alcoholic) was free on the presentation of your ticket. following the Buffet, what i now realise is the West part of the evening, was a Disco with a brilliant blend of European and modern Egyptian Disco Music to dance the balmy evening away on the Banks of the Nile... Mr Mahmoud Ahmed, had put a lot of thought into this evening and with having interests in Europe, knew exactly what the audience wanted.. everything was very professional, and we just wanted to dance the night away. The music was for all ages and went down a storm.. What a change from just Egyptian Nights only.. I want to thank Mr Mahmoud and his staff for the effort to make this spectacular a sucess, we did not want to leave!!!
What amazed us the most was that we only paid 150le (Approx 15 English Pounds) for the whole evening...
It is great when ideas like this are put into practise, and are sucessful... Well done Mr Mahmoud and staff

Room Tip: Rooms are very neat and spotlessly clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My stay at this hotel was initially very pleasant,location,accomodation etc but there was a very uncomfortable situation when using the pool as its location on the banks of the Nile means that tourists arrive by motor boat. The problem is that the motorboat drivers then wander around the pool area, lingering and staring at the female tourists, also lone Egyptian men are allowed to swim in the pool. This is most unusual in Egypt as reputable hotels do not permit male Egyptians to do this

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank luvluxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albaeirat, Front Office Manager at Al Baeirat Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Dear Lady
We are pleased you are in our hotel, and we hope to visit us again and you are satisfied with the level of our performance.
As for the driver of the boat engine, there is a place dedicated to boats under construction.
I hope to serve you soon in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We found this hotel by accident when out on a motorboat on the River Nile and our driver suggested stopping here for a drink. We loved the place as soon as we got off the boat and booked to return for two nights. The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool with waterfalls on the banks of the Nile and has a fantastic restaurant/ cafe. We had many meals here and they were all fantastic and brilliant value. The rooms are lovely. The hotel is built within a banana plantation with eight bungalows surrounded by banana trees and each with their own small garden and seating area. The rooms are also interconnecting to make larger family rooms if needed. The hotel also has it's own farm and all of the fruit and vegetables that are served in the restaurant are freshly picked when you order your meal. The hotel is situated on the West Bank directly opposite the Sheraton Hotel over the River Nile. It is surrounded by small Villages which makes it very quiet and feels quite isolated, but they have a free motor boat to take you anywhere you want to go and we were back in busy Luxor in less than 10 minutes. We booked this hotel to escape the madness of Luxor for a few days and could not have been happier with our choice. It really felt like we were in a deserted paradise and the prices are so reasonable that it's worth staying for a few nights even if your on a package holiday just to experience a different part of Luxor. Mahmoud and his staff are also lovely and will make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ClaireT_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Its hard to believe that Paradise is situated between the gentle swaying palms of Banana Island on the West Bank of Luxor, here is a Hotel well worthy of Thomson Small and Friendly, superb position and very tranquil and peaceful. We were greeted by Mr Mahmoud and his Staff, who really go out of the way to make you feel welcome and at ease. The rooms are absolutly wonderful with the excellent idea of being able to convert to large family rooms. Each room has its own individual garden terrace, where you can sit and have your meals in private or just relax under the swaying banana leaves. The sun never sets here, and when it does Mr Mahmoud and his staff are ready to make your evening peaceful and relaxing. The Hotel boasts a crystal clear pool with garden sunterrace so you can cool off during the warm sunny days, and of course top up your suntan under a sun that never sets. We have never come across a hotel of this size with such quality built in and the felling of being welcome at all times...
The hotel also has a River Boat Taxi that will take you to the Temples of Luxor or to the bustling shopping centres and Sooks.
For the Traveller looking for shear peace this has to be the hotel in Luxor for you!!! A place to recharge your Batteries, a place to sample the peace and tranquility of the West Bank of Luxor, a base to walk through the farming communities, watch the maize and sugarcane growing in the fields, be transported in time when farming was done by hand. An ideal place to be able to reach the Valley of the Kings and Queens, Hatchepsutes Temple, The Collosii of Memnon, Habu Temple, The Alabaster Factories, we enjoyed browsing the Farmers markets at the nearby villages of El Lagalta and Gourna, where the Farmers take their produce to sell..
Yes for a small and friendly hotel we believe this must be the best on the West Bank!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JustenKarlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

A wonderful gem on the West Bank only 8 bungalows all semi detached each individually decorated in typical Egyptian themes, Large rooms with seating area and faboulous bathrooms connecting door for use for familys. Each bungalow has own outdoor garden for alfresco dining and drinking. The hotel is set in a banana plantation and next to a sleepy village and near to the new Banana Island cafe restaurant. Hotel has fabulous swimming pool and sun loungers right next to the Nile. The restaurant which seves breakfast lunch and dinner over looking the Nile. Food I had was superb Fish wonderful. Chicken Tagine and various breads exceptional. This hotel is a dream come true and only 10 minutes by motorboat to cross the Nile to Lively Luxor City. The motor boat owned by hotel will transport you free of charge. Owner Mahmoud Omar and his lovely staff cannot do enough for you. All sights and excursions can be arranged through the managment at very reasonable prices. Have been to Luxor many times but this hotel is truly a Gem. Will definatly return.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank terlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
4.6 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#11 of 54 in Luxor
1,521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
4.2 mi away
Al Moudira Hotel
Al Moudira Hotel
#12 of 54 in Luxor
221 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#16 of 54 in Luxor
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Baeirat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Baeirat Hotel

Property: Al Baeirat Hotel
Address: West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Nile Hotel Al Baeirat is situated within a banana plantation. Like a little village it blends into the neighbourhood and is built of country-specific architecture with domed structure which is traditionally made of clay. Off the beaten track you can enjoy the silence and the egyptian style in a private and friendly atmosphere. For relaxation we are offering the whole family a wonderful swimming pool directly on the banks of the Nile. From our patio which is overlooking the Nile we are serving egyptian titbits. While sipping your coffee or drinking a cool beer you can let your eyes wander to the town of Luxor on the opposite shore and at night watch the bright lights of the incoming cruise liners. In the neighbourhood you will find numerous temple complexes, the Valley of the Kings and many more sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Al Baeirat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing