We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always return, and it never disappoints”

Hotel El Mesala & Restaurant
Ranked #82 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Cuisines: Indian, Mediterranean, Egyptian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Always return, and it never disappoints”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The food here is very good quality, and the service quick. Everything is freshly cooked, and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The fresh lemon juice with mint, in my opinion, is the best in Luxor, and have tried it at a few different places. Don't miss out, please try it !

Also the view over the Nile is one of the best. So take a trip on the ferry, turn left as you leave the boat, and after a short walk of 50 metres you will see the hotel and rooftop restaurant. Enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabel054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and View”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Four of us ate on this fabulous roof terrace overlooking the Nile. Such a shame there were no more diners but everyone is struggling at the moment.

The view over the river is absolutely superb but the food was stunning. We had the most amazing Egyptian food that we chose to cross the river again later during our holiday to dine here yet again.

My friend a gluten intolerant veggie, just fancied good old fashioned omelette and chips and it was russled up along with our Egyptian delights,

Amazing food, fabulous view - will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Acesupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best place for food on West bank”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Never stayed in the hotel, although it looks pretty fine for West Bank Luxor, but frequently visit it's top floor restaurant for lunch and dinners. Decoration is a bit funny and looks like a wedding cake:) but Nile view and Luxor temple directly across the river is amazing. Especially I like it in night time when lights and stars are on.
Food is really good there. It takes some time waiting to be served, but it worths it. Always fresh and tasty. And always safe and clean, what is more than important for locality :) I prefer kofta or lamb tajin, it's always good. If they have fresh eggplants, strongly recommend them fried, tastes like desert. Shisha is also fine. What I also like in this place is that normally you dine there alone, enjoying a view and weather, which is always great in Luxor.
Service is also good. Friendly and nice place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good W Bank choice with a great view”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This restaurant has the best river views on the W bank from its high rooftop. Service is reasonably quick and efficient and the food is good.

Recently the very long menu has been cut right down with pizzas and most of the Indian food removed. It's mainly Egyptian now, and not that wide a choice. Prices have shot up and it's now one of the more expensive W Bank places, but the food's pretty good and there's plenty of it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sit and watch the Nile”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I highly recommend the west bank of Luxor. It is quiet and easy to get to, either by 1 pound ferry or 5 pound motorboat. Hotel El Mesala is relatively new, clean and comfortable. Wifi works only on rooftop, not in rooms. breakfast is good, and the staff can cope with requests. Pool is small and unheated but refreshing. I did not eat in the restaurant other than breakfast, preferring the Nile View at the side of the Nile, of course.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank crumpet212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel El Mesala & Restaurant also viewed

 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Hotel El Mesala & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing