We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Mesala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Mesala Hotel
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have visited Luxor 8 times and this is the first time we have found El Masala Hotel! We went because in all the hundreds of hotels in Luxor rated on Booking.com, this one is #4 and on the West Bank. We prefer to stay on the West Bank for many reasons. It is laid back and less touristy than the East Bank, it tends to be less expensive, and the people on the West Bank are hospitable and friendly. Also it tends to have terrific views of the East Bank (Luxor temple and city skyline)

The El Masala Hotel is relatively new (3 years old). Since it is newly built everything is beautiful. The rooms (many of which have Nile views) are clean, tile floors, different kinds of bathrooms ensuite, different kinds of beds - two twins, doubles and queens). Plenty of blankets, soft pillows. We chose a large bed, with Nile View and we loved it. The staff are very attentive, and responsive to your every need. The rooms are cleaned well every day. They have a rooftop restaurant for complimentary breakfast in the morning, and if you tell them the day before they can provide whatever you want, including full Egyptian breakfast (Fuul, egyptian flatbread, feta cheese, omelet - or anything else you want to add) They provide full travel assistance for arranging tours, vehicles, etc.

They have a nice pool, if you are visiting when it is hot. (it wasn't while we were there in March, in fact it rained alot and even had hail this year)

The people on the West Bank are like a small village, friendly, open and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for Nile View - for a queen size bed with a view, we recommend 302. But rooms without a view th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank titachristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    41
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
52
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Last year, after staying here alone for the second time and singing its praises on my return home, two friends decided to join me this year. They were not disappointed and had a lovely time.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the food is exceptionally good. I was ill whilst I was there (a chest infection) and the staff were constantly looking after me by giving me their own remedies to try and help. The concern was very touching and most appreciated.
There is a TV in each room together with a full size fridge which is great for storing the many bottles of water I bought from the little local shops nearby. Its also great for being close to the public ferry and of course overlooking the Nile.

If there was something we wanted for breakfast they would get it for us, nothing was too much trouble.They also arranged a much welcomed airport transfer, which was a relief as we landed at Luxor at midnight.

I have been visiting Luxor for quite a few years now, usually staying in one of the smart hotels on the East Bank. However, having discovered the El Mesala, I feel I have found a 'home from home' and can't see me staying anywhere else now.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night. We organised a driver through the hotel, and the driver (Mohammed) organised practically everything for us. We had our own 'boatman' to cross the Nile and everything, it was great. The hotel itself is lovely and the service is excellent, these people will bend over backwards for you. They made us breakfast (omelettes) at 7am (or was it 630 cant remember) so we could speed off to Valley of the Kings nice and early. The decor in the hotel is great and it looks very clean. We had a choice of double or twin beds, both overlooking the swimming pool and the Nile. The manager was very helpful (somewhat overly helpful haha). We didn't spend much time in the hotel save for sleeping, most of the time was spend with the driver they organised for us who was absolutely brilliant. The services they provide such as that are an extension of them and their brand so much is to be said about that.

One thing though - if they organise a boatman for you, make sure you clarify all prices in advance. We were told £E10 for trips across the nile, they didn't clarify it would be more for say, luxor to Karnak (which would be fine just needs to be said up front), and for waiting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Have recently returned from El Mesala hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Have previously stopped on the East Bank, and wonder whether West might be best?

The room was kept spotlessly clean, and we were provided with a heater which we used for maybe 10 minutes no more in an evening. The bed was comfortable, and the water hot.

Breakfast consisted of bread rolls, cheese, butter and jam, fruit, yoghurt and either omelette or boiled eggs. Plenty of tea is provided, and if you require more just ask. Having stopped in other hotels in Luxor have to say their roof top terrace is bathed in sunlight in the mornings. There is not a better view to be had.

We have eaten in the restaurant many times previously. The food is tasty,good value for money, and they serve the best fresh lemon juice with mint you can find anyway.

It is not a luxury hotel, but for us we were very happy there and the staff excellent . Have no problems in recommending. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I just returned from a 2 week trip to Egypt. We absolutely loved the El Mesala. The people were so helpful and the food was the best we had on our trip. We had a 2 bedroom family suite that was perfect for our group. The view from the roof top restaurant was awesome. It is located directly across the Nile from the Luxor Temple. It is very quiet on this is side of the river and away from the many people pestering you for money. The tours they arranged for us were great as well. Please visit Luxor! We were so sad that there were no other tourists. It is a wonderful place to visit and we felt totally safe the entire time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinamom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in El Mesala hotel in Luxor on 23-28th of May 2013: The young owner is a very kind guest and he takes care of the people in the best way.
The hotel is clean, nice, with a delicious terrace on the Nile River where you can have very very good breakfast, lunch or dinner , and you can stay smoking narghilè and looking at the moon.
The swimming pool makes it perfect!
Good prices and good cookings!
Absolutely delicious and well organized.
Daniela Tamborino

Room Tip: We had a delicious room with Nile view: it was wonderful to wake up with the sunrising on the Nile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giuseppina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

It costs a fraction of the price of the big foreign-owned hotels and worked perfectly. I stayed in a river-front room with a great view and big balcony. loved to sit there, It's a quick ferry ride across to Luxor. I did not have dinner there, so can not judge it. My room was clean. I was alone, no hassle at all In the hotel. Did not use the pool.

Room Tip: ask a room at river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irmawardenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.3 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#17 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mesala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mesala Hotel

Property: El Mesala Hotel
Address: Ramla, West Bank, Luxor 10200, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mesala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your El Mesala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing