We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel, with wonderful roof top terrace”
Review of El Mesala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Mesala Hotel
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Have recently returned from El Mesala hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Have previously stopped on the East Bank, and wonder whether West might be best?

The room was kept spotlessly clean, and we were provided with a heater which we used for maybe 10 minutes no more in an evening. The bed was comfortable, and the water hot.

Breakfast consisted of bread rolls, cheese, butter and jam, fruit, yoghurt and either omelette or boiled eggs. Plenty of tea is provided, and if you require more just ask. Having stopped in other hotels in Luxor have to say their roof top terrace is bathed in sunlight in the mornings. There is not a better view to be had.

We have eaten in the restaurant many times previously. The food is tasty,good value for money, and they serve the best fresh lemon juice with mint you can find anyway.

It is not a luxury hotel, but for us we were very happy there and the staff excellent . Have no problems in recommending. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabel054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I just returned from a 2 week trip to Egypt. We absolutely loved the El Mesala. The people were so helpful and the food was the best we had on our trip. We had a 2 bedroom family suite that was perfect for our group. The view from the roof top restaurant was awesome. It is located directly across the Nile from the Luxor Temple. It is very quiet on this is side of the river and away from the many people pestering you for money. The tours they arranged for us were great as well. Please visit Luxor! We were so sad that there were no other tourists. It is a wonderful place to visit and we felt totally safe the entire time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinamom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in El Mesala hotel in Luxor on 23-28th of May 2013: The young owner is a very kind guest and he takes care of the people in the best way.
The hotel is clean, nice, with a delicious terrace on the Nile River where you can have very very good breakfast, lunch or dinner , and you can stay smoking narghilè and looking at the moon.
The swimming pool makes it perfect!
Good prices and good cookings!
Absolutely delicious and well organized.
Daniela Tamborino

Room Tip: We had a delicious room with Nile view: it was wonderful to wake up with the sunrising on the Nile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giuseppina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It costs a fraction of the price of the big foreign-owned hotels and worked perfectly. I stayed in a river-front room with a great view and big balcony. loved to sit there, It's a quick ferry ride across to Luxor. I did not have dinner there, so can not judge it. My room was clean. I was alone, no hassle at all In the hotel. Did not use the pool.

Room Tip: ask a room at river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irmawardenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been to Luxor at Easter time (march) and had a very pleasant stay at the El Mesala Hotel! We can definitely recommand this very nice hotel! He looked very well after us and we had lots of fun with him. The hotel is at the west bank of the nile, which is more quiet than the other side. You can get across the river by ferry very easy. The room has a nice balcony with a very nice view and the food is also very tasty. Luxor temple is next door across the nile. Ahmed tries to do everything to make you having a very pleasant stay and we definitly want to come back as soon as possible. There is no other choice in Luxor! Special thanks and all the best to Ahmed and his crew and family!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a wonderful 12 days at El Mesala. This is a small, family run hotel where the owners and staff really care about their clients' comfort and enjoyment. The location was great, we got the room with balcony, overlooking the Nile and the airconditioning worked just fine which was important since temperatures hit 38 Celsius in early May. Pool and pool area were spotless and fresh towels were always available.
We'd like to add that after spending much time visiting tombs and temples, we enjoyed eating our dinners on the roof top terrace. The menu is small but everything was tasty and nicely served.

Room Tip: State your preference and the manager will do his best to accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is 2 steps away from the ferry dock and has great views from its terrace of both the nile and the mountains. I have read other reviews but I must disagree with some of them: the hotel was immaculate when we stayed there. The floors were constantly cleaned throughout the building.
the pool was great and we couldnt have survived Luxor without it. The staff were really helpful. I disagree with calling them "odd"- they are Egyptians, and that's the way they are everywhere in Egypt. You have to accept that they wont behave the way westerners are used to, but that is the beauty of having holidays in a place like this. Yet the hotel was clean to western standards- if there's such a thing- and they were always kind and respectful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titotiratorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#14 of 54 in Luxor
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
#12 of 54 in Luxor
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#18 of 54 in Luxor
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#21 of 54 in Luxor
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mesala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mesala Hotel

Address: Ramla, West Bank, Luxor 10200, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: $20 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mesala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Mesala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing