We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days at the El Mesala!”
Review of El Mesala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Mesala Hotel
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Munich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy days at the El Mesala!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been to Luxor at Easter time (march) and had a very pleasant stay at the El Mesala Hotel! We can definitely recommand this very nice hotel! He looked very well after us and we had lots of fun with him. The hotel is at the west bank of the nile, which is more quiet than the other side. You can get across the river by ferry very easy. The room has a nice balcony with a very nice view and the food is also very tasty. Luxor temple is next door across the nile. Ahmed tries to do everything to make you having a very pleasant stay and we definitly want to come back as soon as possible. There is no other choice in Luxor! Special thanks and all the best to Ahmed and his crew and family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    43
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
54
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a wonderful 12 days at El Mesala. This is a small, family run hotel where the owners and staff really care about their clients' comfort and enjoyment. The location was great, we got the room with balcony, overlooking the Nile and the airconditioning worked just fine which was important since temperatures hit 38 Celsius in early May. Pool and pool area were spotless and fresh towels were always available.
We'd like to add that after spending much time visiting tombs and temples, we enjoyed eating our dinners on the roof top terrace. The menu is small but everything was tasty and nicely served.

Room Tip: State your preference and the manager will do his best to accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is 2 steps away from the ferry dock and has great views from its terrace of both the nile and the mountains. I have read other reviews but I must disagree with some of them: the hotel was immaculate when we stayed there. The floors were constantly cleaned throughout the building.
the pool was great and we couldnt have survived Luxor without it. The staff were really helpful. I disagree with calling them "odd"- they are Egyptians, and that's the way they are everywhere in Egypt. You have to accept that they wont behave the way westerners are used to, but that is the beauty of having holidays in a place like this. Yet the hotel was clean to western standards- if there's such a thing- and they were always kind and respectful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titotiratorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great location, right on the Nile, 5 minutes from the cheap local ferry (an experience not to be missed), or 30 seconds from a very cheap motor boat ride across to the East Bank. Nice little hotel, get a front room with a balcony view of the Nile. Room was clean, only complaint would be the shower curtain, which guaranteed you would get water all over the bathroom floor. Rather odd cleaning service - one day came back and found my pyjamas arranged rather strangely over the swan-sculpture towel, another day found my bra, which I had left draped over the sink, hung up in all its glory stretched across the towel rack and on full display!

Also, we found the manager rather odd. On arrival, he took us up to the restaurant for a welcome drink, and then sat and drank with us. We were rather tired after a long day, and didn't welcome his lecture about the unfairness of U.S. citizens being allowed to travel freely in Egypt, but Egyptians not being able to get visas for the U.S. I suppose I would agree with him, but not what we wanted to discuss with him at that particular moment. Also, when we checked out, which he wanted us to do the day BEFORE we left (most unusual!), we did not leave a tip at that time, preferring to tip as we actually leave a hotel. He made a big deal of writing "NO TIP" in big black letters at the top of our bill. I did tip when we left the next morning, but he was not around to see it. I found his behavior most insulting and strange. Most other people seem to have found the staff quite charming, so perhaps we were alone in our experience of the manager.

Besides all that, the pool was a godsend. After a hot sweaty morning at the Valley of the Kings, it was pure heaven to come back to the pool with a drink and a book.

The restaurant was very boring and disappointing - not much that we consider edible, and we are NOT picky eaters. Just got tired of the same old things, always with chips. We ate in the evenings at the hotel next door, - much more exciting choice of food.

Room Tip: get one at the front with a view of the nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days with our 3 children. I am so glad we stayed at this hotel, We had a very warm welcome. Our rooms were lovely, spacious and clean. the pool is perfect to relax in after sight seeing. The staff were so friendly it felt like a home from home and as others have said nothing is too much trouble. Being a small family run hotel we got to know the owners well and learn more about the country from them. The views from the roof top restaurant are the best in the West Bank. You have luxor temple directly opposite, across the Nile and the valley of the Queens behind which is lit up at night. I would highly recommend emailing the hotel to arrange a taxi to meet you at the airport. This will life easier when you arrive. Would love to return to Luxor and would definitely stay at the Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saluk316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stay here. It costs a fraction of the price of the big foreign-owned hotels and worked perfectly. I stayed in a river-front room with a great view and big balcony. It's a quick ferry ride across to Luxor and I loved leaving Luxor behind to return to the hotel. (Luxor is more a big, gray city than a town.) My room was perfectly clean. Only negative is that the Wifi isn't great but it works (there were Wifi inconsistencies in every hotel in Egypt outside of Cairo). Opt for a river-front room. I saw a partial view room which had only a bit of a view from a corner of the balcony. I'll be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ralexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We mostly enjoyed our stay at this hotel - loved the location on the West Bank of the Nile. Perhaps because the hotel and pool are relatively small we found it to be very friendly and our son seemed to find lots of playmates.
We had a really large room but I agree with the previous reviewer who said that the rooms could do with a clean. Our carpet was really grubby and so was the one on the back staircase. I would suggest that they don't bother with rugs in the bedrooms at all as they appear to be tricky to clean.
Breakfast was basic but fine. We didn't eat in the restaurant as they didn't seem to have any vegetarian main courses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bod75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#13 of 54 in Luxor
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mesala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mesala Hotel

Property: El Mesala Hotel
Address: Ramla, West Bank, Luxor 10200, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mesala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your El Mesala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing