We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Mesala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Mesala Hotel
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days with our 3 children. I am so glad we stayed at this hotel, We had a very warm welcome. Our rooms were lovely, spacious and clean. the pool is perfect to relax in after sight seeing. The staff were so friendly it felt like a home from home and as others have said nothing is too much trouble. Being a small family run hotel we got to know the owners well and learn more about the country from them. The views from the roof top restaurant are the best in the West Bank. You have luxor temple directly opposite, across the Nile and the valley of the Queens behind which is lit up at night. I would highly recommend emailing the hotel to arrange a taxi to meet you at the airport. This will life easier when you arrive. Would love to return to Luxor and would definitely stay at the Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saluk316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    41
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
52
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stay here. It costs a fraction of the price of the big foreign-owned hotels and worked perfectly. I stayed in a river-front room with a great view and big balcony. It's a quick ferry ride across to Luxor and I loved leaving Luxor behind to return to the hotel. (Luxor is more a big, gray city than a town.) My room was perfectly clean. Only negative is that the Wifi isn't great but it works (there were Wifi inconsistencies in every hotel in Egypt outside of Cairo). Opt for a river-front room. I saw a partial view room which had only a bit of a view from a corner of the balcony. I'll be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ralexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We mostly enjoyed our stay at this hotel - loved the location on the West Bank of the Nile. Perhaps because the hotel and pool are relatively small we found it to be very friendly and our son seemed to find lots of playmates.
We had a really large room but I agree with the previous reviewer who said that the rooms could do with a clean. Our carpet was really grubby and so was the one on the back staircase. I would suggest that they don't bother with rugs in the bedrooms at all as they appear to be tricky to clean.
Breakfast was basic but fine. We didn't eat in the restaurant as they didn't seem to have any vegetarian main courses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bod75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had booked this hotel by e-mail based on other Trip Advisor recommendations. I had pre-arranged a taxi pickup at the Luxor train station, but when I got there I was greeted by a man with no sign or identification. My pickup service involved me walking (with two bags) the 500 meters to the river, then taking a boat across to the west bank, then walking to the hotel. The refrigerator in my room had left over fruit in it, which smelled horribly. In the bathroom, the shower spray handle mount was broken, meaning I had to take one-handed showers. The shower curtain was useless, which resulted in a very slippery bathroom floor. On the plus side, there was very good hot water and pressure. Room decor is basic and beds are of average comfort. Hotel is located close to town and the public ferry dock and street noise is minimal. Front desk is often unattended. The pool and lounge area is very nice, and makes a great break from the heat of taking in the sights in Luxor. There was a smell of bug spray mixed with incense in the lobby. Skip the upstairs restaurant: service is slow, both at breakfast and dinner. I waited an hour for a barely warm kebab with rice. Prices are in line with other places. They have a live band at night, which is fairly loud. Overall, good location and pool, but offset by poor service and room quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Upon arrival at this hotel which is located on the west bank, we were greeted warmly with a welcome drink of freshly squeezed juice made to order. It is wonderfully located right in front of the Nile river very close to the ferry to take you to the East bank ( though for 5 LE we were able to take a speed boat. The ferry is 1 LE per person. The staff, manager and owner were beyond warm, welcoming and helpful, which is what really made our stay here a wonderful one.

We arrived in the morning and they very nicely let us check in early at no extra cost. We stayed 3 nights in the family room which was very large and spacious. 2 large bedrooms, a kitchen ( in need of some minor repairs), living/dining room and bathroom. The only issue we had ( as did our friends we were travelling with), was the rooms were not exactly the cleanest. The walls and floors were in dire need of a really good cleaning, as were the rugs in the halls. However our beds and sheets were clean. Price for the rooms here was extremely reasonable.

There is a small spotlessly clean pool and they provide clean towels free for use at the pool which was a nice touch.

We ate supper here 2 nights and the food was very tasty. Breakfast was included and pretty basic with a fried egg, yogurt, fruit, cheese but was sufficient for us.

I would recommend this place to others, provided you aren't expecting squeeky clean floors and walls. The staff was probably some of the best we encountered on our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel has a great location, the satff are amazing nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is spotless and the roof top resurant is excellent with fresh food every day. Beer and wine are avaliable here . If u want to stay in a clean traditional hotel then look no further this is the one for u. The west is best. Hello to the owners Mohamed and ahmed and to the staff. See u again in august Jackie and Maureen x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had an evening in their restaurant and I was served up quite a dry and over cooked omelette and chips. Disappointing and there are plenty of tastier venues on the west bank to eat at. It did seem clean enough though but the waiter mentioned they charge for taking photos of the east bank from the restaurant balcony. Whats that about? We didnt know if he was joking or not so just ignored him. Good customer service though?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrilliantBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#10 of 58 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#16 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mesala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mesala Hotel

Property: El Mesala Hotel
Address: Ramla, West Bank, Luxor 10200, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mesala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your El Mesala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing