We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but it tends to fizzle out”

Luxor Sound and Light Show
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.00*
and up
Karnak Sound and Light Show with Private Transport
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Luxor Sound and Light Show at Karnak Temple
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Sound and Light Show Karnak Temple
Ranked #21 of 85 things to do in Luxor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Karnak Sound and Light Show highlights the dramatic history of ancient Thebes. The show narrates the achievements of some great Pharaohs, with poetic descriptions of the ancient treasures. As visitors walk through the complex, the pharaohs arise to tell the story of their interesting lives, as haunting music mysteriously flows through this ancient city. Ancient and poetic voices tell the visitors about the birth of Karnak temple and the heroic achievements of the pharaohs and the god Amun. It is an enchanting and supernatural experience to listen to sound effects and gaze at the magnificent ruins illuminated during the well-presented show.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good but it tends to fizzle out”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As something to do in the evening its a good attraction and the first part especially where you walk through the ruins and stop at certain points with explanations and parts of the temple lit up its very good. You end up at a grandstand where the light show and commentary continue but its not very well structured and you don't actually see much from the lights.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronniemarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    123
    79
    41
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
835 reviews
671 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 733 helpful votes
“Hear Pharaohs Talk and Pray”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Sound and Light Show presented at Karnak Temple begins just at sunset and lasts 1 hour. Check the schedule on the website to see the times for the language that you speak. Since it is dusk and everybody needs to keep on the roped off path, there is no chance to look at any details on the walls and columns. There is little light except from the reflected images on the walls from the Light Show. I took along a small flashlight to ensure I would not trip on the uneven stones.
For half and hour we stood at different stations along the main axis of the Temple as we listened to the Pharaohs speak about their role in building Karnak Temple while their reflections were displayed on the high walls. I found the prayer to Amun the most interesting. No color is included in the images and the images don't change that often while one listens to a talking pharaoh. After these stations along the main axis, we finally reached the sacred lake where we sat down on bleacher type seats for the last half of the show. The reflections of the images in the lake were nice to see. I could also see in the distance the illuminated Valley of the Kings...nice touch I thought. The cost was 100 EP for the hour show, probably a bit expensive, and not a necessity, but it filled time in the evening. The souvenir salesmen kept their shops open for this night crowd.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent experience and was worth the visit! One advice: visit the temple during the day with a guide before doing the sound and light so that you understand what it is about.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well woth wseeing Karnak temple at night as well as day. The visitor numbers were low so never crowded. Check this out as soon as possible as different days have different language show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lbp121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting for HISTORY lovers”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was a nice description of the old pharaonic history, and the show is quite interesting for those who like to learn about ancient EGYPTian History. I wish I could read more details before attending the show. The temple is clean and the weather is magnificant, although i didn't like the croud. I wish It would be a smaller group

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Menan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luxor Sound and Light Show also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Luxor Sound and Light Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing