We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant experience”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Luxor, Nile River Valley

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jodo24
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We recently stayed on the Princess Donia for 4 nights/5 days and could not speak highly enough of our experience. Captain Hassan and his crew were fantastic, so kind and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. They went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect.
Everything from the tasty fresh cooked meals to the cleanliness of the cabins made our stay memorable.
Would highly recommend this boat to anyone wishing to cruise the Nile rather than one of the larger cruise ships. I guarantee your Egyptian experience will be heightened by cruising the Nile on this boat.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abulafia
Oyster Bay, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic cruise on the Princess Donia Dahabeeya”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My wife and I along with our daughter completed a 5 day cruise booked through Oriental Tours on the sailboat ("dahabeeya") Princess Donia from Luxor to Aswan. The experience was fantastic! What a difference from the large cruise ships! We felt like royalty in comparison. The boat is large, clean and comfortable and ably managed by Captain Hassan and crew. The three meals a day were a continual delicious surprise -- one night featured a dinner on the shore in an idyllic setting by the Nile. In addition to the usual stops like Karnak, Edfu, Kom Ombo, and Philae we also we able to visit the temple of Horemheb which is not able to be accessed by the big cruise ships. This is the way to sail the Nile! One note to future guests, there is often a difficulty in getting your credit card payment to go through, we were a bit worried but after reading the reviews from other members that this is a common problem due to the card companies not automatically paying an account in Egypt and not the result of some scam, we felt a little more secure. Eventually we were able to get the payment through on a debit card. We're so glad we overcame this hurdle as this is not an experience that many tourists get. This cruise was the highlight of our two weeks in Egypt.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ways
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
surrey
Reviewed April 19, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry_Bro...
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A magical river adventure with spectaular sights and the best of company...”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
7
people found this review helpful

We joined the graceful Princess Donia for a 7-day cruise from Luxor to Aswan (and back), in late March, and received faultless service from the moment we were cheerfully greeted at Luxor Airport to the time we were (reluctantly) taken back for our flight at the end of our holiday. The way you spend your days is really down to you, relaxed or energetic, but for my first visit to Egypt I was itching to see the magnificent historical sites along the Nile, as well as relax. The day trips are organised to avoid the midday heat, so expect an early breakfast now and again! The tours are led by dedicated, knowledgeable and friendly guides, with a love of their subject and an inside track at some of the sites. The crew ensured that we were safely accompanied at all times and took care of the road and boat transport, entry fees and tips, leaving us to enjoy the sights (these charges are settled on account at the end of the hol). Back on board the Princess, a generous lunch is served as you enjoy the hypnotic sounds of being 'under sail' for the first time. In the afternoon, there is masses of space on deck to sunbathe, sit in the shade and chat or find a quiet corner to read or simply watch the world go by. Wi-fi is available if the business world can't get by without you, or you can't bear missing out on what your friends had for breakfast (just joshin', it is very useful...). Below deck, the cabins are fitted with very effective air-con, have good bathrooms and wardrobe space (with more clothes hangers than any hotel I've ever stayed in) and are perfectly tended by the crew. The evenings start over a drink in the salon and continue with a relaxed, sociable dinner, sometimes spectactularly sited on the river bank, with the table floodlit from 'the Princess' and a candle trail to guide you to your seat (but I expect you've already dined out at a private table on the banks of the Nile! ;-). The crew members are delightful and nothing is too much trouble for them - a lost pair of sunglasses launched a land and water-based search that would have made Gil Grissom proud... BTW, when you speak with the owners, I recommend that you ask how the Princess was built and the way that she is administered today and you'll get an insight into the camaraderie that exists and why she is genuinely special. My final word goes to our fellow travellers, who turned a stunning trip into a memorable holiday. Thoroughly recommended - go and see for yourself!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: A great mix of spectactular sight-seeing with private relaxation and socialising
Liked least: Coming home...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing