We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great fun”

The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 154 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Egyptian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Midlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Fantastic welcome from the owner, a really good burger and pint of lager. We vowed we wouldn't do an "English" Pub on holiday in Egypt or anywhere else, but relented out of curiosity. Glad we did. It is great fun for a quick meal or pre dinner drink at reasonable non-hotel prices. -best burger I've had anywhere for a very long time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SP64SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    40
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a great place to spend time in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

a realy nice place to have a drink in with my friends and enjoy watching sports or playing pool and having a cold drink and the food there is very delicious specially pizza shady xD .also the staff are very friendly and helpful. and finally the prices are so fair

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eslam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoy spending time with us.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best place in Luxor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Friendly excellent value for money a great night out, there is only one place to drink in Luxor and the kings head is the place to go, the food is good to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your holiday to visit us.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place for a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We returned to Luxor again and a year later we were welcomed back to the pub like it was on yesterday. The staff are very friendly and its run by the lovely Shady. It's a great place to catch up with the sport and we were able to watch the six nations here, great atmosphere. This is one of the few places that you can buy alcohol away from the hotels at half the price and they also have free Wifi, and if feeling a bit hungry, food can be bought at a reasonable price.
Hope to see you all again soon when we return

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again. We are happy to hear that you welcomed back and that everything was still to your satisfaction.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming English pub - good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Kings Head is easily spotted by the sign outside, looking like a cross between Henry VIII and Rameses III! The pub is upstairs, so there is no access for disabled people. However,once inside you find a very welcoming bar, with quick service and good bar snacks and meals. In Egypt, there is not a great choice of beers - here you can have Sakara or Stella, locally brewed lagers by Heineken. There is also a good quality, free pool table and dartboard. I had a delicious Kings Head pizza, which was served quickly and was cooked to perfection. Will look out for this pub next time I am in Luxor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Glad to hear that you found us easily as some people do find us slightly tricky to spot!
Happy that you found the food enjoyable and that you plan to come again if you return to Luxor.
Looking forward to maybe seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing