We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good,but awful owner and his son” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fontana Luxor Hotel

Fontana Luxor Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fontana Luxor Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Luxor B&B and Inns
opole
Level Contributor
212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“good,but awful owner and his son”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

month ago i made reservation for 2 rooms 4 people , after coming owner told me that hotel is overbookin, SO WE SHOULD PAY MORE FOR another rooms at another hotel, after one day we came back, Prices of trip, anythinf was 2, 3 more than acceptable, Room after renovation was good,but staff, owner and his son going to varge for anuthng and nothing, so it was nervoius.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sp6smj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
8
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I spent around eight days at Fontana Hotel and was very happy, secure and comfortable. The location is great, mid-way between the Nile and the train station, with plenty of good restaurants nearby, and I liked the friendly neighbourhood. Mr Magdi and his family were all very helpful and made me feel welcome. I found the mix of guests, both foreign and local (including an extremely poor but lovely family from Alexandria), very interesting. I wasn't in Luxor to take tours or to bargain hard on prices (the country is suffering enough during the revolution with few tourists) so I can't comment with certainty on value for money, but I believe that my room charge was very fair compared to the numerous other hotels in the area. I had a double room on the rear side which was very pleasant, large, and light, with a huge bathroom and great hws, and just outside was a big quiet space where I practised yoga. Free wifi was a bonus. Thank you to Mr Magdi. Thank you also to the two lovely girls who work hard to keep everything nice and clean and provide breakfast with a smile! I hope to see you all again one day. Sandy

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyTatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

I think this hotel is far too expensive for what you get, the owner will charge as much as he thinks he can get away with. (I think people who like this hotel don't realise they are being overcharged by the owner. His prices are certainly not competitive!) We bargained a lot - you have to with this owner even by Luxor standards - just to get the price to a normal price for average dirty rooms. In the end it was so hot and we were tired after a night-train so we just said 'ok we'll stay here' even though we should've gone elsewhere. I wish we had gone elsewhere too! Rooms very plain and the beds are old. Showers warm but dirty floors. Problem is: the slick owner never stops trying to sell you stuff. And at a really expensive price. You say no and walk off and he halves his price in seconds! Still too expensive. We went and did a west bank tour with a Luxor tour company and paid less and the owner was willing to offer even after 10 minutes of bargaining (he gets aggressive too if you say 'no'). We got annoyed with him and just did it with a tour company, much better and easier and less hassle. Then he pressured us to buy breakfast which we didn't want. Other travellers there told us breakfast was bad too. But then we met a couple staying there who thought it was an okay hotel, but they didn't realise they were paying way too much for rooms and tours! (I didn't have the heart to tell them what we paid with the tour company.) Stay elsewhere in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank taken2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luxor hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
749 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is a good choice just off a main street with full of restaurant's option. Walking distance from train station, bus, coast,shopping, Carnac... and plaza.
The double room with bathroom was clean and comfortable with a reasonnable price. The included breakfast is simple but good. Acces to internet was free and you could watch TV from downstair. The owner was helpfull and you could also book tours from them for a competitive price.
I think it was a good choice and we could go back again.

Room Tip: Luxor has a lot of places, look and try
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed at Fontana Luxor Hotel for two nights and was incredibly impressed with the service and the dedication of Mr. Magdi and his son, Mahmoud Magdi. Mahmoud is very energetic and will work with you to see everything in Luxor for an affordable price but also quality experience. The hot air balloon trip they arranged was well organized, timely and very fun! Rooms were clean, shower hot and breakfast included eggs, bread, jam and cheese. Both Mr. Magdi and Mahmoud were very willing to chat and help us with anything we needed. Recommend to anyone passing through Luxor!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahiosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

The place itself is comfortable enough with its air conditioning. (even though the sheets were dirty and the shower room temperature). But what's annoying is the sly owner Magdi. We saw him at the train station and he quoted prices which changed by the time he drove us to the hotel. He waited till our bags were in the rooms and we gave him back our roomkey (we were about to go walking around the town), only then did he say that the quoted price was for "each person" when we clearly had determined "for the double room" at the train station. We were a little nervous about being in this strange city so just accepted it (in hindsight we should have gone to the tourist police). Then to do the standard west bank tour he offered a really high price (I mean REALLY high), we bargained to the point of annoyance and ended up agreeing to something about 1/6th of what he first quoted. Which was probably still a rip off. Breakfast consists of a cup of tea (nice enough) and some of the worst bread I've ever eaten. So not worth it unless you really love tea. In short - if you stay here (and I wouldn't again), have your wits SERIOUSLY about you. He is very unscrupulous.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beherenow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.0 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#1 of 38 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jolie Ville Hotel & Spa - Kings Island, Luxor
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.0 mi away
Sun Set Hotel
Sun Set Hotel
#40 of 58 in Luxor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Luxor Hotel

Property: Fontana Luxor Hotel
Address: Radwan Street (off Television Street), Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High standard of service, manager speaks English and French, 25 clean rooms with private bathroom, A/C and hot water 24 hours. Bicycles for rent. Free breakfast and free use of kitchen. Free internet. Shops and grocers close-by. Restaurants close by. Just 10 minutes walk from train station and Luxor Temple. Free pick-up service from train station to hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fontana Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing