We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice if you want to try the local cuisine...”
Review of Africa Restaurant

Africa Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good choice if you want to try the local cuisine...”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

That's the restaurant we chose for our first dinner in Luxor and we enjyed it..Nice view, good food (try the egyptian cuisine insted of some european dishes) and friendly service..You might feel the atmosphere a little bit "touristic" but the egyptian dishes and the view will help you realize where you are.....!!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank athpiraeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    42
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great views from your table”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We enjoyed our lunch here. They have Egyptian food and had a set lunch menu and we picked our main course. We were just 2 people, not with a big tour group. Lots of food for about $10/person with 1 drink. We sat next to the terrace railing and had great views of life going on in the streets below and a view of the Nile (partially obstructed by power lines). The restaurant is on the 2nd floor (3rd floor to us Americans). The toilets were on the second floor with some other restauant, but note that is not Africa restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rooftop View with a Beer”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Wonderful view from the rooftop, just loved chilling out with a beer. This restaurant is on the West bank and over looks the busy West Bank street below as well as the Nile. It was wonderful just to sit and relax with the view and a beer after a long day exploring the West Bank before heading to Luxor on the ferry.

Helpful?
1 Thank LostSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is North Africa”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Excellent setting and food. You sit under the stars elevated from the road, but can still hear the life on the road.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreas2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“tasty food”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

we eat here a couple of times during our stay in luxor and found the fixed price menu (£le 50) very tasty and the portions a good size .
the tables against the edge of the terrace are great for looking down onto the busy street scene below.
only thing to watch is the manager can be a little bit creative with the drinks part of the bill

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Africa Restaurant also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Africa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing