We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Howard Carter House
Ranked #22 of 82 things to do in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
539 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

On our trip the visit to Howard Carters house was not part the tour if i was to go again i would suggest a private car and guide the big tours and just to fast the house very close to the Valley of the Kings

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    67
    33
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wish I could stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

What can I say about this house - it has only recently become open to tourists but it is an amazing place only 20le to visit and although it's small and you don't stay long it is worth it. Once you enter it is like stepping back in time and you can imagine Howard Carter moving about the place. Outside there is a garden area and the whole place is off the tourist track so very quiet - I recommend a visit

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dottie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Of interest to the commited Egyptophile”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

A cool oasis near the valleys. The house is open to visitors and contains many of Caretrs artefacrs and photos.

Unfortuantley the adjacent cafe was closed when I visited, but the toilets were open (clean), but take some wet wipes as there did not appear to be soap or towels available.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jd2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Of interest about the man”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is not an important place to see, however, Howard Carter is an important figure in the story of the finding of Tutankhamun tomb that you should not miss this place. They do a very good projection show of Carter talking about how he found the tomb.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Superbunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our first visit to Howard Carters House. What an amazing place. It is a must and to see the hologram show was astounding. Best 45p (25 LE) we spent in Egypt

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolidayChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howard Carter House also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Howard Carter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing