We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star service for backpacker prices”
Review of Boomerang Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boomerang Hotel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Luxor had been a dream destination of mine for a long time but Egypt is not always the easiest place to travel in- especially as an all female group (!). However, the Boomerang hotel was by far the best place we stayed in. It was clean, spitting distance from the station, surrounded by good places to eat and away from all the chaos in the town centre whilst still being in easy walking distance to Luxor temple and the river. The rooftop lounge was lovely to hang out in the evening and the breakfast (£E15) deservingly famous (toast, eggs, omelette, AND pancakes really sets one up for the day!). We all stayed three nights in a triple room, with me staying one night extra night in a dorm to finish sightseeing (triple £E50 each per night).

I also went on a day-trip to Dendera and Abydos temples booked through the hotel which was well worth it. With three other guests, I only paid £E100 for the car for the entire day (about £10 English pounds): far cheaper than other quotes I was offered. True, this did not include a guide but having a pretty good basic knowledge of Ancient Egypt already, I preferred being able to explore the sites at my own leisurely place with guidebook in hand. I certainly was having more fun than the massive groups on tour buses who were being hustled around impatiently.

But by far what made Boomerang stand out above all was the care its owner Omar showed us. He was unfailingly helpful throughout our stay and went above and beyond what most budget hotels offer. He took care of booking trips without being pushy and never seemed to sleep, being available whenever a wee crisis blew up. He offered us hot water to make noodles and tea for free and allowed us to store our bags and even have a shower after we checked out when we returned from sight-seeing. When one of our group felt ill one of the nights he brewed cinnamon tea for her (which did seem to help) and showed genuine concern. By the end of the trip, we'd all decided we wanted to marry him and left me planning my next trip to Egypt. Thanks again Omar!

Room Tip: The dorm room 403 was a wee bit noisy (although spotlessly clean): the triple room 301 with an ensui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EyesOfAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohamed-mia, Owner at Boomerang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had a very comfortable double-aspect twin-balcony room with a small TV and free wifi in the spotlessly clean Boomerang Hotel. B&B with private, if detached, bathroom is an extraordinarily good deal (E£65) and there is a relaxing rooftop bar serving the cheapest Stella beer (E£10) in town. The buffet breakfast too (E£15) is hard to beat: Omelet or pancakes cooked to order, orange squash, yogurts, cereal, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, a selection of white and yellow cheeses, various cold meats, tomatoes, cucumber, white and wholemeal toast, an array of jams, honey and, a selection of teas and coffee. This is probably the best value hotel I have stayed in, high praise indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are a little quieter. As with everywhere in Egypt, there's a mosque nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I would highly a stay at the Boomerang. Clean and friendly and at the price a real bargain. It's one of the best places I've stayed in on my whole six month trip. I would highly recommend a stay here. Also the breakfast buffet is superb.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bezoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is veeeryyy clean, has very nice steps.
Just 7mins far from the railway station by walking.
We traveled Egypt for 6 weeks. Boomerang gave to us best price and best service.
Thanks you so much. Thanks to you, we were really happy in Luxor :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomorrowgoodgoodgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days, feeling literally at home. :)

Rooms are really clean and cozy, staffs are soooooo nice; friendly and humorous. They don't seem to care about money, don't force travelers to do all the tour things, but are very willing to give any kinds of information to people.

There are not many things except for beds and a mirror in the room, but you don't expect much for a budget hotel, do you? So, if you are looking for a backpacker-friendly hotel in Luxor, this is the place!! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yiso_yiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I liked this place a lot. in the budget range it is clean, very clean.very good breakfast, with fruit! but above all is the way staff acts that makes a difference. they don't even seem to care about the money, it's really up to you.and this is a good sensation in Luxor. they were friendly and cool. I'll be back.

Room Tip: I took a room with shared bathroom and infact I had two very close clean bathrooms all for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank learningtocrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at the Boomerang hostel January 15-16 and had a fantastic experience. Omar was so friendly and kind. The room was clean and the bed was huge! The water was hot and the roof top had great music and a wonderful atmosphere to meet other travelers. I ran the marathon on the 18th and came back to the Boomerang hostel for a couple of hours before my train left on the 19th. Omar protected my suitcase, let me use the internet, and even offered that I could take a shower all for free. I really felt like family at this hostel and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a sweet experience of hospitality that doesn't cost you too much.

Thanks again Omar!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
891 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
#11 of 54 in Luxor
83 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#14 of 54 in Luxor
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
1,538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boomerang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Hotel

Address: Mohamed Farid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Luxor, the Bob Marley Peace Hotel Luxor offers a variety of rooms to accommodate all needs at very affordable prices. You can select a double room with king size bed with ensuite bathroom, a room for 3 with a private bath, a room for 1 or 2-persons with a shared hallway bathroom, and even a dorm bed with shared bathroom. You can even choose a room with air-conditioning, TV, and balcony. All bathrooms have hot showers and free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The hotel features a roof-top terrace and a restaurant that serves a breakfast buffet. The hotel can also arrange a variety of local Luxor and Aswan tours at the best rates. The Bob Marley Peace Hotel is conveniently located near transportation, shopping, and historical sites. We are just a 5-10 minute walk from the Luxor train and bus stations (we offer free pick up) and the International Airport is 15 minutes away by car (we offer a very reasonably priced pick up). A variety of restaurants, markets, shops, the Bazaar, the River Nile, and the Luxor Temple are all within an easy 15-minute walk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing