We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing caring charity

We visited this animal charity on recommendation on our recent trip to Egypt. We were impressed by... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
byegreg
,
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Great carers

ACE is run by a dedicated team of animal lovers and their love and devotion shines through. From... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
goldfingermike
,
Halifax, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 383 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Luxor
from $75.90
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
from $93.75
More Info
from $10.26
More Info
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
347
26
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
347
26
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews working animals animal lovers wish list cats and dogs animal hospital medical care martin clunes sick animals love animals duct tape school children local animals poor animals check their website learn how donation box free treatment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came to Egypt with the basic plan: arriving down south in Aswan, and move up day by day untill Cairo. There I would take my plane back home.
Ultimate goal: visiting the temples and Pyramides.

After 5 days I made it to Luxor, and already visited everything I wanted to do. In Luxor you will see that the city has a lot of carriages driven by horses. To transport tourists. I talked with some guys who owned one, and they told me they could go for free to the ACE hospital, where the animals are been taken care for for free.

I had to see this. Just a beautifull concept. 2 retired English ladies offer all their time and spare money, just to help fight the suffering of animals. And the hospital is big. (but according to Kim not big enough, she's to cute).Eventually i worked there as a volunteer for 6 days.

Egyptians have it already difficult to manage to survive, so the moment an animal is hurt, they cannot afford their care. That's why Kim insists that everything is for free, just to convince those people to come. And it works. People come from far, I was talking to a women who came from Qena (thats 2hours by train from luxor...) just for her cat.

They take a maximum of 50 cats and 10 dogs in, take care of them, castrate them, and let them to adopt. In the 6 days 2 cats and 2 puppies were adopted. Like that, they take new ones in. But the most care goes to donkeys and horses. These are still the driving agricultural forces in Egypt. And not only do they take care of them: they also educate the owners to prevent wounds and overload.

Just go and have a visit. It's in the middle of the countryside, 2.5km of the center. Volunteers are welcome, and can even stay and sleep in 3 beautifull sleepingrooms.
If you would like to donate: know that all the money goes to the organisation. The management lives from their own income (retirement-fund), and even use it to pump it in the hospital. I can only have respect for them, and love.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Ismael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Fundraising & Supporter Care Manager at ACE - Animal Care in Egypt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for coming to visit and volunteer with us. We are so glad that you found out about our work and we really appreciate your help and support.

We hope to see you back in Luxor soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went as part of our larger tour and got a tour of the facility, met the staff, saw the animals that they're helping, and heard about the animal care and welfare/anti-abuse programs that they've created. Got to play with the turtles (I love turtles!) and pet several of the cats. Egypt has no animal cruelty laws, and it's only through groups like this that change will happen. You can donate to them through the Intrepid Travel website (they'll match your donation). I donated when I was there and again once I was home. You'll cry when you see the shape that some of these animals are in--and want to hurt the people who hurt them--but your heart will soar when you see the good work that the staff here does and how much the animals' lives are improved.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Fundraising & Supporter Care Manager at ACE - Animal Care in Egypt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for coming to visit our charity hospital, your support is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

When visiting Luxor, it is abundantly clear that animals play a major role in the local community. Many of the horses and donkeys that are seen on the roads would have no access to veterinary care if it weren’t for the free treatment provided by the amazing veterinarians and support staff at ACE. ACE is an incredible organization that not only provides top-notch medical care for the working animals of Luxor, but also welcomes the small animal pet population and those that reside on the streets.

ACE is also a fantastic training resource for aspiring veterinarians such as myself. My time at ACE was life-altering; not only did I gain a wide range of practical skills while volunteering for the organization, but I also had an incredible personal experience thanks to the team at ACE and the clients that I had the pleasure of meeting. The importance of ACE was highlighted when encountering those who brought animals from hundreds of kilometers away in order to access veterinary care, which was not an uncommon occurrence.

Because ACE runs on donations, I would highly encourage anyone who has any interest in animals or people to visit the center for a tour or to volunteer. Donations are optional but are extremely appreciated and well utilized. I would also encourage anyone reading this review from abroad to consider donating medical supplies such as vet wrap and duct tape, which can be brought directly to the organization when you visit!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank missbdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Fundraising & Supporter Care Manager at ACE - Animal Care in Egypt, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for coming to volunteer with us, we really appreciate your wonderful support. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write this great review for us. It give us great pleasure to read your comments about experience with us in Luxor and we do hope to see you back again soon.

Welcome to Team ACE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

This place was easily one of the top 3 experiences for us in all of Egypt. It is definitely incredible to see all the care that the animals receive at ACE - from numerous cats and turtles that permanently live on their premises, dogs that are kept in kennels in the hopes of getting adopted out and finally to working animals getting much needed medical care. Do take the time to visit - and before you go (even before you embark on your trip to Egypt), visit their website to see the many ways in which you can help their mission...from monetary donations, bringing supplies that can be expensive or difficult to come by in Egypt, or making nosebands, to bringing some gently worn clothes for sale in their charity shop (this provides more accessible clothes for the locals and helps fund the hospital). ACE benefits not only the animals in Upper Egypt but also the people who can bring in their animals for free care, employing Egyptian vets, providing practical training to those in vet school, as well as hosting school kids to teach them about animal welfare. When you visit, volunteers do a great job providing a short tour of the hospital and explaining what they do. Visiting this place and making a donation, however small or large, is a great way to have a meaningful, positive impact on the community.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank IKN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Fundraising & Supporter Care Manager at ACE - Animal Care in Egypt, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to come and visit our British charity, we really appreciate your kind support. Also, that you for writing this lovely review about our vital work in Luxor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019

An incredible place to visit in Luxor. They offer free vet care to all the locals and are helping a range of donkeys, cats, dogs, horses and tortoises! We had a volunteer kindly show us around and she was just wonderful, explaining everything they do and it is incredible. They offer free education programs within schools and are really trying to change the mindset towards animals in Egypt. The animals in their care are happy, healthy and so friendly - it was hard to leave! Please go and check it out for yourselves and, better yet, give a donation to help this amazing place <3

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank annettemkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Fundraising & Supporter Care Manager at ACE - Animal Care in Egypt, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Thank you so much for coming to visit us, we are so pleased that you took the time to come and see the work that we do.
Thank you also for taking the time to write this review for us, we really appreciate your kind support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews