We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$16
Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
Breakfast included
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
$22
Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
Breakfast included
Agoda.com
$14
Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
samerelsayary
Alexandria, Egypt

Shady hotel a terrible nightmare!!!!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 15, 2012
First day i took the room with my wife, we got shocked from the cleanness of the room, were you can easily slip off the bed by tons of dust on the sheets, of course many of lamps didn't turn on (but that was expected in such place). the house keeping cleaner didn't want to clean the room because she was tired (that was so strange).
Second day we got off bed realizing that we had some harsh itching from the sheets (only God knows what was there on our beds). and the big shock was in the restaurant were we had an unpleasant visitor during our breakfast who reminded us with ratatouille (a very big rat ), who went crazy between us while we screamed. the comic part when the manager tried to convince 6 persons saw the rat that it is just a kitty, but for us that was it. we checked out the hotel breaking our vacation.
Date of stay: February 2012
Room Tip: Do Not ever come to this place
Trip type: Traveled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shady H, General Manager at Shady Hotel Luxor, responded to this review
Responded Jan 3, 2019
لقد تم تجديد الفندق وتمت تغير الإداره القديمة ونتمني زيارتك إلينا
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel
$158
$154
  • Booking.com
    $154
  • Priceline
    $154
  • Hotels.com
    $154
0.3 miles from Shady Hotel Luxor
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$72
  • Priceline
    $100
  • Trip.com
    $58
  • Expedia.com
    $110
0.7 miles from Shady Hotel Luxor
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$71
  • Expedia.com
    $72
  • Vio.com
    $62
  • Hotels.com
    $72
0.6 miles from Shady Hotel Luxor
Pool
Restaurant
Steigenberger Achti Resort, Luxor, Egypt - Exterior View
Booking.com
$74
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $49
  • Agoda.com
    $48
  • Vio.com
    $68
1.1 miles from Shady Hotel Luxor
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$29
$22
  • Priceline
    $28
  • Expedia.com
    $29
  • Hotels.com
    $29
0.6 miles from Shady Hotel Luxor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
$110
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $110
  • Expedia.com
    $111
  • Hotels.com
    $110
2.7 miles from Shady Hotel Luxor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Agoda.com
    $40
  • Expedia.com
    $49
0.8 miles from Shady Hotel Luxor
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $76
  • Trip.com
    $52
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Shady Hotel Luxor
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Luxor
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
25
2
1
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
25
2
1
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus station swimming pool sightseeing balcony temple egypt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 37 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2010

On first impressions the hotel looks very drab on the outside and the name really suits.
Inside its not much better.......its tired old fashioned and needs more than a facelift.
My room looked promising on arrival........reasonible size and good bathroom.
I was looky to have been given a room at the rear of the hotel as its on a very busy street so the noise from Television street was ok.
Outside the balcony looked a pretty little garden with nice pool.........however on closer inspection the pool was filty and I would not dare use it.
The first night I went to bed to discover only one sheet on the bed......I was able to strip the other bed and put the one sheet on that on my bed.The cleaner came to do my room on the first morning and did not return again during my five days.
Breakfast the first morning was dismal.........as it was every morning of my five night stay.
Two bread rolls a square of cheese and jam.......that was it.
I asked for English tea but that was an ask too much.
Overall the Shady was a big let down and I would not return
I must say however that all the staff I met were very courtious and friendly........the only good thing I can say about the place..
I must say however that

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dubliner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 18, 2023
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 23, 2023 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 31, 2022
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 24, 2022 via mobile
Google Translation

Room tip: Não deixem q peguem seu telefone para colocar comentários! Olhe se no seu quarto tem toalha assim q vc chegar
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shady Hotel, Owner at Shady Hotel Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2023

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews