We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place.”

The Genesis Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 154 Restaurants in Luxor
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Been to Genesis several times over the years. Always had a good night. Always had good food. A pub that has a theme of its own, from the mini zoo at the rear to the swimng pool with a bridge and rock waterfall, fish tank tables, upside down laid table on the celing. Just a shame it is so far out of Luxor, but there again taxis are cheap. A place like this would do a bomb in Luxor itself.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    21
    11
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great time yet again”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Thanks again julia and gamal, best place in luxor for entertainment, only place to have a dance, sing, and swim if you fancy. I had a great time see you again in september inshalla. I.ll put photos on when I figure out how to

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Weird and wonderful”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Not my kind of place - very mishmash and dark interior and was not keen to eat there - it does attract lots of people especially on Thursday and Friday when there is music and dancing - I wouldn't return but for something different has an appeal

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surreal!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were taken to this pub by our taxi driver. Just an amazing place to visit. Julia, our landlady, can tell you anything you need to know about Luxor, and beyond and the service was friendly and prompt. You really should put this on your 'must do' list - as the experience ( And it really is a place you have to experience as a written description will not do it justice) will make you want to go back as we did. ps there is a small disco area (amongst other attractions) for those in the mood later on...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grubber87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waterfalls, a camel, a horse, ostriches, good food.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Genesis really is unique, from the animals in their pens at the back of the bar to the fully laid out table and chairs glued upside down on the ceiling! The place is like a magic grotto with myriads of twinkling lights everywhere, a bridge over a little swimming pool with a large waterfall rumbling over rocks into it at one end. The animals are in compounds at the back of the bar and the staff are happy to show you round - no it was not smelly at all. We had a couple of beers and then ordered the food. It was cooked from fresh and my shakshouka was excellent - and at a very reasonable price too! And if you go at the right time they will put on DVD's which educate you about the sights and sites of Luxor. For a unique experience, Genesis is well worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DickPeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Genesis Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to The Genesis Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing