We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time here : )”

The Genesis Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Mediterranean, British, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great time here : )”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were staying around Egypt and came across this restaurant / bar..
Very warm welcome, great place,
They do english food, along with other dishes..

This place must be a one off as never seen any place like this in and around Egypt and if in the area worth a visit..

We longed for just chips and egg.. and it was lovely very cheap and loads of chips that we were missing.

At the back there are animals its amazing..

In the evening go there too all english music and the food agin is lovely and its a good amount you get, wish we found the place before we were ready to leave.

we will be going there again great place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseanddanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    21
    11
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“so bad you have to see it”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

tacky,unclean and for the definately weird ( the fish tank coffe table is enought to give you the idea). Thumping disco music flashing lights etc.....ahhhhhh

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank camlass_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Night out with a difference”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If your looking for a night out with a difference this is the place to go.This Bar/Restaurent serves great food.If your looking for a place to watch Premier league Football this place shows them.Where in the world while you are eating dinner can you see the eiffel tower,enjoy a swim in the bar,go out the back to a small zoo these are only some of the weird things u can see as well as a table hanging from the roof.The owner is very pleasant and kids will really enjoy themselves here as well

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hard to add anything to what has already been said... Wackiest retaurant which we have ever been to! Did not see the cat or the Great Danes, unfortunately, but the other animals were great - and seemed well looked after.
Food was very good, with no tummy troubles after we had been a party of 7 there - and then a party of 4, the following week. Prices for drinks and food very reasonable - and return taxi fare (from the Jolie Ville, on the other side of Luxor) only 50-60 LE, round-trip).
On the second visit the the girls enjoyed dancing on the disco floor, but the music was a bit too loud for easy conversation for the men... (Was not a problem, the first time.)
Luxor is a WONDERFUL city but, frankly, there is not much to do in the evenings - so this place is very welcome.
Julia is a great host - and we hope her back is better, now.
If you are even slightly adventurous - go here, you'll have a great evening.!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccmanMidlands_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, good value.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Don't expect cask Ale or even bottles of English beers or Guiness I'm guessing import duties make this unviable. if you know of anywhere in Luxor let me know ?
What you can expect is great food well presented. The Steak was well cooked and was half the price of anything comparable at my hotel. The steak chips with some HP sauce was heaven.
The decor is a bit dark and lighting low but for a good value meal and drink look no further.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ATraveller363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Genesis Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to The Genesis Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing