We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals we had.”

Sofra Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #4 of 154 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Ahlan wa sahlan in Sofra, a restaurant located in the heart of Luxor that draws its inspiration from the rich Arabian culture. Sofra is situated in an old 1930s Egyptian house that still retains its traditional character. Sofra: A culinary voyage through Egypt! Discover the secrets of Egyptian cuisine and enjoy true traditional food in an oriental atmosphere in the heart of Luxor, Egypt.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

A stylish Egyptian restaurant. Traditional food and decor. Excellent service. One of the best meals we had in Egypt.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    253
    67
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best mezzehs of Egypt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great restaurant with the best mezzehs ever. Have travelled quite a lot through the middle east and can really recommend a dinner here, although you could already enjoy a great meal by splashing into all their great mezzehs! Walking there you have to be careful not to walk by, but when you find it, you will be rewarded with great food and a great roof top restaurant. The staff is friendly, a bit slow maybe, but well who cares when you are on holiday. A must eat I would say when visiting Luxor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Finally good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were very disappointed from the Egyptian food in Cairo! After we visited some of their best local spots, we just decided we will have to live on falafels and babaganush. BUT SOFRA was finally a traditional and delicious Egyptian restaurant that we can strongly recommend!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tzveta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oriental Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

A must to experience in Luxor! Tasteful native food in oriental styled restaurant, while listening Um Khultum's poetic masterpieces. Try to arrive just before sunset, both hearing prayers and seeing restaurant transformation to the night light one. You can't help falling in love with your life again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank realinearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must visit restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We went to Sofra after it was suggested in our Lonely Planet guide and this restaurant did not disappoint!!!
It is located down a side street off the main drag so we decided to walk. Once we made the turn we were finally left alone to stroll the street and get a feel for Egyptian life in Luxor. We didn't know what to expect when walking in but we were really impressed with the atmosphere and decor.
The service was excellent. They were very attentive and incredibly friendly.
The food is super cheap and it just melts in your mouth. I had a chicken dish that was fall off the bone tender.
They don't serve alcohol there but we followed up our meal with tea and sheisha. It was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience overall. I celebrate my birthday on our last day in Luxor and we plan to return to Sofra for the occasion.
Definitely make sure to visit Sofra during your visit to Luxor!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank PD2TRVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofra Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Sofra Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing