We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with gourmet style Egyptian”
Review of Jewel of the Nile

Jewel of the Nile
Ranked #9 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: International, British, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Please note the Jewel of the Nile has now moved, we are opposite Snobs restaurant. We are open from 10 am until 11 pm Daily.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with gourmet style Egyptian”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

large menu of english and Egyptian delicacies that are good but not great. £85 for 4-course menu or £75 for vegetarian. Menu items include camel, buckwheat-stuffed pigeon, and Egyptian style calf liver. From here they can arrange trips to ace animal care and advise about proper horse treatment (never whip, do not make run, do not take further than 5km at a time). Overall not the tastiest meal I had but I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PopsyLuxor, Owner at Jewel of the Nile, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind review. I just need to clarify that the 4 course vegetarian menu is £7.50 and meat or fish menu is £8.50. :o) Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. Kindest regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    90
    21
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Jewel of the Nile it certainly is”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Jewel of the Nile is a brilliant little restaurant. Laura & Mahmoud the owners are very friendly and a delight to know. Mohammed and Said the waiters are brilliant, both very friendly and attentive with brilliant sense of humour. We became a little addicted to the restaurant and I gradually worked my way through the Egyptian part of the menu which was fantastic, loved it all but HIGHLY recommend the Fish Tagen, incredible. Can't wait to go back. Thank you Laura, Mahmoud, Mohammed and Said, missing you already.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“laura Posh restaurant (Secret Garden Cafe)”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Food good. Bit of a walk down street from Secret Garden Cafe and can be a bit interesting getting back if there is a power cut! Worth a visit has some good specialities but shaded a bit by Puddleducks and the lantern.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Picasso1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport Point, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant near the Steigenburger Hotel”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Owned by a British woman and her chef husband, this restaurant, along with Puddleduck, needs reservations. It's not fancy, but it's clean, welcoming, and reasonable. I was hungry for fried shrimp for some reason, and it was delicious. Our friends had a sea bass tagine that they bragged on, and Leo had a really good steak. And the owners were very accommodating. We'd definitely go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

enjoyed the food, service was spot on and its sparklingly clean, a little way off the main street but worth the walk.
Its more than £1 to £5 if you have meat dishes but hey its still cheap!
Good host too.
Try it folks

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weardalelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel of the Nile also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Jewel of the Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing