We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best price for a hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob Marley House Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bob Marley House Hostel
Ranked #3 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best price for a hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

When we first arrived, the owner greeted us herself (I forgot her name) and gave us a brief tour around the hostel. She also provided us with a roomboy who is available (almost 24/7) to assist us with anything we need. The staff were all very nice and the guests were so warm with new comers. They bonded very well as if they had stayed there for years. The hostel was in walking distance to Luxor temple and of course there are many restaurants available nearby. Despite the fact there was no heater, but we could survived the cold at night with blankets. Breakfast was good and she always made sure we had everything we wanted. Great service for such good price. I would recommend this hostel to all backpackers who are visiting Luxor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loraharriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    29
    6
    7
    14
See reviews for
4
30
58
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The management is very friendly, caring, and professional. The facilities and rooms are spotlessly clean. They have wifi, a great rooftop seating area, the best breakfast from any hotel I've stayed at in Luxor, and the location is fantastic. I highly recommend this hostel/hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The beating heart of the backpacking community in Luxor.

An absolute gem of a place that provides a great hostel with a relaxed attitude, no pressure tours (though I do suggest you take one to save the hassle of the West Bank) excellent breakfast and hospitality like no other.

If Maria and Sayeed could bottle the piece of magic they have perfected they would become very rich - A fantastic place, wouldn't consider anywhere else in Luxor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stu.bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The best hostel I've ever stayed in all over the world, the service was amazing with a good free breakfast included. Excellent value for money, they even gave us towels and soap. Really hot showers with great water pressure. If you're going to Luxor, stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elhowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The management of the hostel was only recently taken over by the Belgian national Maria and her husband. They run an organised hostel that provides the necessary amenities in a comfortable setting. For the price of a room, there is little else available in Luxor that can compare. However, the best part of this hostel is definitely the hospitality and knowledge of Maria. She has organised a well functioning hostel and provides a wealth of knowledge and guidance on Luxor and its surrounds because it is her passion. I would recommend this hostel just for the pleasure of meeting Maria.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plpotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

When I first arrived at the bob marley house I was warmly welcomed by Maria, a lovely Belgian women, who runs the hostel together with her Egyptian husband Sayed. Both are amazing people, who dont hesitate to help you with whatever, whenever they can. Also both were some of the most friendly persons I have met while traveling 3 weeks thru egypt and their hospitality is worth an award.
Their staff as well is really kind and I wish Mohamed allt he best with his football-career ;-)

When u arrive in Luxor, its best to contact Sayed directly, since there are people around who try to scam you by directing you to a "fake" bob marley house.

Nuff said, Maria and Sayed I wish you all the best and when I will come again to Luxor, I know where to stay =)

All the best form Zurich,
Philipp

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Thanks for organizing an amazing a cheap tour, picking us up from the train station and making me feel at home. The place is well located and the breakfast HUGE! Great atmosphere and a really chilled vibe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gxwhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.3 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#8 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
#11 of 58 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob Marley House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob Marley House Hostel

Property: Bob Marley House Hostel
Address: Badr Street, Luxor 2134, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is in Badr Street off television. st. you. Please be careful. Please do not listen to anyone who says that we are closed, changed our name or relocated or full. Even if they have our business card. just come to hostel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bob Marley House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob Marley House Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing