We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egyptian hospitality at this small restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casablanca - CLOSED

Casablanca
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Egyptian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Egyptian hospitality at this small restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This lovely little restaurant deserves to do well as it serves great food at good prices with attentive (but certainly not pushy) service. Nothing was too much trouble here and it was a welcome change, serving Egyptian food amongst the myriad of restaurants catering to the British only. It is exceptionally clean with a very pleasant atmosphere - we're glad we found it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank UKbadiabranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Good local food, cooked to a good standard, service friendly but not pushy, nothing too much trouble. Well with a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taurinya, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

After a hot but rewarding morning exploring the West Bank, we were wilting and asked our tour guide to recommend a restaurant. Casablanca gave us everything we needed and much more - excellent Egyptian hospitality, freshly cooked local food, added extras without charge. It's so sad that so many really good businesses lack customers since the revolution - the owner, who loves to chat, said his normally bustling restaurant is often empty, as it was today. The food however was excellent and very good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too lovely for words”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went here on recommendation from our guide. It could easily have been 'mates favours' but it really wasn't. The place was super clean and the food amazing and utterly authentic. The owner didn't have a menu, but asked us what we fancied eating. He made a few suggestions and then stood and had a bit of a chat with us while we waited for our food. We had tasty stuffed pigeon and dips/salads to start and it was fabulously done. At the end of the meal we asked for a bit of baklava and kanafa with our turkish coffee and he agreed and it was only when he nipped back in a few minutes later with a box that we realised he'd gone out to get us our hearts desire rather than disappoint.
Egypt's tourism is suffering since the revolution and this kind of place makes you feel really sad for it. He worked so hard and the food was so good its such a shame that more people don't experience it.
Go and enjoy Casablanca, its more expensive than 'local' restaurants, but about the same you'd pay in Europe of America and totally worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mersryside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

we had one meal here the food was lovely and freshly cook for we had the meez for two and their was a lot and best of all the price was great too.a much if you go luxor.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing