We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1886 Restaurant

1886 Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 154 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Two visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We made reservations for our first and last nights in Luxor this trip and were delighted with our choices of meals each time. If I have one tip that would be skip the starter to make sure you have room for the most wonderful desserts.
Very few other people were using the restaurant on both of our visits, which is a shame as it really isn't that expensive a place to dine at, less than a Jamie Oliver restaurant in the UK !
Dress code seemed to have been relaxed due to few people dining there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidays-R-Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    22
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Retro charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Winter Palace is out of another age and that's it's charm. Go once a least, put a tie on and live life as it was. The food isn't perhaps quite what one might get in similar palace hotels on the French Riviera but neither is the price

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles_Orleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“What wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Not the cheapest restaurant in Luxor but we still ate here twice in a week. We loved the service, the menu and the atmosphere.

Both times it was almost empty, but the service you could not fault. The food is French style, they serve some lovely Egyptian wines which came as a complete surprise to me as they were so good.

You are asked to dress formally and that is half the fun, but not everyone who goes does.

If in Luxor, go for the experience and a chance to wander through The Winter Palace and gardens where it is located.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemesis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Old fashioned ambience and silver service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have dined here before and this year's experience was as good as ever. With a new french residient chef the menu has had a total revamp and does not fail to deliver. Its a high standard with discreet and excellent service, with high quality food and presentation.
One thing peeps it is silver service a gorgeous setting so show some respect and don't come in in jeans and wear a jacket.
A final note to the general manager please enforce the dress code, its about an occasion not a fast food joint!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aardvarktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A special meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I went with great expectations. Unfortunately I was disappointed as the clients did not wear tie and jackets as I had been told to expect. The food was edible but I did not expect at those prices to have instant mash. It was not good.
My goats cheese was good and the soup my husband had he said was excellent .
The steak edible but gritty in parts plus the instant mash. My main course was fish in a pancake that was to say the least well done. Not quite burnt enough to send back but heading that way. So disappointed with this I will think twice about going again. Not up to sofitel usual standards.i

Helpful?
Thank Ramseywatch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1886 Restaurant also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to 1886 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing