We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here, yes really, stay here. Like finding a goldmine!!'”
Review of Mara House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara House
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay Here, yes really, stay here. Like finding a goldmine!!'”
Reviewed April 24, 2009

I loved staying here. Mara, Sara & Steve - fantastic. Wonderful, helpful, knowledgeable on the area, tours, culture - invaluable advice on how to approach Egypt and its culture. So glad I decided to come here. Mara House is a lovely hotel of apartments that more than suffice and has a lovely restaurant that offers traditional Egyptian cuisine. All the staff were wonderful and it was really welcoming and relaxed.

I didn't want a tourist hotel, I much prefer staying places where I can be a bit away from that side of things and see more local life. This did it. 5-10 minute walk from the back of Luxor train station, another short walk to Luxor temple & the Nile. All the locals round the hotel were friendly and would say hello when they saw you.

Mara is a diamond and her tours well planned - go to Abydos & Dendera. Her advice on everything was most welcome, and she will keep you in line in her wonderful Irish way!!

I almost decided to come back her after Cairo but glad we stayed on the West bank as it offered another perspective but will definitely be coming back to Mara house when next make it to Egypt.

i recommend this to anyone going to Egypt for the first time and anyone who hasn't stayed there before and anyone who has stayed there before will likely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    54
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
89
164
72
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Mara is patient [with a scalding Irish wit] and most helpful- arranging tours, calming airline ticket fiascos, while dispensing straight advise.
Her Resturant, Salahadeen, is not to be missed!
The evening gatherings of guests in the bar [ decorated egyptian style] are good fun.
I ended a few evenings on her rooftop terrace smoking a cigar [there wasn't anyone to bother with my smoke].
Her Hotel is new and clean and in town. If you are looking for a large hotel on the Nile, this is not it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timBethesda_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed here for two nights with young children. It was one the best places I have ever stayed. The accommodation is charming, clean and excellent value for money. The staff really looked after us and provided a much personalised service. If you are looking for a homely, charming and friendly place to stay in Luxor then Mara house is for you.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mussafir66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I never had hotel management have such a genuine care in the guests.
It was the full package that you experience staying in Mara House. The staff are full of knowledge of Egyptian Culture and Luxor itself and are more than helpful and willing to help you organise your day with advice of where to go and what to see..also with the opportunity to take oragnised tours with efficient knowledgable local tour guides and Egyptologists.

The rooms are outstanding, the space, we were astonished with the amount of room we had and were delighted. It was an apartment not a hotel room, the detail of quality is seen through out the hotel.

But it gets even more satisfying with the restaurant. The restaurant was my most favourite experience in the hotel, with a hand made fountain in the middle which sets a beautiful atmosphere. The food served was a great variety of local Egyptain recipies served an a huge platter on your table and every bite I had I was telling them to give my compliments to the chef.

The location is perefectly situated away from the Hassle of hagglers and taxi offers. but close enough to walk 5 mins into the centre of the town. I would highly recommend Mara House to everyone who is considering to visit Luxor.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Whilst this hotel may not have all the amenities of the big hotels it more than makes up for it with the personal welcome you receive on arrival. Mara was very helpful in organising tours to the Valley of the Kings and Abydos & Dendara and other recommendations of things to see and do. The area surrounding the hotel and the walk to the station and beyond to the Nile give you a real flavour of Egytian life and was a great experience. Our room was in fact a small appartment, spacious, clean and made for a very pleasant stay as did meeting other guest who were like minded travellers. The only down side of our trip was having to spend our last night at a different hotel as Mara could not accommodate us but the 6 nights we spent at Mara House were fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We had tried to stay with Mara but in the end could not get the flights right. So instead just had the day around Luxor and asked Mara to find us a private tour with a guide for a day. After she tried to talk us out of the expense, we talked and came up with a tour plan and made the arrangements.

Mara supplied a great guide who met us at the airport in the morning and, even though we were not guests, she personally called him through the day to check on progress (it was an ambitious itinerary.)

It was great attention to everything and the price was comparatively reasonable. For a full long day tour - (9.30 to 7.30pm) we paid approx $120 for van and driver to take us round. Entrance was on top but it was great as we were not made to stop at Papyrus places and Alabaster outlets, just zoomed round Pharonic and Greco-Roman history.

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippsyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sinai Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

All the other reviews have said it already, but I really could not ask for anything more. Staying at Mara housr really felt like being in a five-star boutique hotel, but also was very home-like and comforting .
Thanks again Mara, Sara and Steve we had an amazing visit :)

Laura

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Good_Karma84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara House

Property: Mara House
Address: Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi | Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara House is an Irish owned boutique hotel catering to the tastes of independent travellers who want to be sure they experience the best of Egypt. Mara House can only be booked directly via email to Mara. We help with sightseeing and itinerary planning for all of Egypt and steer our guests clear of tourist traps and pitfalls. Holidays are so important to us all and great holiday memories make such a difference to our lives - Mara ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara House Hotel Luxor
Mara Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing